We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday! Great House!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
St Catherines, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Huddersfi...
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday! Great House!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

13 of us,6 adults and 7 children chose Stayed at The Lodge last month! The house is fantastic full of character and charm,lots of room for us all. The kids loved playing hide and seek around this big house! The four bathrooms were all beautiful....especially the under floor heating in two of them! The bedrooms were beautifully presented and very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped and we loved cooking on the aga.
There are huge gardens outside that the kids enjoyed,especially the zip wire,trampoline and the pool table in the games room outside.
The location of The Lodge is truly stunning....right on the edge of Loch Fyne.We opened our curtains each morning to glorious views across the Loch. Days were spent enjoying walks,fishing in the Loch, kids playing on the beaches etc and the evenings with a glass of wine in front of the log fire at The Lodge.
The owners of The Lodge,Mike &Susan are were very helpful and ensured we had all we needed.
In all, a fabulous stay at The Lodge....so much so we have booked again for next year!

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenny C
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH!”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Finding somewhere to celebrate my mothers 80th birthday party to include the majority of three generations of my family (who all have high standards and opinions!) was a task in itself. Finding accommodation that is luxurious yet homely, spacious yet full of atmosphere, somewhere that would fit 14 family members comfortably while taking in the breath-taking views that can only be found in Scotland was a big ask. After searching through every possible venue I fell upon The Lodge in St Catherine.. I quickly realised I had hit the jackpot. Not only was the house fitted out to the highest standard and fantastic value for money. It really felt so homely, overlooked Loch Fyne (we could walk across the road and on to the bank of the Loch in 2 minutes) it could easily accommodate all the family members travelling and with large gardens and a separate Games room outbuilding it was ideal for the children and teenagers too. To top it all off the owners Michael and Suzanne could not have been more warm and friendly. The whole stay was exceptional to the point I cannot rate it highly enough. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for fantastic value for money with the highest standards. Any downsides? absolutely none! Thank you to Michael and Suzanne for providing such an amazing venue for my Mothers 80th birthday and making it a stay to remember. My dad isn't the easiest man to please and he is still raving about it as I type. this review. Brilliant!!.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness, facilities and the location
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect for large groups”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Situated just an hour from Glasgow, we booked The Lodge for my son's 40th birthday party. We could not have asked for a better location. Waking up, opening the shutters and looking onto Inveraray castle over the loch steeped in mist was breathtaking.

We opted for having a meal already prepared for us on arrival and it was waiting for us in the Aga, just what we needed so that we did not have to cook. Hearty soup, venison casserole, chunky locally baked bread and Cranachan all washed down with a selection of Fyne Ales from the brewery at the head of the loch and fizz for the ladies ( all pre-ordered and waiting for us on arrival)

A nice touch which made us right at home.

The facilities are fantastic, especially the hot tub and we particularly liked sitting around the fire at night .

Already booked up for next year for a get together with friends

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great location for groups and exploring the area around Loch Fyne”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived at The Loch Fyne Lodge to be stunned at the size and grandeur . The photos looked great but still did not do the lodge justice.

We hired the lodge for a week to celebrate my 60th with family members and friends travelling from all directions to spend time with us.

Mike the owner was attentive and helpful whenever we needed him, the facilities were fantastic including the Hot Tub which, although I had reservations beforehand, was well worth the extra.

Views from the front bedrooms are across the Loch to Inverary. To the back they overlook an extensive garden with woodland beyond. On day 1 my grandson and I caught sight of 3 deer in a clearing just yards from the house. We made great use of the games room, especially whilst the children were with us.

Cooking facilities were more than adequate with an Aga range, an electric oven and 2 fridges, as were the dining areas which were great for communal eating. The lounge was slightly cramped when 13 of us wanted to congregate at the same time, however, it was never really an issue.

Plenty of bathrooms meant no one was waiting for long and no one had any complaints about the bedrooms.

We didnt use the bunkhouse in the end but there was room for four more people there. The Games Room and the Bunkhouse is separate from the main house but just a few yards across the driveway.

Location wise the lodge is excellent, being sufficiently remote from neighbours, and within striking distance of lots of places to visit as well as a couple of pubs.

Our days out included
• Exploring the Cowal Peninsula
• Dunoon
• The famous and excellent Loch Fyne Oyster Bar at the head of the loch (need to book)
• Inverary town
• Inverary Castle
• Inverary Jail
• Loch Lomond
• Kilmartin Glen (great for an easy walk with interesting monuments)
• Puck's Glen (a magical woodland walk with waterfalls at every turn)
• Ardkinglas House
• Ardfen and The Galley of Lorne Inn (which I would highly recommend as being close to some awesome views and very accommodating opening for us mid afternoon when they were supposed to be closed)

and there was plenty more we didn't have time for.

Thank you Mike for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieLlo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stunning house with stunning views”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this property to celebrate my husbands birthday with family and friends, what an amazing house and location. The 6 bedrooms have been beautifully decorated and the 4 bathrooms are spacious and luxurious. There was 13 of us staying and had some lovely meals around the dining room table ( which seated us all easily) and cooked in the huge Aga. Mike and Suzanne were always on hand if we had any questions. The hot tub was a lovely thing to have and was enjoyed by a few. I can honestly say that all of us had a fabulous time and could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back again soon.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petesib50
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spacious house for a family gathering”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house has 6 excellent bedrooms (sleeping 12) and 4 bathrooms and has been beautifully finished. There is also a separate bunkroom attached to the games room which had 4 extra beds and was very warm but we didn't use it because Mike supplied 2 extra z beds so we could all sleep in the house. They also had a cot and highchair so we were fully catered for. Any questions were quickly answered and help given as needed, which was much appreciated.
The Aga chucks out a lot of heat and with 3 different ovens from super hot to slow cooking it was great fun to cook on, there was a separate cooker as well but we didn't need it. The dining room was a great space for family meals and we all managed to fit in the lounge although the open fire did smoke a bit. A fair bit of time was spent playing pool in the games room and we also found the zip wire and rope swing.
We would definitely come and stay again.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aga was really good to cook on
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisW815
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in August as part of a group with 2 other families- 6 adults and 6 kids in total. What a brilliant place to explore and stay. Mike and Suzanne were excellent hosts and were easily contactable if needed. Booking was no hassle at all and they sent us info on anything we needed before our stay. We were welcomed with fresh cakes and wine. The house is an amazing place with all sorts of great features. All rooms are unique with outstanding period appeal. The beds are all very comfy with lovely linen and nice towels. The bathrooms are spotless and well appointed. The kitchen has an amazing aga which is a dream to use. The games room is an excellent addition and we got as far as finding a zip wire and punch bag in the grounds. The special feature is the jacuzzi in the garden which even has nightlights and a speaker system - lots and lots of fun.
This house is in a tremendous location with outstanding natural beauty. We went fishing on loch awe in hired boats, walking in the hills on many occasions, day trips to Oban and Glasgow amongst other things.
We highly recommend this house and this location and would have no hesitation in coming again. Thanks to Suzanne and Mike.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The rain and midges .....
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.