We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”

Annabel's of Bryanston
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annabel's of Bryanston
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bryanston
Certificate of Excellence
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

l'll keep this uncharacteristically short because it's all been said. A whimsical stay.
This B&B is not just an ordinary B&B, it is simply an oasis in the high-energy environment of Johannesburg offering large and quiet accommodation in the middle of an exquisite, well-kept garden.

The bedrooms are spacious, individually decorated and well equipped with crisp clean linen, luxurious bathrooms and even an honesty fridge which has been appropriately stocked with standard beverages as well as a few bottles of excellent house wine.
Plus you are not confined to your room, there is a lovely terrace in some of the rooms and a wonderful lounge and patio area to read.

Should one feel adventurous, we recommend climbing the stairs which will eventually bring you out to the roof top of the B&B, here you will find the most panoramic view of Sandton, otherwise known as the richest square mile in Africa.

Besides the colourful spread of fruit and cereal, hot breakfasts are made to order and the serving staff are attentive. Amazing the output one gets when treating internal staff with respect and dignity. The humble mannerisms of the staff suggest that Pat and Annabel have done a superb job at integrating them as part of the family.

Beside the charm and the small personal touches that make all the difference (in our case, the majestical robes and sweet chocolate treats perfectly positioned on our bed), this B&B is efficiently run and is a delightful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
7
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a beautiful B&B in a nice area of Johannesburg! Pat and Annabel are amazing hosts and very helpful! They truly go out of their way to make their guests stay as perfect as possible! The house itself is a mansion with wonderful interior decoration, a pool and other great amenities. A yummy breakfast got me off to a good start every day. It is also conveniently close (walking distance) to a shopping centre and a Gautrain bus station. Thank you for the lovely time!!!

Room Tip: Room D was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeElMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We had to make a last minute trip to Johannesburg for business purposes and chose, as always, to seek input from previous Trip Advisor reviews. They were spot on in this case. Annabel's is an owner managed guest house in Bryanston that is very well positioned being just minutes away from Sandton and a short drive away from the main highways in all directions. We were given a large family room that was more than adequate for my 12 year old daughter and I. The beds were huge and comfortable, there was a large settee if you felt like watching TV as opposed to resting and all of the amenities one would expect from an establishment of this calibre. Decor was an eclectic mix from the owners travels and made for interesting viewing. As for the owners themselves they were beyond delightful. Absolutely stunning individuals who could not do enough for us. Breakfasts were amazing. Amongst the best I have had in years of traveling. Well cooked / beautifully presented and delicious. I have to return to Johannesburg later in the month and will definitely be staying
here. For us this will be our Johannesburg ' home away from home' A truly enjoyable stay - thank you to Pat / Annabel and their lovely team.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

For my first experience in South Africa, this was a great start.....all the hotels were unavailable in the local area, but the rooms were very spacious and the home feel more than made up for a big chain hotel
The hosts and guests were friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have stayed there for a long term contract in JHB, South Africa and can truly agree with the above , the hosts Pat and Annabel are friendly and welcoming.

Plenty of privacy, private sections with own gardens or patios, every room was just great to stay in.

Very well located just far enough the main road to not see or hear it but quick access to it to get to Sandton (close to Gautrain pick up or drop off) or 4 ways. and week end outings.

Plenty of TV channels to choose from with every room having your own work area (great for working late) , large flat screen TV's and a kitchen that has all day and night access. My favorite was sun downers on the roof terrace with a fantastic view of the JHB skyline.

It was all so great and no bad points. Rooms great and well kept, furnished to a very high standard. The building and grounds were also well kept and of a very high standard. The food available is also of a high standard the breakfasts are amazing and just about any thing you can think of they will cater for you , as this was a B&B they did not do dinners however there are more than enough to chooses from the shopping center that is in walking distance (about 200M away). But best of all were the staff who were all very friendly and helpful on all levels. A must visit if in the city!

Room Tip: I recommend room E , great views and private entrance and sun downers on the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I stayed here for a business project in late 2000. I stayed in the accommodation for 3-4 months and NOTHING was too much trouble. Since, then I have been back many times and am always welcomed as if I had never been away. On a most recent trip, stayed just for two nights but felt like longer as it was a great opportunity to unwind.

Location is excellent with easy access to the airport and also to Sandton and surrounding restaurants/ bars.

Accomodation is very comfortable and spacious / clean. Breakfasts are on demand and of a high quality. The whole property feels like a home from home but the best thing is the welcome from the hosts. Annabel and Pat lend a personal touch to EVERY guest and can be as visible or invisible as the traveller requires. They are willing to help with arrangements and are always on hand with recommendations of places to go and things to do / see.

Annabel's is always at the top of my list of accommodation when travelling to Johannesburg! Just don't tell too many people otherwise I'll not get a reservation next time ;-)

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st3v3pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Park, Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Annabel and Pat, as well as all the staff, went out of their way to ensure that we had a relaxed, secure and interesting stay. The breakfasts were fantastic. Our used clothes reappeared each aftrenoon fully laundered as if by magic. The beautifully furnished rooms are spacious, extremely comfortable and well serviced. Five star accommodation and privacy with the informality of a family home.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryanston
2.8 mi away
The Syrene Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
#26 of 47 in Sandton
58 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
2.6 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabel's of Bryanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabel's of Bryanston

Property: Annabel's of Bryanston
Address: 8 Tramore Road, Bryanston 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bryanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annabel's of Bryanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are king size luxury en suite rooms with private access. All rooms have panel TV'S with DSTV plus all local channels. All our rooms come with a stocked mini bar fridge kettle and iron and ironing board. All rooms have a complimentary tea/coffee tray with biscuits which is refreshed daily. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Annabel's of Bryanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabel's Of Bryanston South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing