We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy”
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wesley
Ranked #2 of 15 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend after two weeks of overlanding. The plan was that for our last night we would treat ourselves and we couldn't have chosen a better spot to kick back and relax!

The rooms are spacious and open plan. The bath tub in the middle of the room was a great touch. The decor is a mix of modern and antique, very tastefully done.

Outside the room you have a stunning garden with a pool which was too cold to dip into unfortunately due to it being winter! We ate our breakfast on the balcony adjoining the dining room.

The staff are friendly and always friendly! We availed of an airport transfer and travelled in luxury in the back of a BMW 7 Series. A far cry from the overland truck we had been in for the previous two weeks!!!

10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. The bedroom, no 10, was actually lovely, but was totally spoiled by an inadequate bathroom. As its a suite, you get a half-hearted kitchenette, and a bathroom with a shower cubicle in which you cannot turn around without hitting a wall or the glass door or the tap. Breakfast was lacklustre with my husbands easy-over eggs arriving cooked to death & my scrambled eggs rubbery. What a pity .....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed overnight at Wesley on 14/06/13, the size of the room was generous, quite opposite of shower cubicle which was very small , in addition there was very little water pressure, the breakfast the next morning was poor.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveR944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were rather disappointed with our experience at the Wesley recently, especially since our first time staying there was so enjoyable. The staff members were slow, uninterested and almost made you feel they were doing you a favor by attending to your needs. We had to go into the kitchen to call someone to take breakfast orders - after they saw us and heard us entering the breakfast area. The breakfast is pretty uninteresting - an establishment like the Wesley could really make an effort to offer a better breakfast buffet. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Bath sheets in stead of small towels would have been great. There is a hair dryer in the room but no adaptor, so it is impossible to use the hair dryer! The admin was clearly also not up to date, as the receptionist had to rummage through piles of paper to find mini bar check lists from 3 days before. The friendliest and most efficient staff members are the security guards at the gate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetErika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We knew nothing about the hotel and picked it randomly. What an absolute pleasant surprise! Our room no 9 was so spacious and beautifully decorated.
The breakfast was outstanding and we would recommend this hotel to all our friends.
With thanks
Dr. W. M. Liebenberg

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Willemjohannesb... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at The Wesley and the staff really went the extra mile to make our stay very special. We got an upgrade and a romantic turndown, the room was spacious and very nice, their gardens are very relaxing (very quiet despite the busy street!) and the staff very helpful. Overall, we really got value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Even though there were other people staying at the hotel when I stayed there, I never saw another guest. It was extremely quiet and peaceful and the room was really nice and very quiet. Well Worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryanston hotels
1.7 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
56 reviews
2.8 mi away
Noraclox Inn
Noraclox Inn
#12 of 15 in Bryanston
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Guest House
Grace Guest House
#5 of 15 in Bryanston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Summerview Guest Lodge
Summerview Guest Lodge
#7 of 15 in Bryanston
12 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#4 of 15 in Bryanston
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
House of Pharaohs Boutique Guesthouse & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing