We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wesley”
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wesley
Ranked #2 of 15 Bryanston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Would like to say thank you to the staff of The Wesley boutique in Bryanston. Nolly and Melody, thank you for the extra mile you went too to make our stay excellent:). We will be coming back soon and I have recommended you guys at my work place and to friends:)
You are a 5 star hotel, THANK YOU
Candice and Ndondo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Arriving after a long trip from Hazyview we were greeted by the guard on the gate who was very friendly and helpful and explained where to park etc. He radioed the reception to let them know of our arrival and the receptionist greeted us warmly and efficiently, showed us the amenities (honesty bar etc) before showing us to our room. The room was very contemporary and spacious with a roll top bath and enoromous seperate shower, air conditioning and heating. The bed was very comfortable and room clean and neat. The only negative thing I would say is that when you are in your room, due to the huge windows you have no privacy unless you draw the curtains which, on a nice sunny day is not ideal.

Breakfast was ok, not the best I have ever had but most certainly not the worst either. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient.

The grounds and pool were exceptionally well maintained (my only regret is that in winter the water was too cold for a dip) and beautiful.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I've stayed at the Wesley now on many occasions over the past two years. I have stayed in all the three categories of room and all are quality. Sydney picks me up from the airport and he's always on time, even when I'm not! Its simply a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JRHawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Neatly located in the leafy suburb of Bryanston, The Wesley is the place to be at. Great value for money, beautiful bedrooms, lovely outdoor resting facilities and genuinely a quite place away from the busy Jhb. The staff was friendly and very professional. The beds are to die for, soft linen and clean bedrooms. Spacious rooms that will keep you indoors all day, all weekend. The Wesley is definitely my choice away from the impersonal hotels with fresh breakfast and personal attention to each guest, they have my vote for my stays in Jhb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thabiso R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was impressed by the fact that I managed to get a room despite my having not booked ahead. The staff went to great lengths to source a room for me, and not just a standard room for that matter!
The Presidential suite that we stayed in was exquisite! My wife and kids loved it!. The room had everything that catered for all of us, especially for the baby. And it also rekindled sweet thoughts for us - the scenic view towards the pool area was fantastic. The location of the hotel also is great - it's tucked away (offering privacy) yet within reach of Sandton and other great places. The VALUE for MONEY IS AWESOME

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clement C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed for a week and the breakfast menu never changed - might be fine for the one night stays but could definitely improve for those who stay for longer. Service was also very slow at breakfast - need more staff??

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TAN N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my girlfriend after two weeks of overlanding. The plan was that for our last night we would treat ourselves and we couldn't have chosen a better spot to kick back and relax!

The rooms are spacious and open plan. The bath tub in the middle of the room was a great touch. The decor is a mix of modern and antique, very tastefully done.

Outside the room you have a stunning garden with a pool which was too cold to dip into unfortunately due to it being winter! We ate our breakfast on the balcony adjoining the dining room.

The staff are friendly and always friendly! We availed of an airport transfer and travelled in luxury in the back of a BMW 7 Series. A far cry from the overland truck we had been in for the previous two weeks!!!

10/10

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPJ1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bryanston hotels
1.7 mi away
Annabel's of Bryanston
Annabel's of Bryanston
#1 of 3 in Bryanston
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
Fountain Hill Guest Lodge
#4 of 15 in Bryanston
28 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiree B&B
Tiree B&B
#1 of 15 in Bryanston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House of Pharaohs Boutique Guesthouse & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Noraclox Inn
Noraclox Inn
#12 of 15 in Bryanston
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Guest House
Grace Guest House
#5 of 15 in Bryanston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 65 Cumberland Avenue | Cnr Homestead and Cumberland, Bryanston 2190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Bryanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bryanston
Price Range: £54 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wesley is an upmarket Guesthouse that caters for the more discerning guests. Situated in the heart of Bryanston, Sandton, surrounded by beautiful gardens and a natural bird haven which has been cultivated over decades opposite the Bryanston golf course. As one of the oldest farm houses in Bryanston, the property is situated on the highest point in the area and has been occupied by Multinational CEOs and Heads of States. The Wesley is conveniently near many popular venues, namely 10 minutes away from Sandton, Fourways, Cresta, Rosebank, Monte Casino, the highway and the Gautrain Set in an idyllic surrounding, there are few experiences that can rival sipping sundowners on the deck, listening to the gurgling of the waterfalls, basking amongst the unique bird life, and watching the setting of the magnificent South African sun! Exclusivity and privacy is the key to the service offering and each room is designed with this in mind. The entire area is covered by Cameras, electric fencing and electric beams with 24 hour guards and is truly a secure environment where you can feel at home without any worries. With a backup generator in case of power failure.The rooms vary in size from 45 to 100 square metres boasting antiques in all the rooms dating between 100 and 250 years old. The focus and design is a fusion between French Provencal with touches of ancient colonial Asia. Each of the 11 rooms has a sense of conformity with the detail presenting total individualism. The majority of the decor has been specifically imported and guests can experience treats such as slumbering on an 18th Century bed. Without giving away all the treasures to be found in the common areas, you will definitely notice the 250 year old feature door when exploring the property. There is a Cigar bar and an African Bar and a beautiful swimming pool with waterfalls and Palm trees rivaling Sun City. If you are looking for the best bouquet of offerings from personal to professional and modern to old school, The Wesley will not disappoint both private and business traveller alike. The Wesley has become 'ONE HOT TICKET' getting a full write up in the Top Billing 2011 Issue ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wesley Bryanston, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing