We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Katie S
Oxford, United Kingdom

Awful experience

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Nov 2022
I visited Cherry Orchard with my Mum for a weekend in Bath and from the moment we arrived we were hugely disappointed.
The damp, musty smell of the room itself was so overpowering as soon as we entered and
the room was full of flies both dead and living.
The bathroom door did not fully close and the bath itself had a broken tap which meant the water was running from it constantly meaning it would be near impossible to sleep as it was loud.
In the bathroom we found bath salts with dead flies in, candles that had been burnt to nothing, dirty soap in a dirty soap dish and broken dishes.
We were told not to use the big wardrobe and had to put up with a small one.
The milk in the tea caddy was warm as it had been left out uncovered, there were also dead flies in the tray with the tea and coffee in.
The stairs leading to the private entrance were covered in vines making it a serious trip hazard and there is zero lighting.
We were advised by Rosie not to go near her dog as he was not friendly and he kept barking and growling at us.
When we approached Rosie to discuss the issues she blamed it on her cleaner and said she knew about the bath and that a plumber was coming out once we had left but at no point before arriving did she make us aware of this.
The room was that bad we decided to look for somewhere else, unfortunately we couldn't find anywhere as this was close to 8pm and therefore decided to travel home back to Oxford.
Rosie only offered us a refund when she learned we had videos and images of the room.
We had booked roman bath tickets which we lost out on, we paid for our dogs to stay at dog boarders and we took time off work.
The pictures and reviews do not reflect this place at all, I'm not sure how the reviews are this good as we are far from picky.

The only good thing I can say is that we got our money back. I would never recommend and I absolutely would not return.
Date of stay: October 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosie Tomkins, Owner at Cherry Orchard Campsite, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2023
As you can see from all our other 5 star reviews, this was a hugely unfair review as we were clearly not what you were looking for. No cocktail bar and no central Bath location and this was made clear to you when we talked. The countryside is for those who appreciate nature, peace and quiet and some downtime in a beautiful farmhouse. All our photos are 100% genuine (as you can see from the listing, the website and the other traveller reviews here). You happily took a full refund from us and in return, promised not to write anything negative about the fact we were simply not to your taste and style, and yet, here we are. Unwarranted and unnecessary. Interesting that this is the only review ever submitted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£90
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£100
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
The house as you approach it
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Cottage Sitting Room
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newland
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cherry orchard peaceful location fresh fruit beautiful area golf course breakfast was excellent roll top bath willow suite wye valley rosie farmhouse camping field shower dog site walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2022

Like a snooker table , smooth as silk cut . That’s the campsite lawn . Very accomadating , lost my wallet before in Bristol but this was not a problem here . Really helped me out . Great hosts , ducks walked a bit funny and the sunrise could have been a bit more to the right but besides that , was a wonderful peaceful night . Good job I found this place the others were super expensive or members only ( camping caravaning elite ) . Nice pub for food just down the road. Beautiful area

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 322phim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2022 via mobile

Lovely campsite, beautiful location, friendly owner. We enjoyed our 3 nights here and would recommend to anyone hoping to stay in the area. Firepits and dogs welcome. The ducks waddling around were charming. The pitch was very flat and it wasn't too busy. We know we camped in September but it did feel very cold at times, maybe the campsite is in a windy valley- nothing a few blankets can't solve! Good walks nearby, would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JessCerFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

Stunning location and owner couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. We arrived on bikes and would strongly recommend this site for other tourers. Beautiful area and beautifully kept campsite. Very reasonable pricing too! Their are good pubs and cafes in the area if you don’t want to cook for yourself.

Room tip: Good pubs nearby and the cafe/bar at Forest Holidays is excellent and not too far.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 802davidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2022

A lovely location with access to the Wye river, forest and nice walks. It is a family campsite now run by Sarah, previously by her parents, and retains that feeling. The campsite is kept spacious, and is well provisioned, with two toilets and a shower for a single field. Above all Sarah was kind throughout our stay, offering advice on the local area, letting us borrow freezer packs so our food would stay cold, and posting a frying pan handle that was left at the washing up station. There are also some very sweet ducks that roam the campsite, which is an added bonus. I'd recommend this campsite to anyone visiting the Wye Valley!

Room tip: It's a campsite, but bottom right corner has good views of the valley through the crook of the hill.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2022

We stayed here this weekend in the Willow suite.

Rosie met us on arrival and was very warm and welcoming. This continued throughout and she was very accommodating when we had a last minute breakfast change of plans on the first morning of our stay.

The house and grounds here are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the house however there is a separate lodge which is secluded and has fields with horses behind. The house and grounds here are off the road so it does feel secluded and very private. There is a path way to the golf course for a nice walk out behind the house for a walk further afield. We loved walking through the garden and seeing the rope swing on the tree. Small stream and all the lovely flowers planted around. There are lots of small details in this home and gardens that just make it really special.

The room was lovely. The bed is an antique French bed and it has a roll top bath adjacent. There is a separate shower room and separate wc. Everything from the room, breakfast, grounds and house are truly special.

We can’t wait to book our next stay on our next visit to Bath!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosie Tomkins, Owner at Cherry Orchard Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023

Thank you for staying and for the great review of your time with us here at Cherry Lodge, lovely to have all our rooms, grounds and breakfast appreciated so much. Best, Rosie & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews