We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful, homely cottage with lovely secluded...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
French doors from the lounge open onto the private cottage garden.
January 2017 in the Forest of Dean
January 2017 in the Forest of Dean.
Luxury Hamper (included for 7 night bookings - contents will vary seasonally)
Merry Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ruardean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FarmerBen...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Delightful, homely cottage with lovely secluded garden”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Delightful cottage, owned by a very nice lady, in the small village of Ruarndean Woodside not far from Monmouth and Ross on Wye. Places of interest nearby are Gloucester and Gloucester Quays part in particular. Symonds Yat (West), Ross on Wye, Monmouth, Abergavenny, Hereford and a little further away is Hay on Wye for book lovers. Village shop 75 yards away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review, i'm delighted that you both had a lovely holiday. it was lovely to meet you and I hope you find time to visit again and explore a little more! You'll be most welcome. Best wishes, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely village.”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ruardean Woodside is an elevated village just outside Cinderford, and it's real Forest of Dean - friendly and genuine... There are woodland walks all around you, and you're within easy striking distance of towns, trails etc. I used the buses, which is a great way of seeing the area and meeting those who actually live here. The cottage itself is small and exquisitely maintained: it's efficient, comfortable, safe...and I didn't want to leave. Don't expect nightlife. Expect peace and quiet, and the warmth of a very special place. The Forest of Dean is unique.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review Andy, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Sparrow Cottage and the Forest of Dean. You'll always be welcome here, Thanks again, Best regards, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and the great review. I really appreciate it as this is a relatively new venture. I'm so glad you enjoyed Sparrow Cottage and its lovely garden (even if you were working a lot of the time!) You'll be most welcome to visit again at any time in the future.
I appreciate the wi-fi situation is a bit inconvenient at the moment, and have addressed it already! Happy to add that Sparrow Cottage will soon have its own phone line and wi-fi is coming within the next couple of weeks :-)
Thanks again, best wishes, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Feb 2017
Hello Patricia & Ian - Thank you for taking the time to add such a lovely, thoughtful review. I'm really happy that you loved the cottage and had a wonderful time walking & enjoying the Forest. I'm pleased you liked the treats in the hamper, and that the 'wellie boots' came in handy too! It was a pleasure to meet you both and you're very welcome at Sparrow Cottage any time. I'll look forward to it. Thanks again, all the best, Linda xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing