We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
French doors from the lounge open onto the private cottage garden.
January 2017 in the Forest of Dean
January 2017 in the Forest of Dean.
Luxury Hamper (included for 7 night bookings - contents will vary seasonally)
Merry Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ruardean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justine H
2 reviews
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Linda has thought of everything, from wellies to raincoats to a hot water bottle for those cold nights. We had the perfect week there and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sparrow Cottage. A real home from home. Peaceful and cosy, and perfectly placed for exploring the area. We loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Sparrow Cottage, and I'm so pleased you all loved it. Very best wishes, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for the great review Val. I really appreciate the feedback and I'm so happy to know that you enjoyed Sparrow Cottage so much, especially since you came all the way from bonny Scotland! You're welcome at Sparrow Cottage any time. With warmest wishes! Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacqui J
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect couldn't fault anything”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The holiday cottage is like a home from home ,we were treated to a wonderful array of food and drink when we arrived and even had slippers and dressing gowns! The location is lovely not too far away from Ross On Wye for shopping and the tourist bit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thank you for the great review Jacqui, I'm so glad you had a lovely holiday at Sparrow Cottage. You're welcome any time. best wishes. linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaI8...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful getaway for our little family”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage, Linda has worked hard to make it a really special place to visit. Delightful touches everywhere from the entrance onwards. There were flowers on the table, a welcome basket brimming with both useful things (coffee, milk, bread) and treats (we had jam and scones and wine chilled. A great first afternoon!). The care and attention that the owners take is obvious throughout. We loved relaxing in the garden which was in full bloom during our visit.

The cottage is less than five minutes walk from the entrance to the Drybrook area of woods. You can also walk straight up the road (pathway) to the Rec Ground and Playground at Ruardean Hillside so easy outings for us and our four year old. It proved a really good base to visit some great family activities in the area:

Perrygrove Railway (our favourite)
Dean Forest Railway
Elton Giant Maze
Beechenhurst Lodge (where there is a great Gruffalo Trail)

As well as being at the top of the Forest of Dean, we were able to go into Monmouthshire. We drove to see local castles and loved Caldicot (great place to visit and the playground was great) and we also visited Abergavenny.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind, thoughtful and helpful review Claudia. I'm so happy that you all enjoyed your visit so much and look forward to welcoming you back to Sparrow Cottage & the beautiful Forest of Dean in the future. My warmest wishes to you all. Thanks again, Linda x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Delightful, homely cottage with lovely secluded garden”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Delightful cottage, owned by a very nice lady, in the small village of Ruarndean Woodside not far from Monmouth and Ross on Wye. Places of interest nearby are Gloucester and Gloucester Quays part in particular. Symonds Yat (West), Ross on Wye, Monmouth, Abergavenny, Hereford and a little further away is Hay on Wye for book lovers. Village shop 75 yards away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review, i'm delighted that you both had a lovely holiday. it was lovely to meet you and I hope you find time to visit again and explore a little more! You'll be most welcome. Best wishes, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely village.”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ruardean Woodside is an elevated village just outside Cinderford, and it's real Forest of Dean - friendly and genuine... There are woodland walks all around you, and you're within easy striking distance of towns, trails etc. I used the buses, which is a great way of seeing the area and meeting those who actually live here. The cottage itself is small and exquisitely maintained: it's efficient, comfortable, safe...and I didn't want to leave. Don't expect nightlife. Expect peace and quiet, and the warmth of a very special place. The Forest of Dean is unique.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review Andy, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Sparrow Cottage and the Forest of Dean. You'll always be welcome here, Thanks again, Best regards, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 May 2017
Thank you very much for your kind comments, and the great review. I really appreciate it as this is a relatively new venture. I'm so glad you enjoyed Sparrow Cottage and its lovely garden (even if you were working a lot of the time!) You'll be most welcome to visit again at any time in the future.
I appreciate the wi-fi situation is a bit inconvenient at the moment, and have addressed it already! Happy to add that Sparrow Cottage will soon have its own phone line and wi-fi is coming within the next couple of weeks :-)
Thanks again, best wishes, Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing