We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ruardean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
120sherid...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely cottage with everything we needed, only stayed a weekend & ate out with family. Didn't have time to go around the farm or to the farm shop but will next time we stay, owners very friendly. Lovely time had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sunset from the seated area
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“English Country Farm accomodation”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great fun for kids. Chickens, goats and sheep. Real working English farm.
House had everything we needed. Hosts were lovely. Not a 5* hotel, but a great experience for people wanting to see the English Countryside and stay on a quaint little English farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jfdbob
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical farm experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thank you for this memorable weekend at Crooked End with our two families with young children (0-6). It was great value and you were welcoming and really involved our kids in the whole farm experience, feeding the geese, stroking the chickens and collecting eggs in the morning. The house was perfectly clean and well equipped. We weren't expecting to use it in early September but the log fire was very cosy. We recommend Puzzlewood and Symonds Yat and it seemed like there were 100s more things to do so we hope to come back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik M
2 reviews
“This cottage was a disaster”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As we arrived we had to clean out all the cupboards in the kitchenand the refrigerator as well. The oven, I think was used and never been cleaned.
The shelf in the cupboard beneath the sink was totally rotten because of water leak from the sink. The bathroom : There was all dust and hair over the floor.
. In the storage room was a floorbrush all filled with animal hair. There was a leak in the roof of the kitchen and in the wall of one bedroom.
In two bedrooms were no wardrobes, .
Altough the owners were very helpfull and friendly. They took over the cottage in May and told us they were busy of cleaning it firmly and repairing things.
As we decided not to stay any longer after one night they refuneded us the total amount we paid.
Se we hope that things would change in the futur.
Erik an Family

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
The property is a converted barn set in a rural setting – well-maintained, clean and tidy. We do appeal to dog walkers so there may be an occasional hair but you will need to get down on your hands and knees to find one, a steam-cleaner is used between visits.
It seemed this family wished to return to their previous accommodation which is what happened after a complementary night plus full refund, deeming this whole review completely unwarranted. There were some English language issues, which may have led to misrepresentation - the house is not dirty and the whole property had been cleaned prior to use. There was one tiny cobweb behind the upstairs toilet which I removed myself but the room itself was spotlessly clean. A broom was removed and replaced from the utility area which had some hairs on it. The family had moved furniture and found a small patch of what they believed to be damp. This has since been looked at professionally with no issues of concern although I will ensure in the winter months, annual maintenance and an even-deeper steam clean take place. We continue to be blessed with very positive feedback and I hope future guests are able to read between the lines to form their own opinions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emms1979
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully, delightful holiday location.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a fabulous break with my 6 friends. The cottage is set on an incredible organic farm, with a great farm shop. Although you are tucked away from the farm, it was brilliant just to be in close proximity to the great things that are being done there.

The cottage was really spacious, well equipped and stylishly decorated. We wanted for nothing.... the whole place is so relaxed, we didn't want to leave. There is a great horse next door called Norman, and a heap of chickens in the field next door, really helping to set the country scene.

Simon the owner made us feel so welcome, he could not have been more helpful. We had a problem with our transport and he drove two of my party to Gloucester, what a life saver. Liz the other owner, could not have been more helpful and understanding throughout the booking process, thanks Liz!

This is the best cottage experience I have ever had, I am currently booking again with my family and as it really was the perfect break.

Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were fantastic, the cottage was light, clean and spacious
Liked least: the wifi was very slow, and basically useless.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you, it was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonof_sou...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great comfortable base for family gathering and active weekend”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Found this rental after searching for some self catering accommodation for a long weekend to bring the family together along with a toddler and dog. The location based on the farm was brilliant and we were encouraged to go and explore, which was a brilliant way of entertaining the toddler. The cottage itself easily accommodated 6 adults with a large amount of room. Furnishings were basic, but comfortable and the large number of books made it rather homely, which is what we wanted. This cottage is for people seeking practical and comfortable well located accommodation. Lovely large kitchen with big dining table. there was a large fully enclosed garden which was great for the dog and child. There were a few small glitches, but the owners would bend over backwards to rectify these and were very welcoming. Location wise is brilliant for cycling, walking and exploring Forest of Dean. We did trips to Dean Heritage Centre, Cannop Bike Centre and Symonds Yat. I would definitely return and would recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loza888
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really impressed with this holiday house. We visited in order to go to a funeral the next day and were travelling from Cambridgeshire. There was seven of us in all, my wife, in laws and my three children and I would say there was easily enough room for us all. We wished we could have stayed for longer than the one night, as it would have been a perfect base to explore the local area. I loved the log burner to load up when we arrived and everything seemed so clean and tidy and well organised. My only criticism would be regarding the non working Ray Burn as this would have really helped the warming up of the kitchen! However the kitchen was pretty well stocked with utensils for cooking and we had a gorgeous fried breakfast from the foods sold at the farm shop. Beds were comfy, although my eight year old daughter complained a little about the creaky bunk bed. Overall a wonderful holiday house which made a sad event that bit more bearable. Would thoroughly recommend this holiday let to friends and family, and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge with log burner and lovely kitchen. All our 3 dogs were welcome :)
Liked least: broken Ray burn
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing