We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fish and chips!”

Severn & Wye Smokery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Exceptional seafood cooked with restraint to perfection and served in a relaxed but professional child-friendly environment.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish and chips!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a smokery and a delicatessen but with tables for lunch. The menu listed several very tempting fish dishes but we all chose the traditional option. We got the most beautifully cooked, lightly battered fish with more chips than I could manage, mushy peas and, a real treat, proper - not gloopy - tartare sauce. The service was pleasant and helpful, my mother-in-law was offered a smaller serving which was just right for her. I do recommend this as an excellent place for lunch we shall certainly return to sample the salmon, the prawns, the smoked slate......

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely !!! ”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We visit here regularly to purchase fish, cheese,olives. We have also called in for coffee and cake. The staff are very friendly and also very welcoming! See you soon! Excellent local business

Helpful?
Thank charlotteprobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“The perfect fishy lunch”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a regular haunt of ours as it is much more than just a restaurant being a farm shop, fish monger, deli etc etc. Concentrating on the restaurant this is a great place to get a superb fish based meal at a reasonable price. The menu changes regularly and is written on a number of wall hung boards. On this visit we could choose from smoked eel, salmon, cod, lemon sole, kedgeree and king prawns. We both chose the lemon sole with brown shrimps, samphire and a sublime dauphinois, accompanied by a glass of the French house wine which is delicious. A beautiful combination. The tables and benches are rustic, the service is friendly and the whole experience is a delight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous - again!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lunch, Friday dinner....it never fails to delight! Thanks to the chef and her sous and their team, and Ceri the waiter - delightful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolsHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“the things one discovers on tripadvisor!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

have driven past from time to time but never thought to stop. Then by chance whilst looking for something else stumbled upon reviews of the Smokery/restaurant/deli at Westbury.What a discovery! Utterly unpretentious with a muddy car park and people working all over the place but enormously helpful staff who seem to be front of house, fish counter or on the deli till at any moment. It is the opposite of places trying to be smart or Michelin like. The food is so obviously very fresh, prepared by the chef clearly visible, and every minute waited worth it. Brilliant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 34064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Severn & Wye Smokery also viewed

 

Been to Severn & Wye Smokery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing