We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week thank you”
other traveller has booked this property
We are dog friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We are dog friendly
Cottage no 2 Cottage No 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
We are dog friendly
Cottage no 2
Cottage No 2
Comfy Sofa and free WiFi
Cottage 2
Cottage 2
Cottage 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helenc111...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic week thank you”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at cottage 1 which was so clean and welcoming. I was lucky enough to win the weeks holiday and did wonder what it would be like! It was absolutely fantastic everything had been thought of including treats for our dog. Thank you so much Lorraine, I would recommend it to everyone especially your attention to detail. We didn't read about where to go so didn't know about St Anthony's Well until we found it when we were out walking.
The autumn colours are so lovely that we just walked from the cottage several days and only took car out as we needed to go shopping.
The garden is perfect for dogs to mooch around.
It's a fantastic place for a relaxing break

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay Helen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizdavid3...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and lovely walks”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break.
The cottage had everything we needed and was very doggy friendly.
Great location and amazing walks on the doorstep.
Definitely one we would recommend and somewhere that we will return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Thank you for the review Liz and David. I'm so glad you, and your dog, enjoyed the cottage and the walks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnwidda...
Uppermill, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceedingly good stay.”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely restful week at The Old Dairy Cottage No 1. The cottage is beautifully furnished to a very high standard with everything you could possibly need.The welcome pack was just the icing on the cake. We will certainly be returning.
A fantastic base for travelling around the area.
John, Dorothy and Pippa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you for such a nice review John, Dorothy & Pippa. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
337debora...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sparkling clean and cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a superb week at this cosy cottage which is very well equipped and sparking clean. Loved the position which allowed us to explore the beautiful Wye Vallley and Forest of Dean with our Border Collie, looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you again soon Deborah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faithandg...
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

A lovely cottage on the edge of The Forest of Dean.
It is well appointed, with a comfortable bed and very quiet.
Good walks from the door and lots of great places to visit within the area.
An enclosed patio area is very useful for dog owners,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you Faith & Geoff (and Rusty)! I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable week and it was nice to get a chance to meet you. I hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Holiday Ever”
Reviewed 8 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fabulous holiday staying in The Old Dairy Cottage (2). It was so comfortable and relaxing. Lovely and warm. Jack our dog settled in quickly and enjoyed some great walks. We loved the little sheltered courtyard garden and had some pleasant times sitting outside having a drink even in early October! Thank you so much Lorraine for the wonderful surprise Welcome Pack including flowers and a bottle of very pleasant wine, it really made our day. So thoughtful and much appreciated. We would love to stay again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and were able to sit outside - not bad for mid October. I would love to welcome you back again in the future Wendy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“"Perfectly situated in quiet lane, pleasant views, easy parking"”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Accomodation excellant, such a delightful place to reside and retreat too. Lorraine the owner has thought of everything, well equiped and comfortable along with the surronding beauty, when looking down the lane from the double glazes picture windows - enjoying the changing moods of the day... Walking the lane ...points of interest St. Anthonys Well, woodland covered in colours of autumn on our visit. A little further Gunsmill then Flaxley Rd. A4136 used most days visiting
Symonds Yat Rock - Monmouth - Lydney off A4136 - Clearwell Caves & Castle and much more. Wye Valley a very beautiful place steeped much with history past & present.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Jennifer. I am glad you got to see the Forest's display of Autumn colours and, hopefully, look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing