We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday cottage - will definitely be...”
other traveller has booked this property
We are dog friendly
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We are dog friendly
Cottage no 2 Cottage No 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
We are dog friendly
Cottage no 2
Cottage No 2
Comfy Sofa and free WiFi
Cottage 2
Cottage 2
Cottage 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pennyburc...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday cottage - will definitely be returning”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in February and had the most wonderful time. The cottage is very well equipped and beautifully furnished. Lorraine had left us some welcoming treats to start our weekend off which was a real bonus. The area is beautiful with lots of lovely long walks, perfect for a relaxing holiday. We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
I look forward to welcoming you back soon Penny.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragongir...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Shropshire and easily found the cottage, directions had been supplied by Lorraine. We found the Cottage delightful, well presented, clean and very comfortable. We had everything that we needed for our weeks stay. Lorraine had left some fresh juice and milk, plus some fruit and a lovely vase of daffodils to welcome us. The Cottage was warm when we arrived which was a nice welcome as the weather was wet and chilly. There are plenty of places in the area to visit, some lovely walks, we found the walk we did at Lydney Docks was very interesting and views stunning. A must is a visit to the Craft Barn, we can recommend breakfast and also afternoon tea.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinandj...
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally placed pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After a long drive from East Sussex we arrived at the Old Dairy. What a lovely place. The cottage is very well stocked and there was a warm and cosy welcome for us and treats for the dog. Cottage is ideally situated for visiting many places of interest and lots of great walks for us and the dog. Just what we needed.
Thank you Lorraine.
We will return soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thanks Colin. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suecrook1...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“15th Feb”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After a beautiful scenic drive from Cambridgeshire passing through Oxfordshire we arrived at The Old Dairy and what an absolute gem it is, beautifully furnished, well equipped and Lorraine had supplied fresh fruit and breakfast bits to get us started. The surrounding countryside is stunning with great walking and interesting places to visit... will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
Thank you so much Sue. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljwilk
hertfordshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing, perfectly located for long walks and the scenery is wonderful. The accommodation was very welcoming and had all we needed to make our stay very comfortable, wonderfully furnished throughout. Lorraine had left us fresh fruit and breakfast bits, a lovely touch.

We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay Mrs Wilk and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dansmiith...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect pet-friendly country retreat”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

After a smooth drive down a small country lane you are met but the beautiful old dairy cottages. The location was quiet and had amazing countryside views, perfect for a relaxing getaway.
Lorraine rang on the day to make sure we knew how to get in cottage. And, an email beforehand detailed all the need-to-knows that made the trip easy and excellent. Perfect for the dog: spare bowls, pet towels and blankets were provided. A detailed welcome pack, walking and eating recommendations made the stay perfect.

Thanks a lot to Lorraine for providing this little bit of countryside excellence.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future. Remember to always book direct with me for the guaranteed best price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Wonderfully relaxing, beautifully presented.Everything we needed.
Would definitely love to return in future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing