We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeffnJule...
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage but not perfect.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The cottage is in a lovely position on the side of a valley and has been converted to a high standard and the owners are extremely pleasant. The lounge has a delightful free standing stove that really does take the chill off in cold conditions. On the flip side the shower is awful the design of the head is useless and needs to be changed and the tap on the bathroom sink is so powerful it is a bonus if you don't soak yourself. Another bug would be the approach by car along a mile of rutted potholed hell which as we do not own a 4x4 was not easy or pleasant. Lastly paying around £2 per day (in winter) for electricity on top of the rental is slightly cheeky. Oh and the Wifi is extremely weak and failed to connect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The shower, the lane approaching the property & the electric meter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the setting of our cottage and the standard of the renovation work. We are sorry that your experience did not fully meet with your expectations. We do state in all our advertising that electricity is by prepayment meter and we have set our prices to reflect this. We feel that rather than including a set amount for each guest to cover our electricity costs, guests can choose how much they wish to spend. We do acknowledge that the track leading to the cottages is currently in a poor state owing to the recent adverse weather that we have had in this part of the country. Following your comments we will aim to make this fact more prominent in our advertising which will help future guests in choosing the right holiday for them. As soon as conditions are more favorable, the local farmer will resurface it, but it is not tarmacked and so will never be perfect. We also thank you for your comment about the shower, and having reviewed our advert we are already working on the wording to provide a more accurate description.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hm31191
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This cottage is a great place to stay. The cottage is perfectly decorated,and the log burner is excellent for when the weather is cold. There is also a selection of walks that you can do from the cottage, which were a great way of seeing the beautiful surroundings.The staff made us feel very welcomed and were very friendly and easy to talk to.
Would definitely return for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2013
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay at Robin Cottage. Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to meeting you again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickyblak...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We did not go on holiday by mistake!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Robin cottage was very comfortable and easy to live in. The views were fantastic and best of all Lis had given details of a number of walks that we could go on straight from the cottage. This was exactly what we wanted. Although the weather was decidedly mixed we had a restful, reinvigorating break and are already contemplating coming back in the spring. On our last night the sky cleared and the stars were spectacular. The moon shining through the skylight was beautiful too. It seems to me that the owners have been exceptionally thoughtful in all aspects of these rentals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the cottage and the views
Liked least: We were a bit rubbish at lighting the woodburning stove
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Thank you for your appreciative comments. We enjoy sharing our local knowledge about walks etc with guests and are glad you enjoyed the walks we put together. We love walking in the valley ourselves as it so peaceful on this side of the Forest. Hope to welcome you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
So glad the cottage met your expectations and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah W
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Having booked this as a romantic getaway location for my partners birthday, I was not dissapointed. We both had the perfect, peaceful break away and only wish we could have stayed longer.
The views were worth the rent alone. Absolutely breathtaking and stunning. I wish I could wake up to them every morning. We also enjoyed waking up to the sounds of all the wildlife in the area. When the weather got slightly worse, just curling up inside infront of the fire was enough as the cottage itself had everything we could possibly need.
The area itself has so much to see and do. We've visited the area before and still haven't managed to fit everything in. Puzzlewood is a personal favourite, along with a visit into nearby Cheltenham and Chepstow. There are also lots of local walks and bike rides to be had.
We would throughly recommend this as a romantic getaway or a relaxing holiday. But we would recommend arriving at the cottage in daylight, if possible, due to access road.
We hope to come back again some time soon-10/10 and two very happy, relaxed customers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views-worth the rent alone!
Liked least: Access road was a slight challenege, but only slightly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
We are so pleased it matched up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back and offering you a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The location, the peace and the marvellous view.
Liked least: That we couldn't have stayed for longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
Yes we like listening to the owls and enjoy all the wildlife around here and it is great to be able to share it with others who appreciate it too
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace, overall setting, price
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Dec 2012
Glad you loved the ammenities as much as the cottage. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing