We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Amazing Easter weekend getaway. Everything you could ever need in a little cottage. The cottage has all the facilities expected and really is the perfect place to relax and get away from everything. Either escape the world and enjoy the silence or visit some local attractions. We went to the birds of prey centre then symonds yat and would recommend both very highly. Brilliant little welcome tray awaited us and really couldn't have asked for anything more. Will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Electric meter switching off without warning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed staying at Robin Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris h
warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My second stay here, though my first time in robin cottage, it won't be my last stay! Such a cosy welcoming cottage in such beautiful and peaceful surroundings, ideal to express as much or as little as you would like, feet up in front of the cosy wood burner is bliss, I came home feeling very refreshed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, logburner and welcome basket
Liked least: Cold floor! Bring slippers/thick socks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
We are really glad you had a great stay here at Robin Cottage. It is true that the nearest supermarkets of any size are in Cinderford and if you want a superstore you would have to go to Gloucester, but is you need any essentials the CO-OP in Mitcheldean is quite good. I'm glad you like the walks I put in the folder, I have detailed a few more this January all of which can be done without a car, straight from Robin Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan1232
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to get away”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Great cottage with comfortable bed, warming fireplace, and all essentials required for a relaxing stay. Laundry room useful when staying with a baby, like we did. Absolutely perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your Xmas here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Buckinghamshire
1 review
“Peaceful cosy and very well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This was a lovely get away. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet rural retreat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Robin Cottage and thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mbacon12
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back to nature in the forest!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great week in the Forest of Dean, managing to spot lots of animals and birds... wild boar, stoat, deer, goldcrests, nuthatches and treecreepers, woodpeckers and even a seal in the Wye at Lancault!
The cottage is lovely, well fitted out and has a wonderful view. The wildlife garden with feeders and food provided is a fantastic bonus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that you had a great time in the Forest and managed to see such a wide variety of our local wildlife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing