We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will 100% be coming back for a stay !!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lgmainten...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will 100% be coming back for a stay !!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Really nice cottage in lovely setting . Everything we needed on arrival . Such good value for money. We found a lovely little pub to eat and went on a local walk which was really nice . The cottage stays nice and warm and the wood burner is lovely . Cottage was nice and clean on arrival . we don't have 1 bad word to say about the cottage and our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
It's lovely to hear what a wonderful time you had at Robin Cottage! We enjoyed having you to stay and look forwards to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbull123
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy warm cottage in lovely area”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Set on a hillside near Mitcheldean and only a short drive away from the Forest of Dean, Robin Cottage is a lovely cosy cottage, very well-equipped, and with enormous comfortable bed! It being early February, the weather was cold but we had some great walks from outside the door, and slightly further afield, and knew that the cottage would be warm and welcoming to return to. Evenings were spent relaxing in front of the woodburner. On our last day the sun shone and we had a walk in the beautiful Forest of Dean. If you like trees you will love this place! Karen the owner was very friendly and helpful and we felt very looked after.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of Robin Cottage. It's great to hear what a lovely time you had and that you found the cottage so warm and welcoming. We would love to welcome you back again in the the future if you would like to explore more of the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Me and my partner stayed in wren cottage last year and loved the cottages, the location and the atmosphere of the place that we decided to book the cottage attached ( robin cottage). We have had another fantastic weekend, great cottage with a log burner and plenty of space, beautiful views and lots of wildlife.
We cant reccommend this cottage enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad that you liked Robin Cottage too and that you were able to enjoy the wonderful views and the local wildlife. We hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy and Romantic hideaway!”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a gorgeous weekend in beautiful Robin Cottage. So comfortable and cozy! The cottage has everything you could need and is finished to a high standard. The views are fabulous and its sooooo peaceful there!
Plenty to do in the local area too. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be going back.
Thank you Karen and Lis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: Having to go back to work!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review Helen! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forwards to welcoming you back in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warren g
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place is stunning we loved the place from the second we got there. Fantastic views fantastic fantastic fantastic. I will be going back again great place. Good wild life to take your camera and bi nocks you will love it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and saw lots of wildlife. We love nature too and are looking to attract as many different species to the garden as we can. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We look forwards to welcoming you back one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in an Outstanding Location.”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived we both looked at each other and said what a lovely cottage set in a perfect location.
The owner Karen meet us and explained everything we needed to know about the cottage including a few walks, one of which we tried on the first evening.
The cottage is extremely well appointed and is perfect for a couple, wanting a romantic getaway; we would both recommend it to all of our family & friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
It was lovely to read your review and know that you had such a good stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this review. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthP2064
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed the cottage, warm welcome and scenery. Lots of lovely walks and bike rides. Cottage very comfortable and cosy with everything you could need

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery and cosyness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Robin Cottage! Thank you for this great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing