We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in stunning location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome tray including local apple juice and biscuits
View from the bathroom.
Walking on Shapridge Hill, just a few minutes stroll away!
Summer foal on May Hill - 360 degree panoramic views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Climber45...
1 review
“Lovely cottage in stunning location.”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had a lovely three days in this cottage in the Forest of Dean. We're into wildlife and so the tranquil location suited us fine. Near enough to local town to buy all you need and only minutes from superb countryside.
The host Karen is very helpful without being intrusive. We arrived late in the snow but she was there to meet and greet us.
Only real negative is the fairly steep hill from the car park to the cottage and having to carry all the luggage to and fro.
Would recommend to anyone who likes being outdoors.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Robin Cottage. We are both really pleased you had a great stay. You were lucky to see it in the snow!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage magnificent location.”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Beautiful cottage the log fires a bonus, the rooms was light and airy, the bed was so comfy, the welcome tray was a nice touch the apple juice was really nice and the biscuits was addictive, location was amazing beautiful views with lots of nice walks will definitely return in the summer to see more of the forest, we met Karen who was very welcoming and helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Robin Cottage. We always love to hear that people have had a great stay here and I'm glad you enjoyed the biscuits and juice. We keep the biscuits in a locked cupboard so that we are not tempted! We look forwards to welcoming you back in the summer. Thank again for the lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianmurph...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous little cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just a beautiful little cottage with stunning views. Would definitely recommend a visit an idea place to stay to visit the many attractions within The Forest of Dean. Even had snow which made our stay even more magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Thank you Sian! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's so beautiful here when it snows - you were lucky to see it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrina f
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wow! What can we say....Karen and Lis have provided and thought of everything needed for a break away....and some! The welcome tray waiting for us on arrival was a really nice touch. Spotless cottage with a very well equipped kitchen, beautifully decorated. Very warm and welcoming owners who I think have put a tremendous effort into providing first class accommodation.
The handbook with local walks and recommendations for places to eat a great idea. We went to the Kilcot Inn nearby, fantastic food.
The great British weather behaved itself and we had hot sunny weather and we're rewarded with an amazing sunset out of the window.
Ross on wye well worth a visit from here also.
We absolutely loved our time here at Robin cottage, we would definitely recommend to family and friends....We will be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Robin Cottage. We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and found the accomadation met your expectations. The Kilcot Inn is definitely one of our best local eateries! You are welcome back anytime and we look forwards to seeing you again! Lis and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gidgeclev
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bird photography from bed.”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage with abundant wildlife on the doorstep, the decor is up to date without detracting from the traditional stone cottage and everything has been very well thought out and provided for. Walks from the doorstep and interesting places to go within a short drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thank you for this lovely review of Robin Cottage. We hadn't realised that you could see the birds on the feeders from the bed-we're thinking of making this our USP! Glad you saw lots of wildlife and enjoyed your stay in Robin Cottage. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidoniema...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning scenery, beautiful cottage, perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I don't think I can accurately put into words how much I loved this cottage. It is not only beautiful inside and out, it was immaculately clean, well laid out, cosy, welcoming and had excellent facilities. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment and the welcome tray was a lovely touch. The bathroom was clean, fresh and spacious. The bedroom, whilst very spacious, felt cosy and comfortable. The views are to die for, I couldn't stop staring out of the bathroom window! The only thing I would have liked would be net curtains in the bedroom and bathroom, as curtains/blinds had to be closed for privacy - and as they were blackout it meant that we had to keep switching the lights on in the daytime which is a bit of a shame. Other than that - this is the perfect cottage and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely rural getaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for your amazing review and it's great to know that you loved Robin Cottage! We will look into the privacy aspect of the upstairs rooms and see if there is anything we can do. In the past we have always shied away from net curtains as it seems a shame to put anything at all in front of the lovely view. We are about to put new curtains in the bedroom, so this might be a good time to reconsider that window. Thank you once again for all the feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindseyby...
Dunbar
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect peace”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were here for a two week break and at the end we stayed an extre night! Glorious location. Lovely views over the valley and cottage was well equipped. Hosts were a delight and gave us lots of tips and advice, but left us alone. Very comfortable bed and a great shower, always essential for holidays. Loads to see and do in the area and glorious walks in the forest from the front door. Came back feeling most refreshed and hope to go back again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
It was lovely to have you both to stay at Robin Cottage. We very much enjoyed meeting you and sharing all our local knowledge with you! We're glad that you liked the cottage and had a relaxing stay and we we look forwards to welcoming you back again one day soon, Karen and Lis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing