We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little haven of loveliness!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Wren Cottage is in the foreground
Our dog Jodie enjoying the garden!  Wren Cottage welcomes pets.
Autumn tree on Shapridge Hill
Welcome tray including locally made apple juice and biscuits.
A rural location with plenty of horses, sheep, even a couple of pigs and a donkey!
View of the River Severn from Edge Hills - the hill opposite the cottages
Snowy scenes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon615...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Little haven of loveliness!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and our 2 dogs spent 4 nights at Wren cottage. It's a great location for the Forest of Dean. The property is clean and very well planned making good use of limited space. I hadn't realised it was completely open plan and would have prefered at least 1 door to either shut the dogs in the kitchen or lounge as they are not allowed to sleep upstairs with us and we had to block the stairs with a chair! Otherwise no problems and the owners were really helpful and welcoming and the added extras of the welcome tray of goodies and the logs for the fire were most welcome. All in all a really enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: reaxing enviroment
Liked least: open plan interior.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Wren Cottage. We note your comments about the difficulty of preventing your dogs from going upstairs, and will look into fitting a stair gate to resolve this issue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
735alex
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply lovely!”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Quiet, peaceful, off the beaten track. Just what we want from a short getaway in January. Snuggle in by the log burner after a hard days walking in the forest.super!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wren Cottage. We are glad that you had a great time and enjoyed some of the lovely walks around here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minicoope...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“By far the best dog friendly cottage we've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The initial booking process and arrival procedures were well communicated with no issues. This cottage has got to be the most dog friendly cottage we have ever stayed in, from the dog towels and couch cover to the dog litter bin outside the door, you couldn't ask for more. The cottage itself was so cute and comfortable, small but perfectly formed! Everything you could possibly need was provided in the kitchen area, and the wood burner in the lounge was an added bonus. Electricity is provided by a £1 meter slot but the cottage is so eco-friendly we barely used any electricity all week, even though it was December. The views and walks from the door are absolutely amazing, and only being able to hear the birds was fantastic. There are lots of things to do in the area including May Hill, Symonds Yat, Ross on Wye and Monmouth to visit. Plenty of small villages around to get any extra supplies should you need anything. A perfect little cottage which we hope to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list, we loved everything about the cottage.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at Wren Cottage. We have two dogs of our own and so understand what makes a good holiday for a dog when we go away ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other holiday makers and we hope that next time you come we will get to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wafflespu...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in very pretty location”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spent a week here with my partner for a bit of rest and relaxation. The cottage is lovely - nicer actually than I expected from the photos online which was a pleasant surprise. The kitchen is very well equipped with all sorts of pans and dishes so making meals at home was very easy. The bedroom is very sweet and we thought the bed was really comfortable. The log burner in the lounge adds a nice touch and the logs provided were almost enough for the week when lighting it every other night. Very dog friendly - blanket for sofa and towel provided as well as other things on request. Wifi was free but located in other cottage so we weren't always in control of when it was switched on! (Obviously not the owners fault!)

It is in a lovely location - very quiet with nice views of the fields and forest. Only 15 mins to Gloucester too so very convenient for getting about. There were people staying in the other cottage whilst we were there but you wouldn't have known as the cottage is quite soundproof. Booking was easy and the owners were welcoming when we arrived and came to say goodbye when we left, and left us to do our own thing the rest of the time which was great, they were on hand nearby if anything went wrong during our stay.

Would definitely return if coming back to the forest of dean and would recommend for a quiet relaxing break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty location
Liked least: Got quite cold
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
It is so nice to hear what a good time you and your dog had in Wren Cottage! Our cleaner did mention that she had turned off the wi-fi by mistake during your stay, and we have decided it would be a good idea to put up a "do not switch off" notice so that it does not happen again. Thank you for making the time to write a review, we really appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris h
warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“simply wonderful”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Where to start, i have so many good things to say about wren cottage and the owners! we were met and welcomed on arrival, and asked to let the owners know if we needed any assistance or advice during our stay. the cottage is beautiful, very homey, spotlessly clean, with everything you need to hand, There is a file on the shelf with local information and walks, places to eat etc. The wildlife garden is a brilliant idea, we made many visits there to see the jays. There is a £1 coin meter, though it takes very few coins as the electricity seems to last, and even in November the wood-burner is enough to keep the cottage cosy.all in all an amazing, quiet, tranquil,holiday,just perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet, cosy cottage, comfy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your relaxing break at Wren Cottage and thank you for your kind comments. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you had such a good time in the forest. It really is a stunning place and we feel privileged to live here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
silvidog
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful little cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely cottage. Very dog friendly location. Owners were really nice. Would love to stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We are so glad that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing