We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Cosy lounge area with electric flame effect wood burner (electricity is included in the rental)
A welcome tray includes local apple juice and biscuits as well as teas coffees and a pint of milk
Parking and path as seen from the front door of Little Owl
Sculpture Trail from Beecehnhurst Lodge
November is a great time to see the autumn colours: here St Anthony's well down in the valley
Wild boar can be found all over he forest including in our local woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mitcheldean, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Corrin S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

If you want to get away from it for some peace and quite this is the place for you. Lovely walking from the front door, with some good guides from the owners. Very clean, lovely and warm, owners can't do enough for you. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2014
Thank you for your appreciative comments. We are hoping to note the directions for some more local walks which should be ready for your next stay! We look forward to seeing you again then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very clever use of space.
Liked least: Couldn't work out how to use the dvd and couldn't connect to wifi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for your fantastic comments about your stay in Little Owl Studio. We are so glad that you had a great time and like the accommodation. We are sorry that you were unable to connect to the wi-fi during your stay. It is usually working, although admittedly it can be rather slow, this being a rural area. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RK92P
1 review
“Lovely accommodation in a beautiful part of the country!”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The studio apartment is lovely for a getaway. It was incredibly clean and well equipped. The hosts seemed to have thought of everything to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The location is beautiful and there are lovely walks straight from the front door. We had slight difficulty trying to find the property as we were travelling in the dark and it is on a single track... but we got there in the end and it was so worth it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
We're really glad you liked Little Owl and the Forest of Dean, we love it here too! Thank you very much for your appreciative comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim666G
Ilchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, well equipped cottage in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Little Owl is the perfect base for exploring the Forest of Dean, and further afield if you wish. The cottage is open plan so it feels quite spacious inside, considering its actual size. It is very well equipped and is cosy and warm. Despite the bumpy track to reach the property, the setting is beautiful, surrounded by fields with views of the hills. The wildlife garden is a lovely feature. Local amenities in Mitcheldean are within easy reach, just a few minutes drive away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Little Owl is in fact a bit of a "Tardis". It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bambievat...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Owl is a Little Gem”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely little place to stay in the Forest of Dean. Plenty of great countryside to take in on the door step. Little Owl is a small but practical and well thought out accommodation. Cosy and welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy, home-from-home feel
Liked least: the cooker was spotless but a bit noisy well in use.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you for your comments we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, its a great package for a relaxing break.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We always look forward to seeing you and your dog too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NG89
2 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Lovely little studio, with brilliant use of space. Feels so spacious inside and was lovely and warm. Great base to explore the forest, and definitely would recommend a car to get the most out of the stay. We just wish we could have stayed longer!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and like our studio! We love to welcome you back again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing