We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying. The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying.
The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Subtle lighting at night means you can star gaze while soaking in 38c water.
The west facing property benefits from regular spectacular sunsets viewed from the balcony.
The Granary is just the place for that romantic break with a difference.
A luxury bathroom with spa bath, lots of bubbles and candles to relax you after a long day.
A Welcome Pack can be ordered for your arrival. Just send us your list and we will do the rest.
This secluded property is at the end of a forestry track and provides peace and tranquility.
We make all our guests very welcome and look forward to being able to do the same for you one day.
We want you to enjoy your stay, visit again and tell your friends about your stay.
Steps up to bed, then close the drapes for a cosy sleep.
Summer at Symonds Yat rock. Peregrine Falcons can be seen nesting. Pubs, river cruise and canoeing.
November is the Autumn colours season and this beech is at the top of the track.
May is the bluebell season and visitors can take the opportunity to photograph these.
Come with friends who can use our other property number 1783287. Discounts if both are booked.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Bjorkasto...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The granary was wonderful, and the hosts were very welcoming and hospitable! The eggs they left for us from their chickens were such a treat for the morning, and the view is breathtaking! Will definitely come back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Granary. We are delighted you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and wish to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Took my breath away!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We arrived at the Granary for a quiet relaxing weekend away with plans to do absolutely nothing. When we were shown into the cottage i was lost for words, it was nothing like i expected. It was a warm and cosy little cottage with lovely art work and pretty decorations which just made it beautiful. We stayed in the cottage during the storms and floods of the lovely British weather we have been experiencing, but even that didn't dampen our spirits. We even had a power cut, but it just made it even more cosier in the candle light.
The cottage has everything you need if you plan on doing nothing! Plenty of books to read, music to listen to and tv or films to watch.
The owner Mandy was also very helpful, we forgot to bring tea bags so we asked Mandy for some, not only did she give us tea bags, she also offered us some eggs from the chickens on the farm!
All in all, a lovely place with lovely owners. We will definitely be returning.
Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillipsi...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in January 2013

In January 2013 me and my girlfriend travelled from Coventry to this humble abode. On first arrival we couldn't of possible been happier.

The cottage is set in the midst of the beautiful rolling hills of the Forest of Dean countryside. The interior decor is perfect, it creates a real warm and homely feel, and that was important as it was so cold outside. Our hosts Mandy and David couldn't of been more welcoming and friendly. Genuine, lovely people.

On the morning of departure we woke up to a thick blanket of snow which made it impossible to leave, we were trapped in the cottage. But instead of forcing us out David and Mandy provided us with food and wine and Wellington boots so we could go explore our surroundings. After another 2 nights in the cottage a farmer was able to make it down to the cottage to clear all the snow making it possible to leave.

A perfect little retreat with perfect hosts.

Thankyou ever so much to David and Mandy, me and Bec just apologise for taking so long to write a review.

We hope to see you again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcoming we received, and the general feel of the cottage.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2013
Thanks for this review, it reminded us of this magical time. We loved having you and were glad to be able to help you when the elements were against us.We now have a balcony on the Granary which has been a great addition. Come and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing setting and lovely hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Granary and thank you for your wonderful comments. With regards to the small issues you raised we now plan to install a blind in the Granary so that our visitors can choose to star gaze or block out the early morning sun. We would love to see you again if you are in the area; don't forget you qualify for a 10% discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OzzyKT
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for a weekend and we will definitely return. The cottage is wonderful - cosy and romantic, just the right size for two and with everything you would ever need. Highlights were the spa bath, newly opened balcony and the bed in the loft reminding you of climbing to the top bunk as a kid but now a more romantic experience!

The location is quite remote although it is next to the owners' lovely farmhouse. But the cottage part is not overlooked in anyway and you have stunning views from the balcony across the Forest of Dean. The owners were very welcoming and stayed out of our way thereafter which was the perfect combination. You have to follow their instructions carefully to access the remote track from the A road but if you do then you will be fine. It is a rough track so take your time but my Focus managed it ok. If it is icy though I would want to be in a 4x4 before tackling it.

There is a footpath going past the farm which will take you directly into the forest if you fancy a walk without a drive and careful navigation will bring you to the Dog & Muffler Inn after half an hour where we had a lovely meal one evening, followed by a torchlight return journey. Obviously the weather was still holding for us!

Booking was straightforward, with a form to complete and a £50 security deposit refundable after 14 days (mine will be due shortly). We will return in the new year for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage layout and romantic setting
Liked least: The bumpy track to get there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing