We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay - a real gem in the country!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying. The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying.
The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Subtle lighting at night means you can star gaze while soaking in 38c water.
The west facing property benefits from regular spectacular sunsets viewed from the balcony.
The Granary is just the place for that romantic break with a difference.
A luxury bathroom with spa bath, lots of bubbles and candles to relax you after a long day.
A Welcome Pack can be ordered for your arrival. Just send us your list and we will do the rest.
This secluded property is at the end of a forestry track and provides peace and tranquility.
We make all our guests very welcome and look forward to being able to do the same for you one day.
We want you to enjoy your stay, visit again and tell your friends about your stay.
Steps up to bed, then close the drapes for a cosy sleep.
Summer at Symonds Yat rock. Peregrine Falcons can be seen nesting. Pubs, river cruise and canoeing.
November is the Autumn colours season and this beech is at the top of the track.
May is the bluebell season and visitors can take the opportunity to photograph these.
Come with friends who can use our other property number 1783287. Discounts if both are booked.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Holly F
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay - a real gem in the country!”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked for me and my partner to stay here for his Birthday. Mandy was very welcoming on arrival and the dinner table was all set. The cottage is the cosiest place we have ever stayed (the spa bath a plus), and is lovely if you want a relaxing weekend. The chickens, peasants and sheep were great to look at over the balcony and although it was cloudy when we were there, the sunset looked like it would've been beautiful. Would definitely recommend and come back to the granary - Thanks Mandy & David!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Granary and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian C
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From the winding forest track to the stone steps to the beautiful views, this place is every inch the perfect getaway. The Granary is next to the owner's house and their other holiday rental, The Stables, but once you're in, you'd never know there was another soul about. The windows overlook the gardens and the decked balcony provides breath-taking sunset views and affords a delightful opportunity to watch the pheasants milling about in front of their hedgerows in the early morning.

The space itself is cosy and well-appointed and the owners provide a substantial selection of leaflets for local attractions and walks and even an invaluable waterproof OS map for the more navigationally-challenged amongst us! I visited Puzzlewood and Dark Hill, the former said to inspire Tolkein when writing about Middle Earth and the latter a preserved 19th Century iron works, around and through which you can take a short walk. It's hard to pick a favourite feature, but after a day out and about, it was a real treat to enjoy the enormous, candle-lit spa bath.

The owner, Mandy, is incredibly helpful and accommodating, taking at least three calls from me trying to find my way in the dark and rain and then greeting me at my car with a brolly! I was kindly offered fresh eggs for my stay and when I returned having left something at The Granary, Mandy promptly retrieved it and sent it back within a couple of days.

A wonderful little gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Granary so much. It is a pleasure to read how much you have appreciated what we have tried to provide for our guests. Thank you so much for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for giving the Granary such a positive review. We are really pleased the weekend break was what you needed and hope you both feel refreshed. Please come and see us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the veranda sipping wine while the sun went down
Liked least: My husband booked this as a surprise and forgot im not keen on heights the stairs were a bit steep for me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you had a good time. Just a reminder to any future guests, we do offer a welcome pack of all the basic provisions, if you request it, so that you don't have to go to the shops straight away. You just let us have your list before you arrive and we do the rest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bryony S
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the granary. Once stepping inside we felt instantly relaxed and loved exploring the quirkiness of the cottage. The view from the balcony is just spectacular and is a perfect backdrop to a romantic evening. We loved every minute of our stay.Thank you for sharing your special place with us we will be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
We are very pleased you enjoyed the Granary so much. We look forward to welcoming you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic country retreat.”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A beautifully presented quirky retreat.
Lovely views over open fields and beyond. Wildlife an added bonus.
Everything you could possibly need provided and nothing too much trouble for Mandy and David the owners.
If you want peace and quiet and just time to relax here's the place to be.
Access both to the property and sleeping quarters interesting but only adds to the charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
We are very happy you enjoyed staying in the Granary. Please come and see us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing