We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful romantic break”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying. The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
The first floor accommodation is above the owner's office. This is not used when guests are staying.
The owner is a rose enthusiast and the gardens are full of a range of different varieties.
Subtle lighting at night means you can star gaze while soaking in 38c water.
The west facing property benefits from regular spectacular sunsets viewed from the balcony.
The Granary is just the place for that romantic break with a difference.
A luxury bathroom with spa bath, lots of bubbles and candles to relax you after a long day.
A Welcome Pack can be ordered for your arrival. Just send us your list and we will do the rest.
This secluded property is at the end of a forestry track and provides peace and tranquility.
We make all our guests very welcome and look forward to being able to do the same for you one day.
We want you to enjoy your stay, visit again and tell your friends about your stay.
Steps up to bed, then close the drapes for a cosy sleep.
Summer at Symonds Yat rock. Peregrine Falcons can be seen nesting. Pubs, river cruise and canoeing.
November is the Autumn colours season and this beech is at the top of the track.
May is the bluebell season and visitors can take the opportunity to photograph these.
Come with friends who can use our other property number 1783287. Discounts if both are booked.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
VicRob190
2 reviews
“Wonderful romantic break”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at The Granary for a 2 night break. My only disappointment is that we didn't book for longer! A lovely quirky place to stay, with everything you need, plus beautiful views and a hot tub. Mandy and David were so friendly and welcoming. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was good to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_ashto...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Absolutely loved our stay here. Amazing location, great hosts and loved the accommodation. Would go back in an instant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Thank you for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed G
1 review
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Mandy has been great with helping me organise the best getaway for my girlfriends birthday, can’t thank her enough. As for the place, it was beautiful and can’t fault it one bit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure helping you plan for the birthday surprise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestonWif...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, romantic getaway in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This was an amazing anniversary retreat. Mandy was extremely friendly and this location and accommodation exceeded all of our expectations.

Watching the sunset/rise across the gorgeous countryside was a magical experience we will not forget anytime soon.

Plenty of great walks to be had, exploring the surrounding area. Recommend Dark Hill Iron Fort and Cannop Ponds.

A truly magical place, which we look forward to visiting again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Anniversary in the Granary. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparkysla...
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cosy country haven”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Despite the wet and blustery weather we had a very peaceful and relaxing time.The Granary was well equiped with everything you need to create a hassle free stay.Situated deep in the countryside yet close to towns where essential supplies can be obtained. Also close to local pubs which serve delicious meals and ales. We are definately going back again and will recommend The Granary to friends and family.( we actually recommended it to friends before our stay !)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful accommodation in a truly beautiful rural setting. Every possible requirement for guests is provided. Will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Granary. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenic getaway”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Granary at the end of July this year. We immediately fell in love with the place as soon as we rounded the final bend of the trail and saw the gates. Mandy and David were very welcoming and our welcome pack had been put together just like we'd asked. We loved the beautiful flowers everywhere, the hot tub was perfect in the evening and getting to see the stars at night from the sleeping nook was very romantic.

Thanks for an unforgettable stay, we can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Granary, and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing