We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Jem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alan965
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jem”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just had the most marvelous 4 night break in this wonderful quirky hidden piece of the English countryside. We have never been to this part of the country before but will be visiting again as long as we can get booked back into the "Stable" with its fabulous Hot Tub, seclusion and views. Thanks to Mandy and David who have done a wonderful job on the décor and atmosphere.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but the privacy and seclusin were sublime
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and everything we have tried to do to make our guests relax and unwind. We would love to welcome you both back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hirsty101...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded getaway”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights with our Labrador retriever. From the moment you pull into the drive (down a long and winding track), you see how perfect this little cottage is. Views across fields to a nearby village. The owners live next door in their house though this doesn't make the cottage feel any less private. The hot tub and gardens face away towards the fields and so looking out you could be the only ones for miles around. Everything possible was done to make us feel welcome, though we were left alone to relax in privacy. A perfect getaway and we will be returning in the near future Thanks to Mandy for such a lovely break.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the hot tub.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thank you for such lovely comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the peace and tranquillity the Stables offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul1980b
2 reviews
“Lovely setting, accommodation and people”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Idyllic location, watching the sunset over the Brecon Beacons from the hottub was stunning. Walks in the Forest of Dean were spectacular and to top it all off the accommodations were beautiful, historic and querky. The owners Mandy and David were accommodation and lovely, I will be planning my next visit very soon

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the hot tub under the stars.
Liked least: Having to go back home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review the Stables. We are delighted you had such a good time and would love to see you again, should you want to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicki C
West sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning and Tranquil”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a great place to stay if you like peace and tranquility. Fantastic views whilst sitting in the garden or hot tub - we were the first guests to use it, newly installed the day before we arrived! The Stables is off the beaten track but absolute heaven once you arrive. It's cosy, warm and well furnished. The bath robes for the hot tub are a nice touch, so too are the freshly laid eggs!
Walks into the forest right from the doorstep, our dog loved it! We couldn't find the pub that the owners recommended but we had a fantastic walk across the fields.
Mandy was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again, we hope to be back some time soon.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. We are really pleased you had a good time. We have since revised our map to help our guests find the pub! You are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you had such a good time and enjoyed your stay in the Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property itself.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for writing such lovely things about the Stables. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.