We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
English Bicknor, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

nicole w
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you are looking for some peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings then The Stables is simply perfect! We spent one of our days canoeing down the river Wye at Symons Yat and had a lovely lunch looking out on the river at The Saracens Head- This is about a 20min drive from The Stables (be sure to take cash for parking!) After a tiring day on the river we relaxed in the hot tub and listened to the sound of gentle wind chimes in the garden. Such a magical place.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very pleased you had such a good time and enjoyed everything we have tried to provide for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda W
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome, complete with cottage garden, stunning views and beautiful decor await you at The Stables.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay at The Stables. On arrival we were greeted with smiles and helpful conversation by the friendly hosts who guide you to the accommodation. The Stables sits adjacent to their home, but once inside maintains a complete sense of privacy. Surrounded by free flowing flowers the accommodation lives up to its picturesque photo, and inside, this beautifully decorated retreat is a real treat indeed with everything you need for the perfect getaway. The wild cottage garden spoils you with your own private view of the local land and a hot tub, best enjoyed at sunset with a glass on bubbles in hand. The Stables is just right for 4 adults or a family of 4. Or of course a romantic break.
We ventured out to the local pub (New Inn) which offered very good food at a good price, and also drove to one by the river (Saracens Head) which is lovely for a sunny day and offers boat tours.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: 10am check out, but only because I didn't want to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMG223
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A magical place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week at The Stables - the house was clean & comfortable so we immediately settled in. The hot tub and stunning garden meant we spent a lot of time outside enjoying the view and relaxing. There is lots to do in the area and the week went went very quickly. We recommend The Stables to anyone who wants to have somewhere really special to stay in the Forest of Dean. We hope to return again next year!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How bright and airy the house felt - and the hot tub in the garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to meeting you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amybeques...
Glouceseter
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away staying at The Stables and we want to go back already! It is a beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting, perfect for having a relaxing break and getting away from it all. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The owners are lovely and made us feel like we could ask them anything if we needed to. The hot tub was definitely our favourite bit though - it's amazing at night in such a peaceful setting.
We would 100% recommend The Stables and we are hoping to return next year! Thank you Mandy & David. :-)

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments. We are thrilled you had such a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M6569VJal...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“great couples holiday to get away from it all and relax”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

amazing location and relaxed environment. outdoor hot tub - great to unwind and finish the day. surprisingly good internet service so can stay in touch with the world if you wish...i personals enjoyed the break from it all.

plenty of place to wonder direct from the stables or drive to nearby locations to venture around the forest of dean. Go Ape 15 min drive for thrill seekers.

eat at the dog and muffler - good pie! and the balti hut - not as good, but flavoursome curry non the less.

all in all great stay and we will be back if i was to grumble about anything it would be nice to have a few essentials in the cupboard like oil, herbs and spices - not the type of thing you want to buy a whole jar of for a 4 day holiday.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub/ dog friendly
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
1 review
“A perfect, relaxing countryside stay in a stunning property!”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here over the weekend as a group of four for my sisters 30th birthday. We were already excited for our stay but were absolutely blown away when we arrived! Such a stunning, beautifully decorated property in a gorgeous location. It was even better than we hoped for and made for a perfect relaxing weekend. The hot tub is a perfect addition to enjoy a glass of bubbles under the stars! There is also lots to do in the surrounding location and Mandy was very helpful beforehand in suggesting places to visit and recommending restaurants/pubs. Needless to say we didn't want to leave and definitely hope to visit again!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It makes us very happy to know that you appreciated the Stables and that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westberg2...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want remote countryside seclusion, this is the place.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I chose to stay at The Granary, which is beautifully characterful conversion of the original Granary. I must admit, walking in through the door, we both stood with wide eyed wonder at the intricately personable and colourful décor.

Mandy and David have thought of everything and anything that could make their guests feel like that their in their own homes, but suddenly transported into the middle of the most picturesque and stunning countryside.

I could literally go on and on and on and on about this place, but I wont bore you.

The property is set far away from the hustle and bustle, yet, when you want to get back into the world, its minutes away. You have to experience it to understand my meaning.

The owners respect your privacy but when you need them, they're kind, warm and most informative. Clique I know, but next time we return, we will have a little extra person and will spend another memorable and most unforgettable holiday here.

I would totally recommend this getaway to anyone that appreciates the great outdoors, charming and rustic locations and enough wildlife to shake a furry stick at!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Sleeping in the heart of the countryside. Surrounded by nature, Canoeing, Cycling, Walking through fields to the local pub, etc. etc. etc.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy that you had a good time and appreciated what we have done. Good luck with the new baby and hope to meet you again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.