We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Barden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful campsite”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights here as it was such a lovely campsite. The views from the high tiers are lovely. Excellent Facilities on lower tiers as well as at the top. Fabulous walks from the campsite by the riverside or up over the moors. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dancing2thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved it and are returning in a couple of weeks. There aren't many facilities for children though just a football field I think. However tiered pitches meant breathtaking views. The loos/showers weren't the most up to date but they were clean and perfectly useable and plenty of them so no long walks with your legs crossed! Owners helpful and pleasant and the site is spotless. Just fab for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stays and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views, basic facilities however the showers and toilets at the top were clean and nice! Shop very poor and small and doesn't have wifi :'( it was in a lovely place I'll definitely go again! It's in walking distance of a pub and is very quiet and peaceful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredithkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Chose this site following a friends previous stay. Very quiet and such a pretty setting, with the pitches on tiers, so you get an unspoilt view of the valley. Owners are really helpful and shop was just what you needed with sweets and ice cream for the kids.

Showers, toilets, washing up facilities all great and never got busy.

We had a perfect weekend last week, with gorgeous weather.

Nice walk to pub by a stream and kids can paddle.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Would ask for a higher pitch to get best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Wendy, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Fiona, Tony, Rob and Will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location, facilities working away discreetly behind the scenes although torrential rain showers, laundry rooms and toilets were always spotless day or night. This is the first time we have been compelled to write a review but these guys have got it spot on! Beautiful wildlife mingling around the camping too chickens, rabbits , cats our kids loved it - dog was made welcome and happy all good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather, I do wish we had control over that! Hopefully we will see you again sometime. best wishes from all the team at Howgill Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Extremely beautiful scenery and location. Was very peaceful and the owners were friendly, as were the other guests. Seems to attract young families and couples of all ages who respect the peace and space of others

Appletrewick and Burnsall pubs/walks amazing and when we go back will only stay at Howgill. Walked past Masons Campsite and was very relieved that we chose Howgill (Masons looked like a cattle market). Be sure to walk down to Bolton Abbey and along the river to the local pubs (Appletreewick - 20 mins and Red Lion about 45-60 minutes).

Before we arrived we were nervous of the price but we neednt have been.The quality of the site made up for that and the shower was better than at home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we do appreciate feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again. Regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night whilst attending a wedding in the local village. The area is stunning and the room was just gorgeous! Very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean, tea, coffee, kettle, bottle opener and wine glasses provided and a fridge. Outside seating provided to take in the view, which surprised us in the morning as we arrived in the dark!
The owners are very friendly and breakfast in the morning was immense, just what we needed after a great wedding. The campsite looked very well kept and as keen campers we will be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaFoster, Owner at Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Regards Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B

Property: Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B
Address: Barden, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Barden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howgill Holidays Caravan Park and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howgill Lodge is the perfect place to relax and unwind, with stunning views over Wharfedale. With individual access to all our rooms you can come and go as you please, or just relax on the patio and soak up the views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing