We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hero”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hero

The Hero
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Hero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Mrs G and I and the family have been to this pub many times over the past 20-25 years. We can remember when it was a bit of a dive and the food wasn't that great but that is now a long distant memory. The Hero nowadays serves some cracking food alongside some great local beers. We've never been here in the evening and typically come for lunch after walking along the coast from Wells Next Sea to stoke up an appetite. The quality of the food is generally good and the portions are good to generous. I personally love the crab sandwiches they serve here. For a good, solid, Norfolk pub experience, The Hero is worth visiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    101
    42
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to go here on a whim as have never tried it before but what a gem. We arrived and found a lovely table in the corner. After looking at the menu we chose mackerel pate and whitebait to start followed by fish pie for myself, steak and kidney pudding for my husband and the burger for my daughter. When the starters and mains arrived they were huge, easily shared. The burger arrived on a wooden board which was a nice touch and had a generous portion of fries. My fish pie was probably the best I have ever had with huge pieces of fish and the right amount of sauce. It was so big I couldn't finish it but my husband did. The only thing that ruined our meal was a couple of rude customers on a different table who clearly thought they were important but that isnt The Hero's fault. We will definitely be back. Fantastic meal x

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Can't go far wrong visiting a pub on a nice sunny day and this fitted the bill well. Ok food, good service. Nothing spectacular but perfectly acceptable for a pub lunch. Very good overall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonfodder_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, reasonable food and warm welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The food was good and the welcome was warm. The Chicken and Peanut Thai Patties I had for a starter was poor and I wouldn't recommend them. However, the Homemade 10oz burger was pretty special.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WHW_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I arrived off the coast hopper bus just outside "The Hero",as I entered I was greeted by happy and lovely staff who quickly got me a drink. The restaurant is a bright and welcoming place. My friends and i sat outside in the court yard and we had some sandwiches which were made on beautiful granery bread.The restaurant was quite busy and the food took a little while to get to us but this was completly understandable. We enjoyed a coffee each and then got the coast hopper back. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddie113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hero also viewed

 
Brancaster Staithe, Norfolk
 

Been to The Hero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing