We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab first visit to Norfolk!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sage Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sage Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sage Cottage
Open plan living
Log burner
Galley kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Upstairs WC
Overy windmill
Sailing at the harbour
The sea wall part of the coastal path
Staithe Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Burnham Overy Staithe, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sealseal7...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab first visit to Norfolk!”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Sage cottage the week after Easter. It's a great location for walking and exploring the north Norfolk coastal. Great place to stay if you have a dog. Accommodation was clean and comfortable for our family of 3 plus a cockapoo. Lovely pub down the road called the Hero too.
The location is right on the coastal bus route as well so great if you want to do a one way walk and get a ride back home.
Angela was really helpful when booking and provided great communication.
We'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sara s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great few days here at Sage Cottage. Perfect for our family of four plus a small dog. The local pub is superb and it's a two minute walk to the water and a beautiful 20 minute walk to the beach. We will be definitely be staying at Sage Cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you Sara, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back. Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minstrels...
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far nicer than it looks in the advertisement”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has a spacious, modern living area with a good TV and a lovely log burner. The kitchen is compact but very well equipped. The spotlessly clean bathroom has a full size shower cubicle with a powerful shower, plenty of thick white towels were supplied. Both bedrooms have comfortable beds with good quality linen and plenty of storage/hanging space. There is also hanging space and room for storage in the entrance hall. It is ideally situated for exploring the area either on foot, or by car and there are interesting places within easy travelling distance.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I rented the cottage for a weekend break with our dog.

The cottage was easy to find, in a hamlet near the harbour. Unfortunately we had not realised that there would not be shops nearby open as we arrived quite late.

The cottage was well laid out and the owners had kindly left us a welcoming gift.

The nearby pub served great food and was very welcoming and very dog friendly.

The cottage was immaculate and felt like a second home rather than a rental house.

We very much look forward to returning.

Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2016
Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
King regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattstag
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage tucked out of the way and near to the pub and harbour front”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is excellent. It is really well set out, comfortable and surprisingly spacious inside. Brilliant location especially as we have a Labrador and the harbour is 2 minutes walk. Also really handy for the hero pub and great walks along the coast to holkam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful but handy location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you, we love our guest enjoying the house and the area, we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C
1 review
“Quiet, comfortable and close to the harbour”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well presented and well equipped, this is a very comfortable cottage with a true homely feel. We loved the airy and light feel to the house and the bed was good. The location was great for access to the harbour and beach but up a quiet lane. It's a pity it is in the middle of a static home site and has no garden but we would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the area and the accommodation so much that you wish to return. The photos show the small quiet private static caravan site situated behind the property and I make it very clear that there is no enclosed garden so I am sorry that this was a surprise to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindsayls...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base for visiting the Burnham's”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lovely Sage Cottage with our young daughter and dog. The location is fantastic with walks along Burnham Overy Staithe right on the door step. The local Hero Pub is within easy walking distance and has been recently refurbished with lovely food and dogs welcome in the bar. As a regular visitor to North Norfolk we had not stayed in this part before and loved it. The house though small is perfectly formed, it's only downside being no real outside space, but this did not distract from our holiday at all as we were constantly out and about. The place was clean and had everything we needed. This part of Norfolk is ideal if you want wide open beautiful dog friendly beaches, upmarket pub's and long walks. Would highly recommend and I'm sure we will be back. Thanks so much for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave and come home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you Lindsay, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back.
Many thanks Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing