We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really,really good”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olive Branch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“really,really good”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed one night en-route to the lakes. Opted for the sleep stay at £60 Excellent large room at the back ("The Serengeti") - the front may have been noisier but its a quiet place at night. Big en-suite. Great little self service breakfast with cereal,toast,biscuits, tea,coffee,water. The previous night we had a very good meal too. Friendly people. Would stay again without question.

They do need to replace the window sealed unit which has misted up and spoils the view!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms.2 facing the road and one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    26
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
24
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We live in Huddersfield but the opposite end if town - we were heading to Titanic Spa a short distance away and wanted an overnight stay nearby rather than going home for our 12th wedding anniversary and celebrating 20 years together. The Olive Branch offered the Simply Sleep deal for £60 which was v reasonable compared to other places we had looked at. We arrived at 9.30pm and had had a courteous email a week before confirming our stay and arrangements for contact should we arrive when the restaurant wasn't open. Overhaul the room was v good - we stayed in the room at the back - Serengeti room - which was furnished beautifully clean and also had a large bathrm. We didn't have a cooked breakfast the following morning as we thought £10 each was a lot to pay on top of the room - no doubt the breakfast would have been good looking at reviews of the food here but we settled for the help yourself continental breakfast available outside the room. Good choice of coffee, cereals, fresh juice and bread left to toast. Nice hand written message left in the morning saying - good morning serengeti! :) We found the room comfirtable in temperature, clean, and spacious. It wasn't particularly noisey from the bar nor from the main road. We would def consider stating over again. Thanks too to the young lady who greeted us and showed us to our room - she was very polite friendly and professional :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lturts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Warm and cosy with excellent food, good service and friendly efficient staff. The early doors menu on Monday to Thursday...three courses with a half bottle of decent wine for £20 per person is a bargain. Dined there for 14 consecutive nights and would do it again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We visit this restaurant on a regular basis as the food is perfectly cooked and staff lovely. It is not cheap pub grub or bog standard meals. If you want a special night out with something a little different then i would highly recommend. They have a web site where you can see a sample of their menus if you are not an adventurous foodie! Cant comment on the rooms as we live in the area and have never stayed overnight.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We recently dined at this beautiful little restaurant, it's very quaint with a warm lovely atmosphere. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. We dined on a special voucher for two at £70, the mussells in garlic and cream were the best I've ever tasted, followed by slow roast pork, my husband was more than pleased with his superbly cooked steak, desserts, what can I say, neither of us have a sweet tooth, however, we were given a platter of six mini (not so mini) desserts, gosh we could belive it when we cleared the platter. I forgot to mention, prior to our starter, we were given delicious home made bread with balsamic and oil, then between our starter and main course, compliments of the chef, lovely cup of soup. All in all one of the best meals we have had in long time, and such value for money, however, looking at the prices I would be more than happy to pay full price as it is so reasonable. I did notice they also do a 'Steak' night and a 'Fish' night so we will be back, thankyou to the staff who made this such a lovely evening out for us. Pam & Derek

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had Christmas Day lunch at the Olive Branch. The meal was absolutely superb and the service second to none. The atmosphere from upon arrival to departing was one of relaxation and the staff were very confident and did not fluster. We go out each Christmas and speak from experience when we say that it was a pleasure to be dining at this establishment. There was nothing we cold fault and when we asked for a "breather" between courses, there was no problem. I could not eat my trio of desserts so I asked to take home one of them. They duly placed my desserts in a container, with our name, and left it in the fridge until we were ready to depart. Again, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 759Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We booked for dinner, on a cold Wednesday night. Received a warm welcome, but were not told until after we ordered that certain items not available or there was only one portion, this is always annoying. The kitchen has a competent team and could not fault the food, though I thought slightly overpriced. It does offer a cheaper small choice menu for early dinners which seems good value. Probably would not visit again unless for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsden
3.0 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
462 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
551 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
544 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch Inn

Property: The Olive Branch Inn
Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing