We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marsden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olive Branch Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Me and my partner wanted to celebrate our anniversary but was stuck for some where new to go. It's only when a colleague at work said "why don't you try the olive branch."
So we made our reservation for 7:30pm.
We thought we would arrive early for some pre drinks in the bar before our meal.
When we arrived all the staff where so welcoming and it had such a great atmosphere. They took our drink order and gave us some menus, once our drinks where finished we had our food order taken and then shown through to our table and given a wine list.

Inside is very quirky, nothing like I had expected. The dining area is well spread out and looks lovely

We ordered a bottle of prosecco and then shortly after our starters came.
This is where I just fell in love with the place, the scallops I had to start with we're the best thing I have ever tasted!!! I made my partner get the king prawns so we could share but honestly I couldn't let him. All the other tables seemed to get bread to dip in their scallops sauce but I didn't so I don't know if I was meant to order some.

For mains I had roast pork with mushroom sauce and mustard mash (minus the mushrooms as they kindly said they would do it without for me)

My partner had steak with the brandy sauce, mushroom and garlic sauce.

We shared a warm chocolate and pistachio Torte for dessert.

We went to sit back in the bar area and had a baileys whilst waiting for our taxi.

The food is just superb here we loved everything about The Olive Branch and I have already recommended it to my family.

Thank you Olive Branch for making our anniversary such a nice night :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for The Olive Branch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the type of place you want to keep a secret, it's excellent. I booked a DBB package on a Saturday night as a surprise for my wife's birthday and out wedding anniversary. The room [Serengeti] was very nice, comfortable, clean and well equipped. We enjoyed an afternoon stroll down to Marsden along the canal and a pint of local brew [v. good] in the Riverhead before returning to the Olive branch for our evening meal. The food, along with the excellent, attentive and friendly staff, has got to be the star attraction to the Inn. The variety of choice, quality of ingredients, and preparation are outstanding. We really enjoyed meals which we have never tried before and were greatly impressed. We followed this up with Sunday lunch for all our family [6 adults and 4 children 5 - 10 years] Again the food and service were excellent, and very reasonable. A lovely stay and greatly appreciated by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadygich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Had chateau Briand cooked perfectly has lovely atmosphere staff friendly always smiling only thing they need to sort is pot holes in car park but doesn't put us off !Girl in charge is brilliant doesn't always go perfect but she is great at sorting the situation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AJCAccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked an overnight stay to do some walking in the area, which turned out to be spectacular, and we cannot praise the Olive Branch enough. From the moment we arrived until we left our stay was perfect. We booked the bed, breakfast and evening meal package and both dining experiences were exceptional. Every member of staff was friendly whilst maintaining utmost professionalism. We will recommend and return, well done Paul and your team.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollyG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and wife stayed on a late room deal : The room was clean , decent size and had a very comfortable bed , quite at night, plent of tea , coffee if needed .

The resturant is without doubt, excellent : the serving staff do a fantastic job very efficient without being over the top .
This was matched by a kitchen that produced a wonderful taste experience : food expertly cooked,
well presented and piping hot .
Paul himself did the breakfast again , great !
We recommend that you give a try
you will not be disappointed if judged by our stay . We will return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samelainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious and the staff are always smiling!
Everything about the Olive Branch is how food should be, yes a little more expensive but well worth it!
Booking online saved us 15% which is helpful and the new Sunday lunched fixed priced menu is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicNic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The Olive Branch experience was positive from our initial enquiry to the end of our break.
Paul and his team were efficient and friendly and every little thing was attended to. Nothing to much trouble.
Nice rooms, excellent food too.
Wish more placeds were like this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsden
3.0 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
561 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch Inn

Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marsden
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Olive Branch Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing