We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD BREAKFAST MAY NEED EAR PLUGS!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Marsden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GOOD BREAKFAST MAY NEED EAR PLUGS!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped for one night. Room was average, had a good power shower and bed was comfortable. Was very hot so had to have window open and as we were on the main road it was VERY noisy. Not sure if it was locals or ale trail people but lots of screaming, shouting and swearing in the early hours of the morning. Would recommend ear plugs if you are in a room facing the front. Smelt a bit musty in corridor, a bit unpleasant. Staff were friendly though and breakfast was very good, lots of good quality produce and a good vegetarian option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    38
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
42
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

lovely inn warm and welcoming, staff friendly and efficient, home comforts,rooms large and well equipped for a comfortable stay.

Dave does a wonderful hearty breakfast to set you up for the day using locally sourced tasty produce

Meals in the restaurant are good value, tasty and plentiful

Room Tip: We had a lovely room at the front, very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Enjoyed watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielhodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed at the New Inn in Marsden for 1 night. Very nice staff, friendly and very helpful.
The room was very nice and clean. I had a excellent meal in the evening and a very nice breakfast.
I'll most definitely come back!
Marsden is located in a very beautiful area of the Pennines

Tomas in Sweden

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Been here on more than one occasion and can't fault anything really. The menu is not overbearing with just the right amount of choices. The food is simplistic, fresh and full of flavour. The Sunday lunch is especially good. Great service,superb value and a cracking chef.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Recently under new ownership the New Inn are getting everything right! Lovely (frequently refreshed) menu with something to suit all tastes. Since the New Inn has been taken over I have been in three times and each time the food, drinks and service have been fantastic. Keep up the good work all!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodsky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have now eaten in the New Inn 3 times since it was taken over by the current owners, and each time I have been impressed. The first time I ate there was for a night out with some of my friends, I had the burger with Parma ham and it was so delicious. Wine flowed and we had a great night. I have also eaten Sunday lunch there with my family, it was lovely and the kids menu was perfect for my two young kids. We have also tried the New Inn for their Sunday brunch, and it was such good value. Full English breakfast cooked to perfection, toast, juice and unlimited tea/coffee, all lovely. Free wifi too, bonus! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfeild
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Under new management & better for it. The menu's simpler, the food's fresher, the experience cosier...especially when the fire's going. Well done the new New Inn! Tripadvisor's telling me I have to write 200 characters but I've said all I need to say!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jade b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsden
3.5 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.5 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
6.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Manchester Road, Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Marsden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marsden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsden became famous for its growing textile trade, resulting in the development of dwelling houses for workers and the social scene of public houses, established in 1787, The New Inn orginally offered stabling for 24 horse, accomodation and refreshments, upto to 10 coaches a day were welcomed summer and winter alike. Today most customers arrive by a different form of horsepower but we gaurantee you'll recieve the same warm welcome. In the winter the log fire will be lit by the bar, and in the summer we offer outside dining in what will be our brand new beer garden around the back away from the main road.We serve a range of cask ales, and real home cooked food. We're open all day everyday, Monday to Friday we serve food 12 - 2.30pm and 5 - 9pm, Saturday, Sunday and Bank holidays we serve food all day.Why not make a night of it and stay in one of our beautifully renovated bedrooms? Some are extra special with four-poster beds and whirlpool baths. All are fully ensuite with bath, shower & luxury toiletries and digital TV with Freeview channels.Families, walkers, cyclists and dogs are always very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Inn Marsden, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing