We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb is not descriptive enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If you are looking for a guest house in the Skipton area and are reading this review, stop right now and book it !! What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are first class, the owners so very friendly and rightly proud of what they have achieved. The breakfasts are to die for, especially Steves porridge..every review has the same theme, absolutely top quality accommodation. A beautiful house in a lovely village location. Thank you so very much for making one night seem so wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uldale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Poppy Cottage, Sally and Steve are great hosts and make you feel very welcome, Poppy Cottage is very clean and Steve makes the best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B we only needed a cup of tea and a scone till dinner! It really set us up for the day.We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovehorses692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had an absolutely lovely night away at Poppy Cottage. We originally just needed somewhere to stay as we were going on a boat trip early the next day but now we've found Poppy Cottage we want to stay again for longer! It's a fantastic B&B. I've always thought staying in a B&B would feel like staying in a room in someone's house but the bedrooms are all separate from the main property. There are 3 delightful rooms, all en suite. The room we had had the most beautiful view and I was quite happy to sit in the peace and quiet and watch the pigs and sheep from the window! Although the B&B isn't in Skipton itself, it's only a short drive away. There is a great pub in the village and another called the Bull a few moments drive.
I think the breakfasts are incredible. Such a great choice and so well cooked. The owners are genuinely lovely people who are really helpful but also give you your own space. The guests lounge and decked area are great additions. My boyfriend and I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleJessyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobless, Owner at Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thankyou so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Poppy Cottage. We are always pleased to know that our guests have enjoyed there stay and that they loved the cottage. Thanks again, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had been invited to a wedding in Helmsley and as we really enjoyed staying at Poppy Cottage last year booked a couple of nights on route, only sorry it was not longer. Steve and Sally made us very welcome pot of tea and biscuits on arrival. This time we were in the Sunflower room which was lovely, beautifully clean with a generous hospitality tray, the bathroom was well fitted out with a very easy to use shower and snowy white bathrobes. Our bedroom window overlooked the back garden we woke to see chickens and pigs then in the field beyond sheep and cows. Steve's "Yorkshire" breakfast set us up for the day it was really delicious and we were spoilt for choice. Guests are able to use the fridge in the dining room to chill any drinks, tea and coffee is available with fresh milk and glasses and mugs are provided on the dresser.

Steve and Sally have created a nice relaxed atmosphere at Poppy Cottage, they are both warm and helpful and work hard to ensure their guests feel really comfortable - we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chestertravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at Poppy Cottage from Sunday, 31st July to Wednesday, 2nd August and had 3 relaxing days. Sally and Steve are wonderful hosts and always prepared to `go the extra mile'. They have renovated the cottage with such style - it really is a wonderful place to stay.

The Sunflower room was beautiful and spacious with excellent en suite facilities. It overlooked the garden area which was a bonus!

The area has a lot to offer and the cottage is also within a pleasant walking distance to Skipton with its variety of shops and twice weekly markets.

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we certainly made good use of the guest lounge and garden area.

I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebaird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobless, Manager at Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated - thankyou for taking the time . Regards Sally & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

As soon as we arrived we felt totally at ease and enjoyed their Yorkshire hospitality. We had a great short stay here with our 1yr old (who really enjoyed seeing their chickens) and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The breakfasts here are amazing & set you up well for exploring what the dales have to offer. We definitly hope to return here & revisit this beautiful part of the world made all the more special because of our stay at Poppy Cottage.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobless, Manager at Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Thankyou for your lovely review and so glad you all enjoyed your trip to the Yorkshire Dales. It is a lovely part of the world and it always makes me feel so proud of our town and village when guests go away with such happy memories. Look forward to seeing you all again. Regards Sally & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Wow this place is amazing. We stayed with another couple who'd been twice before (says it all really) and everything they told us about it was true. We stayed in the Poppy room which was massive. All the fixtures and fittings are to a high standard. The tea and coffee facilities were superb - you must have the hot chocolate - and with biscuits and a chocolate supplied everyday what more could you want?! It's a nice touch having a seperate living room and garden area for the guests, and a visit to the pigs and chickens is a must! As for the breakfasts - the only problem is you have to stay at least 3 nights to try all the breakfast variations; the cooked breakfast, the pancakes and the croissants are all fantastic and makes going back to cereal in the mornings hard! This B&B is in a perfect location for visiting loads of places, including Skipton where there's lots to do. Also try the pub in the village, it has great food.
We certainly will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bognorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,205 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
846 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
688 reviews
2.1 mi away
St John's House B&B
St John's House B&B
#1 of 4 in Cononley
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2

Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range: £53 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottage No. 1 and Poppy Cottage No. 2 are luxury self-catering holiday cottages set in a quiet little village just 2 miles from Skipton - Gateway to the Yorkshire Dales. Poppy Cottage No. 1 sleeps 2 and has the fabulous outdoor hot-tub. The cottage has a wood burning stove, stylish living/dining/kitchen with open wooden stairs to 1st floor. One large bedroom with kingsize bed and stunning views. Large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Private parking. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 3 people with a large double bedroom and single bedroom. A large lounge area with sofa bed (for 2 extra occupants extra charges of £10pppn apply). Two bathrooms/shower rooms, one on the ground floor. They have both undergone full refurbishments throughout 2016/17 and offer luxurious accommodation on weekly or short stays. Both have welcome packs of fresh milk, tea, coffee, sugar, biscuits, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Beautiful gardens. Free parking & wifi. TV with freeview. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 Skipton/Carleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing