We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect poppy cottage!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect poppy cottage!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the lovely poppy cottage. In our opinion it is perfect from in everyway, the cottage is beautiful and full of charm and located in a quaint village a few miles from skipton. The owners sally and steve are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts.....are.....amazing espes the bacon! We stayed in the primrose room which has a nice big corner bath, great to warm the bones after a long days walking. I have struggled with beds being too soft in lots of places we have stayed at before as a have a bad back but I slept like a log!!
We felt so comfortable and cosy we didn't want to leave and we would highly recommend perfectly pretty poppy cottage!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogiandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
150
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

one word ... Awesome.
Just book it before it fills up :-)

Superb, cottage feel with real fire in the lounge and tastefully decorated spotless rooms. We've been back six times for short breaks and the friendly hosts try hard to ensure everything is just right every time.

Poppy Cottage is in Carleton which is a couple of miles out of Skipton. Parking spaces are off the road and a bus takes a few minutes into town or walk if you are feeling more energetic.

The village pub is just 400 yds up the road, recently refurbished and does great evening meals.

This is our bolt hole and never fails to raise our spirits.
Breakfast is a high spot actually five stars for breakfast it's great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prptechguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A very warm welcome, clean, comfortable rooms with lovely views over the garden and fields and an exceptional breakfast really sums up Poppy Cottage to a tee. It is set in a pretty village with a very good pub for an evening meal and an ideal base for exploring. If you are planning to go to Skipton and the surrounding areas you would be foolish not to book this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but we had the Sunflower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Whilst only staying for one night the welcome we received could not be bettered. From Steve and Sally's welcome to the excellent facilities our visit was perfect. We could have made a drink in our room but Sally offered us some drinks in the guest lounge (warming log burner) to refresh us after our journey.
After a bath or shower check out the fluffy white bath robes whilst watching tv or a dvd (quite a selection to choose from).
Following a very restful nights sleep check out the breakfast, as much or as little as you want, eggs from their chickens, sausages/ bacon/ black pudding from their pigs it could not get any better.
All in all to sum up - BRILLIANT!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If you are looking for a guest house in the Skipton area and are reading this review, stop right now and book it !! What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are first class, the owners so very friendly and rightly proud of what they have achieved. The breakfasts are to die for, especially Steves porridge..every review has the same theme, absolutely top quality accommodation. A beautiful house in a lovely village location. Thank you so very much for making one night seem so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uldale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Poppy Cottage, Sally and Steve are great hosts and make you feel very welcome, Poppy Cottage is very clean and Steve makes the best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B we only needed a cup of tea and a scone till dinner! It really set us up for the day.We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehorses692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had an absolutely lovely night away at Poppy Cottage. We originally just needed somewhere to stay as we were going on a boat trip early the next day but now we've found Poppy Cottage we want to stay again for longer! It's a fantastic B&B. I've always thought staying in a B&B would feel like staying in a room in someone's house but the bedrooms are all separate from the main property. There are 3 delightful rooms, all en suite. The room we had had the most beautiful view and I was quite happy to sit in the peace and quiet and watch the pigs and sheep from the window! Although the B&B isn't in Skipton itself, it's only a short drive away. There is a great pub in the village and another called the Bull a few moments drive.
I think the breakfasts are incredible. Such a great choice and so well cooked. The owners are genuinely lovely people who are really helpful but also give you your own space. The guests lounge and decked area are great additions. My boyfriend and I can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJessyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobless, Owner at Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thankyou so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Poppy Cottage. We are always pleased to know that our guests have enjoyed there stay and that they loved the cottage. Thanks again, Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2

Property: Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2
Address: Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottages are two self-catering holiday cottages which can be booked individually for short breaks of 3 or 4 nights, midweek and weekend stays. Book - Poppy Cottage No. 1 which sleeps 2 with fabulous hot-tub in a private south facing patio with views of the hills and countryside. The cottage has a wood burning stove, open living/dining/kitchen. open wooden stairs to 2nd floor with one bedroom and stylish bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Parking for one car. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 3 people with 2 bedrooms, one large double room with twin beds or arranged as a superking and one single room with single bed, large lounge area with sofa bed for 2 extra, 2 bathrooms/shower rooms one on the ground floor, newly fitted kitchen and dining area. To the first floor, there is a 2nd bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash basin and the two bedrooms across the landing. Outside there is a lovely gravelled seating area to the front of the cottage, private parking for 2 cars at the rear in the courtyard. Both cottages will have welcome packs of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Laundry service available. Free wifi and freeview channels. The cottages adjoin our home (Ivy Cottage Farm) which is a traditional 'Dales Longhouse' and dates back to the late 18th Century. Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 are following on from 'Poppy Cottage Guest House' which we ran for 7 years from 2009 and gained an 'Excellent' reputation on Tripadvisor. We are only next door and will assist with any day to day queries you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 Skipton/Carleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing