We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poppy cottage - practically perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppy Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poppy cottage - practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Poppy cottage guest house, we stayed for 2 nights (in December) and I have to say that it is quite simply the best guest house we have ever stayed at. Everything from the welcome when we arrived to the decor & cleanliness of the place is first class. The general friendliness of Sally & Steve is lovely and they really do make you feel very welcome. The breakfast is well documented in the reviews on this site and was every bit as good as the reviews suggested.
Cant wait to go back again and we hope its soon.

Room Tip: The Primrose room has a bath which is handy for a soak after a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My hubby and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the lovely poppy cottage. In our opinion it is perfect from in everyway, the cottage is beautiful and full of charm and located in a quaint village a few miles from skipton. The owners sally and steve are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts.....are.....amazing espes the bacon! We stayed in the primrose room which has a nice big corner bath, great to warm the bones after a long days walking. I have struggled with beds being too soft in lots of places we have stayed at before as a have a bad back but I slept like a log!!
We felt so comfortable and cosy we didn't want to leave and we would highly recommend perfectly pretty poppy cottage!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogiandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

one word ... Awesome.
Just book it before it fills up :-)

Superb, cottage feel with real fire in the lounge and tastefully decorated spotless rooms. We've been back six times for short breaks and the friendly hosts try hard to ensure everything is just right every time.

Poppy Cottage is in Carleton which is a couple of miles out of Skipton. Parking spaces are off the road and a bus takes a few minutes into town or walk if you are feeling more energetic.

The village pub is just 400 yds up the road, recently refurbished and does great evening meals.

This is our bolt hole and never fails to raise our spirits.
Breakfast is a high spot actually five stars for breakfast it's great.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prptechguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A very warm welcome, clean, comfortable rooms with lovely views over the garden and fields and an exceptional breakfast really sums up Poppy Cottage to a tee. It is set in a pretty village with a very good pub for an evening meal and an ideal base for exploring. If you are planning to go to Skipton and the surrounding areas you would be foolish not to book this delightful B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but we had the Sunflower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Whilst only staying for one night the welcome we received could not be bettered. From Steve and Sally's welcome to the excellent facilities our visit was perfect. We could have made a drink in our room but Sally offered us some drinks in the guest lounge (warming log burner) to refresh us after our journey.
After a bath or shower check out the fluffy white bath robes whilst watching tv or a dvd (quite a selection to choose from).
Following a very restful nights sleep check out the breakfast, as much or as little as you want, eggs from their chickens, sausages/ bacon/ black pudding from their pigs it could not get any better.
All in all to sum up - BRILLIANT!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

If you are looking for a guest house in the Skipton area and are reading this review, stop right now and book it !! What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are first class, the owners so very friendly and rightly proud of what they have achieved. The breakfasts are to die for, especially Steves porridge..every review has the same theme, absolutely top quality accommodation. A beautiful house in a lovely village location. Thank you so very much for making one night seem so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uldale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Poppy Cottage, Sally and Steve are great hosts and make you feel very welcome, Poppy Cottage is very clean and Steve makes the best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B we only needed a cup of tea and a scone till dinner! It really set us up for the day.We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehorses692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages

Property: Poppy Cottages
Address: Poppy Cottage Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottages are self-catering cottages which can be booked for short breaks of 3 or 4 nights, or for full week stays. Set in the peaceful village of Carleton-in-Craven just 2 miles from the bustling market town of Skipton. Tastefully refurbished throughout in 2016/17. Poppy Cottage No. 1 - Sleeps 2 - fabulous hot-tub in private gardens, wood burning stove, open living/dining/kitchen. open stairs to 2nd floor with one bedroom and stylish bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Parking for one car. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 2-5 people with 2 bedrooms, (one double/twin room and one single room) large lounge area with sofa bed for use when groups of 5 are booked), ground floor shower room, toilet and wash basin, newly fitted kitchen and dining area. To the first floor, there is a 2nd bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash basin and the two bedrooms across the landing. Outside there is a lovely gravelled seating area to the front of the cottage, private parking for 2 cars at the rear in the courtyard. Both cottages will have welcome packs of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Laundry service available. Free wifi and freeview channels. The cottages adjoin our home (Ivy Cottage Farm) which is a traditional 'Dales Longhouse' and dates back to the late 18th Century. Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 are following on from 'Poppy Cottage Guest House' which we ran for 7 years from 2009 and gained an 'Excellent' reputation on Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poppy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Cottages Skipton/Carleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing