We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppy Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalesgate Hotel(Keighley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
221
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
221
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful cottagepoppy cottageyorkshire dalesfresh milkskipton areathought of everythingstayed longerswan innsteveguestshosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at Poppy Cottage Guest House for two nights at the end of January. The standard of the fixtures and fittings is high and the interior design is tasteful and accentuates the careful restoration of the property that Steve and Sally have carried out.
What really sets this Guest House apart is the outstanding welcome and care that Steve and Sally provide.
I was staying due to a business commitment locally and needed to be leaving at 0715 each day. This caused no stress and a wonderful breakfast with home produced eggs, bacon and sausage arrived at 07.00 as promised. In addition a couple of items that I had been daft enough to leave behind arrived at home the day after I left - carefully wrapped as well. Can't praise it enough.
No doubt that I will return as a tourist next time

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank RandwickBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The trouble with Poppy Cottage is that once you have stayed here the rest just don't come up to their standard! This is how a guest house should be. Spotlessly clean, well furnished, beautifully decorated and perfect hosts. Breakfast is delicious. Sally and Steve are great, friendly and helpful. They certainly know how to run a good house! See you both soon.

Room Tip: Every room is brilliant.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DottieOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSally, Owner at Poppy Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here again and it is always such a boost to know that you have had an excellent stay. Thankyou again, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Poppy Cottage is, without doubt, the best B&B we have stayed at! Beautifully renovated Yokrshire Longhouse with (I think) 4 bedrooms. Our room and bathroom were spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly cleaned. Breakfast, in the old farmhouse kitchen was terrific with plenty of choice - have the eggs (fresh from the "girls" on the farm) - best eggs I've ever tasted. Breakfast comes with a visit from Bobby - the obviously well fed and very obedient dog! Sally and Steve are wonderful hosts and we couldn't have asked for more during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaveStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSally, Owner at Poppy Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay here. We really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thankyou - Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family in the village. Had a perfect stay. Steve and Sally are friendly and welcoming, the room was lovely, spacious and had everything we needed including an extremely comfortable bed, the cottage is very pretty and cosy, and the breakfast was delicious (with lots of choice). We would definitely recommend Poppy cottage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Here again on my own this time visiting friends in the village. The room was immaculate with everything one could possibly require and the breakfasts were delicious with sausages from Steve and Sally's own pigs and the most yellow yolked eggs I have ever eaten. It's a wonderful base from which to explore the beautiful area which surrounds it and Carleton is a fascinating village.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews