We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppy Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This is the best Bed and Breakfast I have stayed in. The accommodation is beautifully presented both interior and exterior and has been finished to a very high standard. The hosts Sally and Steve are very friendly and could not be more helpful, We were up very early one morning but Steve was more than happy to get up and cook our breakfast which of course was excellent. If you are going to stay in the Skipton area look no further and book here you won't be disappointed. Look forward to staying next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Steve and Sally and their son Ben were the perfect hosts.
They are a natually friendly couple who made my wife and I, along with our 7 year old boy and 1 year old tiwns, very very welcome.
The en-suite room was newly decorated with first class furnishings and was a pleasure to stay in. Along with a few welcome games, DVDs and toys which were left out for our children, the garden was supberb and kept our 7 year old happy.
The beakfast room is again very well presented, the food was great and again Steve, Sally and Ben looked after us very well.

We're more than happy to recommend this beautiful, relaxing gem of a B&B and once our kids have grown up a bit more we're planning on staying again.

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants UK
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We travelled around parts of Yorkshire for a week staying in various B&B's which were all average and on arrival in Skipton were lucky to find this gem in the Dales. We could not fault a thing, Sally and Steve were very welcoming from the moment we arrived, our room was beautiful and breakfast was wonderful. The separate entrance and loung/patio were delighful. Everything is brand new and very tastefully decorated and furnished. and what a lovely family. Would have no hesitation returning one day to this beautiful cottage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here for two nights in Aug 2009. Everything was perfect; Hosts were very kind and welcoming; breakfast was very good and the accommodation very comfortable with separate sitting room/patio for guests. Great place to stay, run by a lovely family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc63Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages

Property: Poppy Cottages
Address: Poppy Cottage Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottages are self-catering cottages which can be booked for short breaks of 3 or 4 nights, or for full week stays. Set in the peaceful village of Carleton-in-Craven just 2 miles from the bustling market town of Skipton. Tastefully refurbished throughout in 2016/17. Poppy Cottage No. 1 - Sleeps 2 - fabulous hot-tub in private gardens, wood burning stove, open living/dining/kitchen. open stairs to 2nd floor with one bedroom and stylish bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Parking for one car. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 2-5 people with 2 bedrooms, (one double/twin room and one single room) large lounge area with sofa bed for use when groups of 5 are booked), ground floor shower room, toilet and wash basin, newly fitted kitchen and dining area. To the first floor, there is a 2nd bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash basin and the two bedrooms across the landing. Outside there is a lovely gravelled seating area to the front of the cottage, private parking for 2 cars at the rear in the courtyard. Both cottages will have welcome packs of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Laundry service available. Free wifi and freeview channels. The cottages adjoin our home (Ivy Cottage Farm) which is a traditional 'Dales Longhouse' and dates back to the late 18th Century. Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 are following on from 'Poppy Cottage Guest House' which we ran for 7 years from 2009 and gained an 'Excellent' reputation on Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poppy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Cottages Skipton/Carleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing