We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B & B In The U.K.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poppy Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poppy Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Carleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best B & B In The U.K.”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Poppy's Cottage last September, we are ex pats from Yorkshire living in Australia and Carleton was my husbands home town, we saw Poppy's Cottage while in the area the previous year and vowed to give it a go on our very next visit.
Myoh my what a delight, what a treat, we have stayed at dozens of B & B's over the years whilste in the U.K. but Poppy's cottage comes out out number one, the service was amazing, food wonderful, especialy the local sausages! and oh that rarest of things in an English B & B a really comfy bed! also a beautiful and functional en-suite with bags of hot water
Congratulations Steve and Sally for the unstinting service you give to your guests, as B & B owners ourselves we cannot fault your your beautiful accommodation and we recommend it to all friends and rellies heading to the U.K.

We look forward to our next stay. Jenny & Philip The Grange B & B ,Denmark W.A.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee-denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I stayed at the guest house for one night on the 8th of January 2011 in the primrose suite. Before entering on the day I made a phone call to see if I could leave my luggage at 9am as myself and girlfriend were exploring the town and did not want to leave our luggage in the car. They could not have been more helpful, allowing us to leave our luggage and moving it into our room before we got back.
The room itself was spacious with a huge bed, it was a cast iron king size which easily would have fit a third person in!!! It consisted of modern decor with a nice bay view window giving a great view of the surroundings. The was Sky TV in the room and a nice large corner bath.
Breakfast is usually served between 8 - 930 although they are flexible and let us have breakfast at 10am which was greatly appreciated. They asked us to fill in a selection sheet of what we wanted in the breakfast. The choice was extensive to say the least. A selection of fruits and breakfast cereals. Then the usual sausage, bacon, egg, black pudding, fried bread, beans, tomatoes etc. This is all locally sourced as they have their own pigs, chickens etc.
Overall this was exactly what I wanted for our trip a nice "hidden gem" in a very quiet tranquil location. Not for the party-goers but definitely if you are thinking of visiting Skipton or Harrogate.
Thanks to Steve and Sally for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazRosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We cannot recommend Poppy Cottage highly enough. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much effort for Steve and Sally. On the weekend we stayed it had been snowing heavily and was very cold outside, but inside it was warm and cosy. On the first night we stayed in for our dinner and Sally cooked a superb meal. The sticky toffee pudding was one of the best we've ever had! A breakfast menu is provided so you can specify exactly how you want your breakfast, with a wide selection of options. Next morning the breakfast was huge, cooked perfectly and very tasty - we almost had to skip lunch! We were given advice on where we could go walking and offered maps and books to take with us. Sally also suggested a local restaurant for our evening meal which turned out to be very good indeed.
On our departure day we planned to walk into Skipton for the Christmas Market so we asked if we could leave our car with them for the day. This was no problem, Steve even offered to pick us up and bring us back if we didn't want to walk back.
Overall, a really great place to stay, Steve and Sally were superb hosts, making us feel very welcome and ensuring we had a very relaxing time. We've already planned our next visit!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTBDean0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I booked this place because it had the best reviews of any B&B in Skipton (despite being No5 - I dont understand tripadvisor sometimes...) when we arrived we were welcomed by name and shown to our room before being served tea and biscuits in the guest lounge, complete with cosy sofas and log fire. Our hosts were very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of choice and quality ingredients. Definitely the most welcoming and comfortable B&B we stayed in on our travels - would definitely stay here again if we ever come to yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed at Poppy Cottage for a long weekend when we were up for a friend's wedding. The whole place is just fantastic. Steve & Sally (& Ben!) are just the most lovely people and literally nothing was too much trouble. You can order a huge range of breakfast options the evening before and it tastes amazing... bacon from their own pigs! They have wine and local beer available and will even cook you an evening meal on request.. we didn't do this but wish we had when we smelt the other's guest dinner! There is a gorgeous sitting room with a wood burning stove which is perfect for a chilly November day. We had a lovely bedroom where we enjoyed a DVD from their collection and a wonderful en-suite. They have wireless and even have a laptop for guests to borrow if they need one. The only thing that I can think of to improve the place would be the option of ordering newspapers for breakfast... and that is only because the atmosphere is so lovely that you want to just sit around and relax for hours in Poppy Cottage. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Put simply Poppy Cottage is superb, the delightful, sparkling rooms, the facilities, the food and above all the hosts Steve and Sally are outstanding. The location is excellent and nothing appears to be too much trouble from booking restaurant tables to fixing our car! If you are going to this area of Yorkshire there is nowhere better to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Steve and Sally were perfect hosts from the moment we arrived to the moment we left....in fact, even after we left! I left something behind, and it was posted to me first class, arriving with me the next day, which sums up their caring attitude.
Our room was large and comfortable.
We were able to catch the local bus to Skipton, a lovely town, and the journey only took ten minutes. Grassington was another lovely place to visit.
We decided to eat in on both evenings of our stay. The food and wine were delicious, and then we curled up in the cosy lounge with log burner. Heaven!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy Cottages

Property: Poppy Cottages
Address: Poppy Cottage Main Street, Carleton, Skipton BD23 3BY, England (Formerly Poppy Cottage Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Carleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poppy Cottages are self-catering cottages which can be booked for short breaks of 3 or 4 nights, or for full week stays. Set in the peaceful village of Carleton-in-Craven just 2 miles from the bustling market town of Skipton. Tastefully refurbished throughout in 2016/17. Poppy Cottage No. 1 - Sleeps 2 - fabulous hot-tub in private gardens, wood burning stove, open living/dining/kitchen. open stairs to 2nd floor with one bedroom and stylish bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Parking for one car. Poppy Cottage No. 2 - Sleeps 2-5 people with 2 bedrooms, (one double/twin room and one single room) large lounge area with sofa bed for use when groups of 5 are booked), ground floor shower room, toilet and wash basin, newly fitted kitchen and dining area. To the first floor, there is a 2nd bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, toilet and wash basin and the two bedrooms across the landing. Outside there is a lovely gravelled seating area to the front of the cottage, private parking for 2 cars at the rear in the courtyard. Both cottages will have welcome packs of milk, tea, coffee, sugar, a selection of breakfast cereals and logs for your fire. Laundry service available. Free wifi and freeview channels. The cottages adjoin our home (Ivy Cottage Farm) which is a traditional 'Dales Longhouse' and dates back to the late 18th Century. Poppy Cottages No. 1 & 2 are following on from 'Poppy Cottage Guest House' which we ran for 7 years from 2009 and gained an 'Excellent' reputation on Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Poppy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy Cottages Skipton/Carleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing