We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swan Inn”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Carleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Swan Inn at Carleton is a traditional English village pub situated in the Aire Valley, close to the market town of Skipton, North Yorkshire. The Swan Inn offers cask conditioned beers, ciders and lagers and an excellent selection of fine wines. Using locally sourced produce, The Swan Inn serves freshly prepared delicious home cooked meals, available to eat in the pub, restaurant or take-away. From a pint to a cocktail, from a sandwich to a business lunch, whether you're having a snack at lunchtime or coming in for a drink with friends in the evening, you'll be assured a warm welcome everytime. Well behaved children accompanied by an adult are welcome at The Swan Inn until 8pm and free WiFi is avaliable. Experience the welcoming atmosphere, with open fires and friendly staff.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swan Inn”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A friendly village inn serving very good food at reasonable prices combined with a comfortable ambience & a welcoming feel from all the staff.

Visited April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. If ever you are passing through again we would look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Paul.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cononley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quality food and great value”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited on a Sunday lunchtime and were impressed with the ambience, decor, attentive staff, food (especially the food), and reasonable prices. Everything really. Well done and keep it up.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Pub Good Food”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Friendly staff and first rate food in a good village pub
Dissapointed it was Bingo night not quiz night

Visited February 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great pub food; unlucky timing”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I were staying in Carleton and had seen the great reviews here on Trip Advisor. We booked for the Saturday night and were told there was a 21st party on but that it would be in the 'other' part of the pub. When we arrived, the 21st was taking place in the dining section as well so there was endless 'Agadoo'(spelling?!) from the DJ which wasn't quite the chilled ambience we were hoping for.
I've got to say that the staff were lovely; really polite and friendly. I enjoyed a gorgeous Brie starter (huge portion!) and my husband said his tomato soup was delicious too. We both opted for lasagne and were pleased that it came with salad, chips AND garlic bread. We were, however, way too full to finish and sadly had to leave quite a bit.
We were staggered that 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 drinks came to only £34. Superb value just a pity that we couldn't enjoy a long. leisurely meal and drinks as the disco was really ramping up. I think, to be fair, that it was a party for one of the members of staff and was, in all likelihood, a one off.

The only other thing that stops this from being 5 stars was the hostile, angry locals on the next table. I kept getting unwarranted 'evils' from a couple of 20-something girls who, along with their partners were moaning and complaining about their food. Still, you can't blame a pub for the oddness of their clientele!
We would visit again.

Visited February 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This has to be one of the best pubs we have ever eaten in. We were here at Easter and looked forward to coming back. This visit was just as good as the first. Great food, not your average pub grub, but freshly cooked good food. Huge portions (you have been warned!!!). The staff were all warm and welcoming, didn't matter that we weren't "local" - they were lovely. But it is worth noting that Carleton is a very friendly village, so why would the pub be any different?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing