We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation in Italy.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghivizzano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ghivizzano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best vacation in Italy.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is our third visit to Italy and our second to Case La Pace. This time we took some friends with us to experience this wonderful B & B. This time we spent 12 days at Casa La Pace. It is hard to put into words the type of vacation we had. Rusty and Pepper are the best hosts you can ask for. They make you feel at home. The B & B is in a beautiful village. The hospitality shown by Rusty and Pepper is indescribable. The views from the room and the breakfast in the mornings were the best. We went on day trips to Florence and Lucca, but looked forward to returning to Casa La Pace to relax and take in the scenery. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the B & B. While walking to and from the train and our walk into town to get our nightly gelatos, you experienced the real Italy. Our tours with Rusty through Lucca and Florence were unforgettable. Before we left the B & B, we made reservations to return in a couple of months. We are couning the months, days and minutes until we return. Thank you Rusty and Pepper for this wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear opatt, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your comprehensive review. We love to meet new people and introduce them to Casa La Pace. But the guests who return are the 'seal of approval' that we've done our job well.

You're like old friends and we were happy to see you again. And your travelling companions were just as friendly and easy-going as you and your husband.

We were thrilled to take you all on guided tours of Lucca and Firenze. . Lucca is a 'hidden jewel' and Firenze is infinitely interesting and beautiful. To share them with travelers as inquisitive and enthusiastic as you makes the day much more enjoyable.

Our time together flew by and your departure came too quickly. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Your hosts – Rusty and Peppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
67
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed four nights at Casa La Pace. Rusty's and Pepper's B & B professionalism along with their Southern Hospitality made for an unforgettable experience. Ghivizzano is remote enough to encounter Italy's "slow travel", but yet close enough to enjoy Florence, Lucca and the Cinque Terre. We enoyed experiencing Rusty and Pepper's favorite restaurants and the tours of Lucca and Florence ( which- Rusty's knowledge of history and his love for Italy- definitely shines on these personal tours). Thanks to Rusty and Pepper's recommendation, arrangements and escort we were able to enjoy a local Spa day on a rainy day.
I could go on and on..... by far our days at Casa La Pace were our favorite of the nine days we spent in Italy. We were sad to leave but our looking forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRgogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear LRgogirl, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your kind review.

We love to share with our guests the best of Tuscany, but especially the gorgeous Serchio Valley. There is so much to do nearby, even on a rainy day as you noted. From the thermal baths at Bagni di Lucca, to exploring the villages that are scattered up and down the valley, our guests never complain of boredom.

We are glad that you appreciated our guided tours as well. Lucca and Firenze are day trips from Casa La Pace and we thoroughly enjoy walking through the Medieval streets with our guests

We had a great time with you and your daughter. You seem like old friends already and we look forward to your next visit to Casa La Pace.

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Casa La Pace was all and more. It is a beautiful Inn situated in an idyllic area of Ghivizanno with views of a castle tower not far away. My husband and I were so impressed by the hospitality displayed to us by Pepper and Rusty. We felt like family and cannot thank you enough for the experience of a lifetime.
We are planning a return visit soon, and have told all of our friends it is something they cannot afford to miss!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Lourdes B, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa La Pace with others. We are truly honored to learn that a guest has heard of us from friends and family.

We enjoyed meeting you and your husband. We look forward to your return visit very soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I were looking for a quiet and relaxing place to spend a couple nights, and Casa La Pace was perfect. Rusty and Pepper warmly welcomed us from the moment we stepped off the train. They truly have a gift for hospitality. We were so impressed by the attention to detail and the sense of "home" we both felt during our stay at Casa La Pace. Whether you want to soak in the beautiful view while sipping wine on the patio, walk into town for gelato, or explore nearby Lucca, there is no better place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Lora M,
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your great review. We do our best to make our guests feel at home in our home. We hope they will forget for a while the pressures and distractions of their 'regular' lives. We are happy that you were able to find 'Pace' in our little corner of Tuscany.

We especially like meeting new people. We enjoyed having you as our guests and feel that we've know you for years!

We look forward to seeing you in the near future, when our paths cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After spending several days in Rome on our own, it was a welcomed treat to arrive at Casa La Pace and have Rusty and Pepper give us the VIP treatment and not have to worry about anything. They picked us up at the train station, gave us personal tours of the villages, took us to their favorite restaurants and enabled us to experience this part of Tuscany like the locals. Rusty and Pepper called us internationally prior to our stay and recommended a fabulous itinerary throughout our time in Italy. Everything about our three days at Casa La Pace exceeded our expectations. Rusty and Pepper are outstanding hosts and lots of fun.

Room Tip: We were given the Diane room on the third floor attached to the beautiful library with free computer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noni6749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Noni6749, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your kind review. We are always to help our guests in any way we can so that your vacation can be enjoyable and care-free, both here in Ghivizzano and elsewhere in Italy.

We enjoy welcoming new friends to our home and village. We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley. With appreciation, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I had an excellent stay at this lovely B&B. The views were spectacular and the hosts couldn't have been any nicer and accommodating. They made me feel at home, while respecting my privacy at all times. I would definitely recommend it if you come to Tuscany!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToscanaMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear ToscanaMarlene,

Thank you for your kind review. We fell in love with Ghivizzano because of the incredible beauty all around. We are happy that so many of our guests also fall in love with our beautiful valley. We try to welcome each guest like we would a family member. Your kind words tell us that you appreciated our efforts.

We enjoyed your visit and look forward to your next visit to Casa La Pace.

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Casa La Pace is a beautifully restored home /bed and breakfast. Pepper greeted us at the train station as if we were family. Rusty and Pepper are kind and generous hosts. They are so knowledgeable about Italy and willing to share tips on traveling the countryside. The rooms are very clean and spacious.There are fairytale views of the medieval village from almost every window. The train station is a short walk away, during which you are able to get a true sense of life in Italy.The people are so friendly and greet you with a smile. Ghivizanno and its people are true gems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Karlyn H,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your time at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast. We are fortunate that Ghivizzano is in a beautiful part of Tuscany. We also try very hard to make our guests feel at home. We are encouraged by your kind words and thank you for your positive review .

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley! With appreciation, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast
Address: Localita Camparlese 6 | Lucca, 55025 Ghivizzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Ghivizzano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ghivizzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is in Ghivizzano, nestled in the Serchio Valley between the Apuan Alps and the Apennines. Ghivizzano is a wonderful medieval village with an historical center. We offer accommodations in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Casa La Pace has been completely restored and tastefully decorated. We have several common rooms where guests can gather by the fireplace, watch TV, or quietly read a book. We also offer Internet and wireless access for your convenience. We are a short train ride from Lucca, Pisa, & Florence. Nearby are several restaurants offering a wide variety of Italian dishes. There is also a bakery, a pastry shop, post office, and bar within walking distance. If relaxation is your ideal vacation, there are thermal bathhouses and spas nearby. For those who enjoy the outdoors, the Serchio Valley and the Garfagnana offer hiking trails, scenic mountains and dramatic gorges. Scattered throughout the valley are many medieval villages to explore, each with its own history, architecture, and cuisine. Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is perfect for exploring the beauty and history of northern Tuscany. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing