We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly Recommended"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghivizzano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ghivizzano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Me and my fiance' went on a trip in Italy and Ghivizanno was our last stop before heading back to US. We stayed at Casa La Pace Bed&breakfast and I must say we had the best time of our lives! We so wished we could have stayed longer because 3days was not enough. We've been into nice tranquil places but there's nothing like this! This B&B is the perfect place to stay in Ghivizanno or even if you are planning to visit Lucca or Florence in Italy because:
- it is cheaper, for the price of staying in a nice B&B with the at-home feeling, super clean, comfy bed, you could be paying twice as much elsewhere or even more.
- has very nice and knowledgeable hosts, Pepper and Rusty, who can guide you and help you organize your itinerary and they are fluent in english and italian. It was a challenge for us to go around Italy and not know the language. I felt like we have maximized our stay there because of their professional assistance.
- serves amazing breakfast fresh everyday. I'm a big fan of trying local food everywhere we go. Also, you can go to nice restaurants in Ghivizanno with the best quality of food and wine, and pay a lot less than what you'll be paying in the cities.
- it has the most gorgeous view ever! We wake up each morning seeing the view from our room with the castle, trees, mountains, hearing the sound of fresh running water.
- it is really close to the trails if you like hiking. This place should be on top of your list if you like adventure. There's just so much to do and explore the area.
- it has a lot of history. Even the B&B itself was a big transformation. Although it went through a total renovation, I like how they restored the other parts of it so we get the feeling of the history.
- it is a perfect place to unwind, reconnect with your partner, get way from smog and feel refreshed. Casa La Pace is very relaxing, peace and quiet atmosphere. We are workaholics and I felt 10 times better going back to work in LA after this trip. I felt like I went on a retreat or an early honeymoon.
I wanted to share this with everyone so they can experience what I did. It is hard to sum it up, there's just a lot more to say, so I'll leave my last few words: priceless, euphoric and breathtaking!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Janice F,

Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your fantastic review You've included great descriptions and you've wonderfully summarized what we try to offer our guests. We said 'WOW!' when we read it. Your review makes us very proud.

We love to share with our guests the sights and sounds of Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley. You don't appear to be 'workaholics', but we are glad that Casa La Pace helped make your vacation a peaceful escape from your busy life.

We had a great time with you and your fiance'. Your visit was too short though; we are hoping for a longer stay on your next visit to Casa La Pace.

Your hosts,

Rusty & Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa La Pace in late March, 2012 and had a wonderful, memorable visit. First of all, Rusty and Pepper are two of the most positive, hospitable people we have met at any B&B. We felt totally at home. The B&B is very clean and attractive, adding to the pleasure of staying there and the whole feel of the little town is tranquil. What a great get-a-way and opportunity to more fully experience what living in an Italian town would be like. We cherished our time at Casa La Pace and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a tour of the whole B&B and every room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Francine D,
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your positive review. You told us that you've traveled extensively in Italy, for pleasure and to meet Italian relatives. We are honored that you included Casa La Pace on your most recent trip. Your review lets us know that you appreciated the beauty and tranquility of Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley..

We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your husband. We hope you'll include Casa La Pace on your next visit to Italy, too.

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My sister, brother-in-law and I visited Casa la Pace in its early stages of development. At that time, we were awestruck at the beauty of the area and the generous professionalism of our hosts ... Rusty and Pepper. It was with great expectation we returned this April.

The final transformation of Casa la Pace is amazing. The rooms are beyond comfortable ... the word that comes to mind is cozy. The cleanliness is outstanding. In addition to the wonderful tours Pepper and Rusty provided us, I got up early several mornings to accompany Rusty on his rounds to the village. It was a wonderful way to meet people in their world ... and to experience the lengths these two young men go to to make their guests feel special. (Read the March 19th blog about the doors and windows to understand both their love of Casa la Pace and their dedication to the authenticity of their surroundings.)

We brought our 92-year old father with us on this trip. We were concerned about his mobility as he had knee replacement surgery last year. Rusty and Pepper went out of their way to make him comfortable and welcome. They planned our tours and day trips around his physical needs. Daddy had served in Italy during World War II. Rusty and Pepper incorporated some WWII sites into our daily outings which were made so much more memorable by having Daddy with us. Rusty would introduce him as an American veteran, and the Italian citizens poured out their stories of that war and their deep gratitude to the American soldiers. Daddy was honored everywhere he went.

I cannot recommend Casa la Pace highly enough. The best thing I can say is I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisco1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear chrisco1000,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before. We were thrilled at your positive reaction to the renovations of our home; you are among the few who saw the house before it was updated.

We try to welcome each guest like we would a family member. Your father is wonderful and we were honored to have you all stay with us. We enjoyed you all and look forward to your next visit to Casa La Pace.

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ghivizanno is a darling little town, and Casa la Pace was a great place to stay. The room was furnished in beautiful antiques and a nice bathroom. The B&B is a complete renovation -- modern conveniences but maintaining all the historic charm. Rusty and Pepper are wonderful hosts and know so much about the area. We did a walking tour of Ghivizanno on day one. On day two, we started at the local market where I picked up a huge hunk of parmesan to bring home. That afternoon, we toured a nearby town, Castelnuovo. Pepper again was a knowledgable tour guide. It drizzled rain all day but that just added to the ambiance of the village. Next time I visit, I would like to stay longer. There is so much to see in this off-the-beaten-path area of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkiecurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Arkiecurls,
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast thanks you for your kind review. We strive to help our guests have an enjoyable, yet meaningful, vacation. For us, that means sharing with you the unique experiences of our little village and surrounding area. The Tuesday market in Ghivizzano is a highlight. Giuseppe, the cheese vendor, loves to meet our guests and lets you sample his offerings.

We enjoy welcoming new friends to our B&B in this wonderful corner of Tuscany. We can't wait until your next, longer, visit to Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley. With appreciation, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have been to several cities in Italy and have stayed at many different places, but no place compares to Casa La Pace! The house and the rooms are clean and comfortable and Rusty and and Pepper do an excellent job of making you feel at home! Ghivizzano is a beautiful place and you get the best views from the windows of Casa La Pace. Another great thing about staying here is the tours that they provide to several surrounding cities, which are informative and fun! Rusty and Pepper are wonderful people who do a great job of making sure you feel comfortable and are always having a good time! I recommend Casa La Pace to anyone looking to have an authentic and relaxing Italian experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Sydney S,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful opinion of Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast. We try very hard to make our guests feel at home. Your kind words tell us that our efforts were appreciated.

We were delighted to meet you and show you around Ghivizzano, the Serchio Valley, and the Province of Lucca. There is so much culture and history near Casa La Pace, and amazing sights at every turn. We are hoping you'll be back for more very soon.

With kindest regards, your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is our second visit to Casa La Pace and this time my father joined us. It was his first trip to Italy since his time in the Air Force in WWII and we could not have been in a better place. Rusty and Pepper customized a variety of trips and tours that Dad, who is a spry 92, and the rest of us could all enjoy. From Frienze to a drive across the Apuan Alps to view the quarries of world famous Carrara marble to Massa 's dramatic coast and to Lucca and so much more. Their knowledge of the Garfagnana region and the Serchio Valley is great and make exploring this area of Tuscany a wonderful and exciting experience. The town of Ghivizzano is charming the people who live and work there warm and welcoming. We are planning our return to Casa La Pace as soon as our schedule will let us. A five star experience in all aspects, hospitality, rooms (ours looked out to the castle) breakfast and the most gracious hosts. Would recommend to anyone wanting a true Italian adventure.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymomMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear flymomMa, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your kind review.

We were happy to welcome you back to Ghivizzano and delighted that your father came with you. For the people of the Serchio Valley, World War II is still a part of their lives. Many of the older inhabitants experienced the hardships of occupation and pass along stories of those years to their children and grandchildren. The arrival of the Americans was a momentous event; the Allied troops arrived with food and clothing, in addition to freedom. It was an moving experience to walk with your father through the piazza and tell the locals that he had been in Italy during the war. It triggered new stories and new expressions of gratitude. We are proud to be Americans and your father's visit deepened our love for both the U.S. and Italy.

We are glad that you appreciated the day trips, as well. Especially with older travelers, walking tours are not always the best option.. The Apuan Alps and Appenines are spectacular and the twisting mountain roads offer breathtaking views from the comfort of a car seat.

We had a great time with your family. We can't wait for your third and subsequent visits to the Serchio Valley and Casa La Pace.

Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My mother and I loved our time with Rusty and Pepper at their beautiful and welcoming B&B! Visiting Casa La Pace in Ghivizzano was the highlight of our stay in Italy!! Rusty and Pepper are truly the ultimate hosts! The rooms were comfortable and spotless! The breakfast was fresh and delicious and a perfect start to every day! We spent 5 nights/6 days and the time flew by too fast! I loved the tours and appreciated learning about the history of the places we visited! Thank you both for the sweet hospitality!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was perfect! The bed was super comfortable and large enough for two. Outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cehenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaLaPace, Owner at Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear cehenry, Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast would like to thank you for your kind review. We recognize that we are away from the main tourist destinations. So we try a little harder to welcome our guests and make you feel at home.. We know we've done a good job when our guests are sorry to say 'goodbye'.

We really enjoyed the time you and your mother spent with us. There is never enough time to show you all that Ghivizzano and the Serchio Valley has available. With us, too, the days flew by. We expect to seeing you two again in the near future. Your hosts – Rusty and Pepper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast

Address: Localita Camparlese 6 | Lucca, 55025 Ghivizzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Ghivizzano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ghivizzano
Price Range: £75 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is in Ghivizzano, nestled in the Serchio Valley between the Apuan Alps and the Apennines. Ghivizzano is a wonderful medieval village with an historical center. We offer accommodations in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Casa La Pace has been completely restored and tastefully decorated. We have several common rooms where guests can gather by the fireplace, watch TV, or quietly read a book. We also offer Internet and wireless access for your convenience. We are a short train ride from Lucca, Pisa, & Florence. Nearby are several restaurants offering a wide variety of Italian dishes. There is also a bakery, a pastry shop, post office, and bar within walking distance. If relaxation is your ideal vacation, there are thermal bathhouses and spas nearby. For those who enjoy the outdoors, the Serchio Valley and the Garfagnana offer hiking trails, scenic mountains and dramatic gorges. Scattered throughout the valley are many medieval villages to explore, each with its own history, architecture, and cuisine. Casa La Pace Bed and Breakfast is perfect for exploring the beauty and history of northern Tuscany. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing