We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect For A Skomer Island Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clock House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marloes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clock House
Ranked #1 of 3 Marloes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect For A Skomer Island Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Visited in June, the main reason was a visit to Skomer Island to see the Puffins. Perfect location, about a five minute drive away. Chose this B&B because of the catering for the 'early bird', breakfast for those leaving to join the queue at the Skomer Island departure point. Take Away breakfast can be collected from 7.00am, a continental style breakfast bag including a carton of juice; yoghurt drink; croissant; pot of jam; breakfast bar; biscuits; cake; a piece of fruit and a plastic knife, PERFECT! Also ordered 2 packed lunches £7.50 each, more cake, fruit, drink, and a huge roll which, with some of the breakfast we couldn't manage in the morning, mean't we had enough food to keep us fed throughout the visit to the island. Thank you Phil & Sue for making our visit to Skomer so easy, for your comfortable accommodation and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinnor_ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    28
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice little cafe with different types of tea and coffees and delicious cakes. They also serve freshly made sandwiches etc. and icecreams. It's just opposite the clock tower and there is a lovely children's playground opposite to keep the kids occupied

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tansy_S1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Lovely room. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast and packed lunch all handled very efficiently. Friendly welcome and positive attitude. Couldn't have wanted for more on the Pembroke Coastal path. Despite August, wasn't aware of noise from the road.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The obvious reason anyone comes to this area is Skomer Island, and the proprietors of the Clock House understand that fully. While our room (room 6) was very large and comfortable, the most memorable parts were the offers of a packed breakfast instead of a sit-down breakfast, and the option to purchase a packed lunch to be tacked on to your room bill. Both were gratefully accepted by us, and helped a lot given we headed down to purchase tickets early and intended to have lunch on Skomer without really planning it through! The packs were generous and actually lasted us several days on the various snacks and bits and pieces contained within.

The room itself was felt nautical with blue and white colourings and lots of windows. You really could make yourself at home if you're staying a few nights. However there was no real ability to block out light as the blinds were broken and/or lacking in actually shutting out light. We were getting up early anyway, but attempting to sleep in would've been doomed in our room. If that's not an issue we'd definitely recommend room 6, as you look out over the clock tower and town's sports oval (complete with local wildlife - rabbits). Technically it fronts on to the road but there's no traffic to speak of, even in the middle of summer, so that's not a negative.

Room Tip: We'd definitely recommend room 6 if you don't mind light coming in in the morning (lots of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We thought we were in the middle of nowhere and would have to travel for ages to find a decent cup of tea, but no! We found this little gem and will definitely be going back again. Great, friendly service and a brilliant cup of tea and scone. Lots of local produce too. The food being served to other customers looked absolutely amazing so we're almost certainly going back to try out something a bit more substantial.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank branty1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The B/B may be fine, but the Café - not too sure .Location is middle of Marloes village, patio area is alongside road running thro village - no seaside views here.Cars pass within feet of where you are sitting.
The menu is expensive for items widely available all over Pembrokeshire. A crab on toasted ciabatta turned out to be crab on half a ciabatta, and for £8.50! In upcountry Pembrokeshire! You can get a much better, and more generous, crab baguette, for much less, at the Lobster Pot, barely 50 yards up the road.A Duck pate(from the Specials board) was very good, and so for another £8.50 it should have been. Service young and enthusiastic.With a to die for waterfront location( Griffin Inn, Dale, or Ferry inn, Llanstadwell), you might get away with this - but not here.
Sounds as if the B/B is fine, esp the breakfast - stick to that, there are many better lunch options than this not too far away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Sue & Phil were amazing hostesses. Their B&B is friendly, clean, well maintained, great value and perfectly located for a trip to Skomer Island!!. The food choices were plentiful and the take-away breakfast/packed lunches were a fantastic option & value. We took advantage of the Early Supper & Cruise Offer and were blown away. The food was delicious and the cruise was amazing! 2 hours of viewing the wonderful Skomer Island and the wildlife with commentary! Sue was extremely helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay a weekend to remember. I can't recommend The Clock House enough. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Double room with En Suite, Perfect x
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurrockNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloes
6.9 mi away
Lord Nelson
Lord Nelson
#2 of 2 in Milford Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
10.8 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
11.6 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Foxdale Guest House
Foxdale Guest House
#2 of 3 in Marloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fields Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Fields Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Milford Haven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clock House

Property: The Clock House
Address: Gay Lane, Marloes | Skomer, Marloes SA62 3AZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Marloes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marloes
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clock House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star small family run hotel in Marloes, is close to the embarkation point for boats to Skomer and Skokolm and also makes a good stop off point for an overnight stay, if you are walking the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. Our hotel is a real home from home, all rooms have en-suite facilities and we provide comfortable, clean accommodation and serve a delicious breakfast. SUPPER IS SERVED - Freshly prepared home-made food is also available in our kitchen cafe for our early supper (7pm). All food is freshly prepared so booking is advisable. Suggest(24hrs notice to pre-book your supper) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clock House Marloes, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing