We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic photography workshop on Skomer”

Andy Davies Photography & Video - Skomer Island Photography Workshop
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Marloes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Andy Davies for an unforgettable day on Skomer Island learning how to use your camera to capture the stunning landscapes and rich wildlife. Andy provides hands-on expert tuition to small groups, catering for all skill levels. Workshop participants have pre-booked places on the first crossing of the day and we return on the last boat giving us as much time as possible on the island.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic photography workshop on Skomer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic. The only way to describe Andy’s Skomer photography workshop. Andy’s knowledge of photography and his subject matter are excellent. Quickly gauging the level of expertise of all participants allowed Andy to concentrate more on those that needed most assistance, whilst still ensuring that he made time for everyone, making sure that everyone got the best out of the day. An interactive session in Andy’s spectacular outdoor “classroom” allowed everyone to get their cameras set up ready for the pre-lunch session photographing the Puffins. After lunch, more words of wisdom from Andy on how to shoot birds in flight followed by much practice and all too soon, it was time to leave. Andy’s Skomer workshop is perfect for photographers of all levels of ability and experience. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and already thinking about which of Andy’s other workshops I’d like to attend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
1 review
“Andy Davies- Skomer Island Photography workshop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wow, brilliant, started with camera basics - essential to avoid disappointments when you reach the puffin colonies, Andy is so knowledgeable and eloquent about photography, the puffins and the general natural history of the area - it truly was a memorable day,
I would recommend this workshop as a great way of seeing and photographing the puffins - as already said you get to learn so much irrespective of the individual degree of photography experience.
Be aware Skomer is a nature reserve, facilities are basic but adequate, remember to take all you need with you, and take ALL you rubbish home with you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
559 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Great Learning On A Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Always difficult to pick an experience from the web but Andy seemed to come highly recommended and I've wanted to go to Skomer for some little while. The booking was straight forward and joining instructions all very clear so it was with much anticipation I met up with Andy and fellow photographers on the beach at Martin Haven. The gods were shining on us with some of the best weather we've had this year ... calm seas and blue skies.

Once on Skomer itself and after a little scramble up the hill we stopped as Andy started the "formal" part of the day. I would consider myself an enthusiastic amateur but still learnt considerable amount of technical know how. An added bonus was the spectacular back drop to his mini lecture.

From there on it very much hands on with Andy in the background but available to answer questions. Having taken numerous pics of puffins I was keen to tackle my nemesis ... a bird in flight ... and fully in focus !!

Following some great advice I got that shot and in doing so learnt so much about my camera and the various features it offers.

Would definitely recommend !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An inspiring day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I can highly recommend Andy's photography course on Skomer Island. Not only is his tuition very professional but his hints and tips, built on his extensive wildlife knowledge, ensured that I achieved all and more than I expected. Skomer Island itself is a beautiful and inspiring location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LittleAcorn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a fantastic day. Andy has time for everyone no matter what level you are or what kit you have. His knowledge of birds and Skomer is superb as well as his photography knowledge.. Gareth Thomas Tonypandy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhonddaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy Davies Photography & Video - Skomer Island Photography Workshop also viewed

 

Been to Andy Davies Photography & Video - Skomer Island Photography Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing