We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abercegir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yr Hen Felin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Abercegir B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night during our trip to mid wales. The welcome was really warm and after a rain soaked day it was great to receive a cup of tea and cake. The guest sitting room was cosy and comfortable and fabulously furnished. If we had stayed longer I am sure it would have been a relaxing and private place to unwind at the end of the day. The bedroom was perfect, no tv but I would not have wanted one, the sound of the river below the window and the sound of the birds was better than watching tv. The garden is an absolute gem, we had a walk through it during the evening stopping to sit at the benches along the route of the river. We were treated to great views of pied flycatchers nesting and a tawny owl. Wonderful breakfast set us up for a day at nearby RSPB Ynys Hir. I wish we could have stayed all week and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room above the river, but I would think every room would be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

So glad we booked a second night here. The house and garden are beautiful and are set in some of Wales's most magnificent scenery. We would have been happy with just that, but the wonderful service from the owners Paul and Paddy made this possibly the best B&B experience we've ever had. We were welcomed like family, given recommendations for activities and walks, whilst our kids were doted on like grandchildren. Could not have been more satisfied.

Rooms are cosy and comfortable (though the shower was a bit temperamental..!). Strongly recommend the evening meal - a homecooked shepherd's pie and berry crumble was just the ticket after a long day trudging. Our 6 yr old, normally the pickiest and slowest of eaters demolished his meal in minutes and even had seconds.

Certainly hope to be returning to Yr Hen Felin soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night after staying the previous two nights at large hotels. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and a cup of tea and cake. Fantastic. Whilst there was no tv in the room (there is one downstairs in lounge) the peacefulness and tranquility more than made up for it. I fell asleep to the sound of the stream outside of the window. The ensuite room was very comfy and the breakfast fantastic. We could have sat and watched the wild birds feed all morning! If you're looking to walk up Cadair Idris or need a base for the rest of Snowdonia this would be ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Set in beautiful countryside it's a great place to escape from it all! It's very quiet and the views from our room amazing. The breakfast was delicious with bees from their hives and home made jams and marmalade, we had a brilliant time. Paddy and Paul were warm and welcoming. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashingadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break. We arrived a bit frazzled from our busy work-lives and were welcomed by Paul & Paddy who tooks our bags up, showed us our room and offered us tea and cake in the lounge in 15 minutes. A cup of tea and a slice of one of Paddy's delicious home made cakes is a great restorative after a long journey. The room was comfortable and clean with the delightful sound of the babbling mill stream outside the window when open.
The peace of the gardens along the stream, with its wooden seats carefully placed in secluded spots, the bee hives, chicken run and Paul's vegetable plot were just what we needed.
The breakfasts are oustanding and we were fortunate to have the window seat overlooking the bird table where even woodpeckers come to feed.

Paul & Paddy are attentive but not too much. Friendly but not over-familiar; kind and very mildly eccentric in a very best of british way. We met another guest who has been coming at least twice a year for 10 years.

It is a great location from which to explore southern Snowdonia, or climb Cader Idris as we did. Gwyndr's way passes literally through the garden.

Much has been said in other reviews about the chintzy decor... it may not be to many people's taste, but it is part of who the Paddy & Paul are and it is they who make this a very, very, good B&B.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and really enjoyed the lovely surroundings. We arrived fairly late and were welcomed by our hosts, Paddy and Paul, with a lovely pot of tea and homemade fruit cake. Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed falling asleep to the burbling sound of the stream that runs past the B&B and waking to the sound of the little birds tweeting. The cooked breakfast was lovely and individually prepared. The cooked breakfast was complemented by a cold buffet including fruit from the garden, homemade raspberry jam and honey from Paul's bees! If you are lucky you get the extra special breakfast window seat where you can see the stream and birds at the bird feeder while you eat. We had a wonderful surprise on our last morning as we were sitting beside the stream with a cup of tea - two river otters going about their Sunday morning fishing!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HounsfieldsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

A lovely B&B in an exceptional setting. The building is a converted water-mill tucked away in a tiny village near Machynlleth in Powys.
The owners, Paddy & Paul are charming & helpful, the rooms are comfy & quiet, breakfast is first-class & the scenery is outstanding.

What more do you need from a B&B

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Yr Hen Felin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hen Felin Bed and Breakfast

Address: Abercegir SY20 8NR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Abercegir
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abercegir
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hen Felin Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Preservation Village of Abercegir situated on the Glyndwrs Way on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, Yr Hen Felin is an ideal base from which to explore the mid and north Wales coastline and countryside. This restored former water mill, which offers two double rooms and one twin room, is on the banks of the River Gwydol and features exposed beams and superb polished timber floors. Two bedrooms overlook the river where trout and herons can often be seen. There is a very comfortable lounge with inglenook fireplace where dinner is served by candlelight excellent home-cooked food,choice of menu with full restaurant license. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yr Hen Felin Bed And Breakfast Abercegir, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing