We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water falls, steam trains, green mountains and this little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolgoch Falls Hotel

Dolgoch Falls Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bryncrug
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolgoch Falls Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryncrug
Neufahrn bei Freising, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water falls, steam trains, green mountains and this little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights for mountain impressions incl. water fall, rest and travel on the steamed Talyllyn railway to which there is a station just behind the hotel. Friendly hosts, excellent cooked food (both breakfast and dinner menu). WiFi, satellite TV, en-suite, what else do you need?
Of course, this hotel is a little bit outside of towns or villages, therefore ideally suited for people seeking relaxation not action. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1975Kenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Now, the Dolgoch Falls Hotel is the size of a B&B in terms of number of bedrooms but it has the features of a hotel. There is a bar for the evening to save you having to drink and drive, they serve very nice home made evening meals. Most importantly the proprietor is very very helpful and welcoming. The walks and falls are literally a stones throw away. If you are going to Tywyn or thereabouts you would struggle to do better.

We went for "Race the Train" and its the perfect location for both spectators and participants with several events including the main one going through the car park.

Thank you, it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaughter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Dolgoch Falls Hotel is a small family run business executed superbly. A warm welcome is the first thing guests experience from the owners. Everything is as it should be followed by a hearty breakfast to send you on your way. The hotel is nestled between rolling hills in the welsh countryside, an absolutely fabulous setting that will not disappoint. A short walk from the hotel is Dolgoch Ravine with glorious waterfalls, so much to photograph. Also within easy reach is the Talyllyn Steam Railway, Dolcoch Station is a stop situated between Abergynolwyn and Tywyn. The hotel also has a tea room open to non residents which is a welcome rest at the end of a walk. This is a little gem of a place and I am so pleased to have discovered it. I stayed for 6 nights and would love to return in the not too distant future. The hotel is suitable for solo travellers and couples, no family rooms are available. I can only imagine the beauty of the surrounding countryside in the Autumn ... now that's an idea!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJLinPSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

If you want a clean, quiet, relaxed, small place to stay this is perfect. The rooms are beautifully clean and well presented. Breakfast is cooked to order and the owners and staff are really friendly and helpful. We arrived tired and stressed and left calm and relaxed. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shadylady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed for just one night and we were made to feel very welcome by the owner and his wife. Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable, we had a great night's sleep.
The evening meal was excellent using local produce, Welsh Black beef, Pembroke potatoes, etc., and the cooked breakfast was a brilliant start to the day.

We got the overall impression that nothing was too much trouble for the owners to ensure their guests enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

This family run hotel is excellent. Although an old building the rooms are furnished to a high standard and are impeccably clean. The location is stunning close to a natural beauty spot and with plenty of car parking.

The hosts are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They have a good local knowledge and are good ambassadors for the locallity. The food available at the bar on the evening was delicious and the cooked breakfast lived up to all expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badger064st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Brilliant nights stay in a very quite peacefull location. Very comfortable bed, excellent cooked breakfast with great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyCOMPTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryncrug
8.0 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
7.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.6 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.1 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolgoch Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolgoch Falls Hotel

Property: Dolgoch Falls Hotel
Address: Set Beneath the Dolgoch Ravine, Bryncrug LL36 9UW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bryncrug
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bryncrug
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 93
Also Known As:
Dolgoch Falls Hotel Bryncrug, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing