We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We arrived by train from London, and did not have a car during our stay. We went for walks in the countryside from the hotel through green wooded valleys and across hills up to the moorland. The paths were sometimes overgrown. The scenery is unspoiled with lots of deciduous trees, ferns, and moss in the lower valleys. We saw lots of different types of mushrooms and toadstools. The scenery was often amazingly beautiful. We saw only one or two people on our walks.

The food was excellent, with the menu being based on tasting menus with a shorter "Market Menu" also available. When one of our party wanted simpler food, the chef made a short individual menu to choose from.

We visited the nature reserve nearby, which is large and varied with woodland, field and coastal areas.

My hotel room "Goya", was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom had a shower and bath - everything looked new.

When we wanted to leave, the staff even offered us a lift to Machynlleth so we didm't need to wait for a taxi. The staff were always friendly and very helpful.

Overall, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1e-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you are seeking peaceful seclusion; contemporary comfort; delightful experimental cuisine; welcoming owners and all wrapped up in 1000 acres of glorious nature reserve, then there is probably no finer place to stay anywhere than at charming Ynyshir Hall. Thank goodness Joan and Rob Reen have reclaimed this delightful small hotel from previous owners and are re-applying their renowned magic. A tonic for all the senses which should be taken regularly as an antidote to the harshness of modern life.

Room Tip: The sumptuous new garden rooms with their contemporary decor and luxurious comfort are a glorious al...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We had 2 days in this fabulous hotel, the decor was wonderful , the Renoir room has great views, the bathroom is fantastic and quirky,
The food is excellent, well presented interesting and worth the trip

Room Tip: Renoir room has great views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were upgraded to the studio room for a two night stay. We had dinner there both nights too. The room had really good facilities and we were well looked after. I would actually say it is good to very good mainly because they haven't got everything quite right yet. They were not ready for us for breakfast one morning but sorted it out quickly. They also need to slightly improve with the service overall. Everyone was very friendly but for a Relais hotel it should be more polished than it was.

I would recommend taking a look at the hotel as it was a good stay and the place has character which is something we look for in a hotel but it is high end pricing and you would expect the service to be excellent rather than good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snhindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the truly great hotel experiences we have ever had. The rooms (Miro and Chagall) were spectacular. Beautiful, luxurious and incredibly comfortable. The hotel is beautifully located at the foot of Snowdonia, so the views are breathtaking. The food is first rate modern British, with nice notes of Ferran Adria and Simon Rogan. Breakfast was lovely, as well, with adequate selection for a three day stay. The warmth of the staff is beautifully modeled by Joan and Rob, who made us feel like family. The experience is expensive, but memorable. We were using the hotel as a base to explore Wales, and it was fine for this, if a bit out of the way. Remember that distances in Wales can be deceptively long when you account for the mountains, and size of roads. Altogether a lovely experience, and a hotel to which I would gladly return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendocubano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Set in a nature reserve, Ynys-hir Hall (pronounced un-us-hir) is a beautiful place to get away from the maddening crowd. The oldest part of the Hall was built in the 15th Century.

The Relais Chateaux hotel has 10 luxurious rooms named after famous masters. Each room is designed around individual themes by the owners Joan & Rob Reen. The Goya room is modern and warm while the Matisse room is in beautiful shades of pink and has a fantastic bathroom where you luxuriate in the bath with a glass of champagne will enjoying the beautiful rolling hills of the SnowdoniaNational Park. Hogarth room, rumoured to be Queen Victoria’s bedroom, is done up in rich blue and red. The Monet room gives you a feeling of being at home with the lovely conservatory attached to it. The piece de resistance are the two new rooms, Chagall and Miro, which were recently added. Set adjacent to the main building, the first thing that strikes you as you enter the room is the greenery seen through the large French windows. The rooms are large and airy with minimalist but expensive furnishing that doesn’t deter from the natural beauty of the place. The fireplace in the rooms was built with slate quarried on the estate and the bathrooms are fit for a royal.

The Hall boasts of a lovely restaurant run by Gareth Ward a Michelin star chef who has worked in the famous Sat Bains in Nottingham. They offer a 7 or 10 course tasting menu with the option of wines that go with it. The flavours and presentation is something that has to be experienced. It’s not very often that you are served vegetarian and meat or seafood dishes that taste equally sublime. Chef Ward’s New Season Carrots baked in a crust of salt and hay and then served with goat’s curd and hay ash is truly inspirational. The wines for each course were well matched and went down like a treat. If you prefer, the choice of selecting a starter main and dessert is also available. Pre dinner you can relax in the bar and enjoy a glass of bubbly in the blue and orange room.

For breakfast make sure you have the soaked muesli or the Ynyshir hall porridge and the freshly squeezed orange juice. You also have the choice of ordering a pre breakfast tray of tea or coffee to your room. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Gareth Ward is a talented chef without the Ramseyisque tantrums.

You can either spend lazy days relaxing in your room, enjoying the spa treatments (prior booking is required) like reflexology and deep tissue massages or stroll around the beautifully landscaped garden. For the more adventurous and restless, you could don your hiking boots and become one with nature. The hotel is kind enough to supply wellies in case you’ve forgotten yours. A walk around the Artist’s Valley which has been an inspiration for many Victorian painters or you could visit the bird sanctuary. The RSPB run the nature reserve that surrounds the hotel and its teeming with birds and other wildlife. On a good day you could spot Lapwings or Ospreys and maybe even a family of otters. If you’re interested in knowing more make sure you speak with Roger at the RSPB reception. This reserve is also the home of BBC Spring Watch 2012- 2013.

The surrounding town of Machynlleth, beautiful unspoiled seaside town of Aberdyfi, university town of Aberystwyth or the golden sand dunes at Ynyslas are great places for a day trip. You can also play golf on courses that offer varying degrees of challenges including Wale’s oldest links course in Borth. Other activities include pony trekking, fishing, bicycles tracks and clay pigeon shooting.

This is a pet friendly hotel. Theo, Joan’s faithful shadow, a Bernese mountain dog is a great character to meet. A word of advice, make sure you say goodbye to him when you leave or else he may just not let you drive off!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We enjoyed the most incredible 7 course tasting menu last Sunday, dishes were exquisite and Gareth the head chef even came out of the kitchen to describe the dishes as we dined, a truly memorable meal

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lexworthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglwys Fach
3.8 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
660 reviews
14.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
5.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
17.7 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
10.7 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms

Address: Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Eglwys Fach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Price Range: £198 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ynyshir is a five star restaurant with rooms near the Snowdonia National Park, Aberystwyth and Machynlleth. The Michelin Star restaurant at Ynyshir is one of Wales' best contemporary fine dining destinations and holds four AA rosettes - one of only two restaurants in Wales to hold this distinction. Michelin Star chef Gareth Ward serves alternative British tasting menus using the very best of Welsh and British produce. The menus showcase the best of Welsh ingredients following the seasons, such as Welsh Wagyu Beef and Anglesey Onions throughout the year, as well as locally foraged sea herbs from the estuary and greens from the woodland floor and Ynyshir's extensive gardens. During hunting season expect to see wild deer and local duck, grouse and partridge, and in summer Welsh Lamb from the Dyfi valley. Gareth and his team pickle, salt, ferment and preserve fruits, leaves and berries carrying the harvests through the winter and into the spring. Expect to see dishes such as 'Not French Onion Soup', 'Mackerel Sweet & Sour' and Gareths take on a Tiramisu all served alongside a carefully selected wine-list whilst overlooking the Cambrian mountains and Ynyshir's extensive gardens Ynyshir has a total of ten luxuriously furnished guest rooms, each with its own unique style and character. There are seven rooms within the main house and three deluxe rooms directly adjacent. Each guest room has an en-suite with a separate bath and shower and feature premium Temple Spa products. Most rooms offer views over the gardens and Cambrian Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Eglwys Fach
Ynyshir Hall Machynlleth
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Machynlleth
Hall Ynyshir
Ynyshir Restaurant And Rooms Wales, UK - Eglwys Fach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing