We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop off for tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“stop off for tea”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stopped off here for tea & scones. We were greeted by a friendly young man with a big smile and warm welcome called Andrew. We sat in a bright and attractive lounge where our tea, coffee and scones where served. Really enjoyed the 'fresh from the oven' cheese scone with Marmite butter and the plain scone with jam and clotted cream. All presented beautifully. Before leaving we asked for a brochure. Andrew brought us a couple and then asked if we would like to look around before we headed off home. I am so glad we did. Ynyshir Hall is beautiful. The bedrooms lovely and the gardens gorgeous. We were shown the new garden rooms and they were fabulous. It's definitely on our list for our next break. Thank you Andrew.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiveofninewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    36
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
167
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A five-star rating doesn't give Ynyshir Hall justice. It's at least a 6. This was a birthday treat so we booked for dinner bed and breakfast for two nights and the holistic treatment at the spa. Expecting the Monet room, we were delighted to be upgraded to the Chagall suite. Everyone was friendly and helpful, making us feel at home (a cliche but very true) and the head chef, Gareth Ward is a name to look out for. What that man can do with a leek is phenomenal! The gardens in spring, with azaleas and rhododendrons in bloom added to the magic of the setting and, all in all, a birthday to remember. I would recommend readers to add Ynyshir Hall to their bucket list.

Room Tip: No room better then the Chagall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian_lewis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Joan Reen and her lovely bright eyed, friendly, glossy coated St. Bernard dog, Theo, on our sunny Wednesday lunch time visit to Ynyshir Hal Hotel, to celebrate our Anniversary. The house stands pristine white against the lush greenery of the beautiful gardens and the interior of the house is equally impressive. Immaculate victorian patterned floor tiles greet you at the entrance with decorative plates and painted ceramic plates decorating the walls and furniture. We were shown into an amazing sitting room decorated in blue and red with Rob Reen's 'Studies of Sheep' paintings adorning the walls, which truly created a tearful emotional response. The paintings are hard to describe as they have such energy, the colours creating a sense of movement. We chose an aperitif from the wine list and chose the small tasting menu for our celebratory lunch. We were then shown in to the Dining Room. Here, the walls are painted a bright turquoise which tone with the turquoise patterned carpet. Large paintings of blue 'Studies of Sheep' adorn the walls in this room with each table laid out with Rob Reen's 'Sheep' painted Villeroy and Boch plates. Service was very pleasant and perfectly timed, with our friendly waitress taking time to talk to us about our break in Mid Wales. The highlights from the Tasting Menu were "Not French Onion Soup" which was very tasty and two delicious desserts, one was passion fruit mousse with olive oil cake and sweet cicely and the other a type of tarte au citron with the finest pastry and a fine, sharp tangy citrus topping. We accepted an invitation to view the Garden Suites, situated in the grounds of Ynyshir Hall. 'Chagal' has a beautiful welsh slate fireplace in the sitting room, a huge bedroom and beautiful bathroom. 'Miro' is a little smaller, the bathroom having views across the grounds and down the valley. The views from both suites are beautiful. Either of the two suites would make ideal honeymoon accommodation and together with the superb service, food and wine, Ynyshir Hall would make an ideal place to take a special break at any time. We didn't take afternoon tea, but quite a few visitors were enjoying afternoon tea in the garden on the day of our visit. We hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1WhiteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am not one to write reviews but my experience at Ynyshir hall has led me to join and post this. We have stayed at the majority of Relais hotels in the country and you always get what you pay for. They are all very expensive but you are guaranteed the best and in my experience we have never had a bad stay at any of them.

Ynyshir was different, we stayed in the Studio room which is not cheap at £695 per night. The room was spacious even with the two extra beds for our children, it also featured a very large newly refurbished bathroom. It is what I expected at the price point and it certainly delivered.

The staff is where the hotel stands out above other Relais properties. At other properties I have felt that they are exactly that, “staff”, paid to do a job. There was a more family feeling at Ynyshir, I liked how the owners came and spoke to us during the day and circulated around the tables in the evening. Beth and Andrew were superb hosts and tended to our every need, it is them who really made the trip special. They are so nice my wife even liked them and she hates everyone!

I should also mention the restaurant. Having very recently come from a 3 night break at Whatley Manor they had a lot to live up to and we were left far from disappointed. Most Relais properties we have stayed at have a taster option or the a la carte. Ynyshir offers a daily “market” menu along with an 8 course or an 11 course taster. We had all three (not at the same time) and the food was easily on par with single and double starred properties we have dined at. On our fourth night we were even given the option to create our own taster from the three menus that evening, we have never been offered that flexibility elsewhere. There was also novel touches such as macaroons made in liquid nitrogen at your table and a bowel of bubbling nettles to add atmosphere to another course. The serving staff were attentive and Sam was able to assist me in my rudimentary grasp of Welsh.

My children had a great time as there was no archaic dining time restrictions or no go areas for them. My youngest who celebrated his fourth birthday at the hotel (thanks for the card, cake and present) described it as “The best time in my life”. How can I add to that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We recently spent a night at Ynyshir Hall. As we drove in two members of staff came out to greet and made us feel very welcome indeed. The owners were not around but the staff more than made up for it - they were fabulous. We were travelling with another couple and both of us were given a room upgrade. Our room was beautiful with amazing views over the grounds and surrounding countryside with the most amazing bathroom - twinkling ceiling lights and a wonderful rain shower. The attention to detail generally was outstanding, nothing pretentious just quality all the way. We had the tasting menu which was unusual and a true delight. Gareth is a true master of food and his team exude enthusiasm and developing skills. We were shown two rooms one of the new wings before we left, wow when we win the lottery we know were we are headed. Thank you for one of the best hotel and food experiences I have ever experienced. Go there please (but keep it to yourself), as we want to be able to get a room for a month when the lottery money arrives!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slenderela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We recently spent a night at the amazing Ynyshir Hall and were thrilled by the hospitality and friendliness of all the staff from the owners to the waitresses. Our room was beautiful with amazing views over the grounds and surrounding countryside. The attention to detail around the hotel was tremendous and it was so comfortable and relaxing to sit in the cosy bar with an aperitif before dinner. We had the 11 course tasting menu and have never experienced such amazing and varied tastes and textures in food, the meal was a triumph and Gareth and his team should be very proud of what they are achieving at Ynyshir Hall.
We wish him luck in achieving a Michelin star

Room Tip: Rooms are named after artists, we had the "Renoir" which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bon_ViveurBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed her for 2 nights recently. Very Friendly staff , comfortable room and little niggles were dealt with promptly. Lovely quiet place and the food is to die for! I've eaten in many 1 star ( and one 2 star) Michelin places and this is up there with them all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hommeatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eglwys Fach
3.8 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
631 reviews
5.7 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
10.7 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
22.5 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms

Property: Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Address: Eglwys Fach, Eglwys Fach SY20 8TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Eglwys Fach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eglwys Fach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ynyshir is a five star restaurant with rooms near the Snowdonia National Park, Aberystwyth and Machynlleth. The Michelin Star restaurant at Ynyshir is one of Wales' best contemporary fine dining destinations and holds four AA rosettes - one of only two restaurants in Wales to hold this distinction. Michelin Star chef Gareth Ward serves alternative British tasting menus using the very best of Welsh and British produce. The menus showcase the best of Welsh ingredients following the seasons, such as Welsh Wagyu Beef and Anglesey Onions throughout the year, as well as locally foraged sea herbs from the estuary and greens from the woodland floor and Ynyshir's extensive gardens. During hunting season expect to see wild deer and local duck, grouse and partridge, and in summer Welsh Lamb from the Dyfi valley. Gareth and his team pickle, salt, ferment and preserve fruits, leaves and berries carrying the harvests through the winter and into the spring. Expect to see dishes such as 'Not French Onion Soup', 'Mackerel Sweet & Sour' and Gareths take on a Tiramisu all served alongside a carefully selected wine-list whilst overlooking the Cambrian mountains and Ynyshir's extensive gardens Ynyshir has a total of ten luxuriously furnished guest rooms, each with its own unique style and character. There are seven rooms within the main house and three deluxe rooms directly adjacent. Each guest room has an en-suite with a separate bath and shower and feature premium Temple Spa products. Most rooms offer views over the gardens and Cambrian Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Eglwys Fach
Ynyshir Hall Machynlleth
Ynyshir Hall Hotel Machynlleth
Hall Ynyshir
Ynyshir Restaurant And Rooms Wales, UK - Eglwys Fach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing