We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience, live like a local”
Review of Finca Ogawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca Ogawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at Finca Ogawa for 2 nights and had an amazing stay. Barbra, our host, was the sweetest and took great care of us. We had not booked a car since we were on another trip close by previously and our guide had left us directly at Finca Ogawa. Barbra and John did everything they could to get us a rental car but when that proved impossible (it was peak season), they arranged for the pool maintenance staff to be our private driver. It was great too, because it's not easy to find the smaller wineries. No google maps!

The Casa Martha of Finca Ogawa was clean, spacious and had A/C. We could take anything from the garden, we had access to fresh eggs from the coop, raspberries from their fields. The highlight is that Barbra sent us to shop at ''Hector's'', the local grocery store 2 doors down. Hector is the friendliest guy you'll ever meet. The shop is an extension of his house and his whole family tends to it. It's a small local shop, so don't expect anything fancy, but his meat and local produce were amazing and at ridiculous prices. He even invited us for lunch the second day (turns out that the driver/pool guy was his nephew). It's small experiences like this that can really make a trip memorable.

That said, even if you don't get to meet Hector, Finca Ogawa is close to the main wineries, it has a pool, Casa Martha is clean and well appointed, there's pool towels and cooking neccessities. And of course, there is a BBQ!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clementinebleue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

A great place for a quiet few days in the Valle de Uco, within an easy drive of lots of wineries. We had the whole place to ourselves, amazing views of the mountains when the clouds lifted, and a very hospital owner.
We will be back; and the complementary bottle of vino was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We all loved Finca Ogawa. Barbara and John were wonderful hosts, and had lots of great local knowledge to share. The garden was a delight, we had the whole family picking apples, herbs, tomatoes, quince and raspberries. The casita is lovely and well equipped for cooking or barbecuing and the Finca has wonderful red wines and olive oil too. The kids really enjoyed finding fresh eggs to eat in the chicken coop, and the view of the Andes from the garden table is spectacular, nice bikes to tool around too.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 19Mimi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here late February-early March 2012, during harvest season. We picked fresh fruit and vegetables from the trees, vines, and Barbara's garden for meals supplemented by ingredients from Hector's store just down the road. And the Finca's superb wine, of course.
We had the opportunity to stay in both casitas and both were very clean, spacious, well equipped, and quiet. John and Barbara made us feel at home and helped us with our travels in Mendoza. We give this a definite two-thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This out-of-the-way country retreat puts you into the campo, in the middle of the VDU wine region. Self-catering casitias and a garden allowed us to make really fresh food, including a killer salsa using tomatoes, onions and peppers from the garden that went with a delicious parilla (grill) dinner. If John--one of the owners --is there, he might regale you with great stories from his fishing guide days, over a bottle of the finca's wine; if you are extra lucky, his sister Barb will bring over a fruit crisp for dinner with pears, apples or raspberries straight out of the patch. We spent most days visiting wineries, hiking, and lunching, then returned to the finca for dinner. At night, the caretakers' kids gallop horses through the vineyards! You need a car, but John can help you rent one for a lot cheaper than from a rental company (we learned the expensive way). My husband and I stayed nearly a week and rented both casitas with another couple. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012


A great surprise that this place in rural areas and what welcome!
More: possibility to cook and eat his meal when it wishes to, pick fruit in the garden according to the season. The wi - fi connection works very well even on the outside, beautiful terrace, calm, funny
dogs.
Least: when the reservation is given the possibility to rent to choose one of the 2 cottages but it is possible to be dislodged for the smallest.  However this us was not disturbed even if the view is less beautiful. Overall this is one of our most beautiful discoveries on our trip. Quality and unbeatable prices, home with smile and the bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our first trip to Argentina, and I’m glad we chose to stay at Finca Ogawa for the first part of the trip. We stayed the first week of a three-week trip. After the rather long flight from LAX to Mendosa through Santiago, the finca allowed us relax in the beautiful wine-growing countryside. I have to agree with the other reviews listed here so I’ll focus on what I liked best.

When I left for our vacation at the end of January, it was snowing at home. When we stepped off the plane in Mendoza, the temperature was about 90 degrees Fahrenheit and toward the end of summer. We really enjoyed relaxing in summer temperatures again.

This is a working farm so you get a different experience than you get at a more expensive resort. We had free access to the main garden and chicken coop. We started each day with fresh raspberries and eggs and used the parilla to grill a variety of vegetables at night. I can’t say enough about the tomatoes! We were able to buy excellent meat at nearby Hector’s. Hector’s was definitely small, but we heard that his family butchers their own meat. We also cut up fresh fruits to have as dessert. All this while enjoying a glass (or two) of Finca Ogawa-label malbec wine.

The hosts, John and Barbara, were a great resource for getting acclimated to Argentine customs and language. The accommodations are excellent and having free rein of the hen house and extensive garden was a unique experience with lodging. We traveled with another couple and rented both casitas. We can’t wait to visit again. I would recommend a rental car to give you a little more flexibility to visit the local towns.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Sauces
2.2 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
278 reviews
16.2 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tupungato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
4.9 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
197 reviews
10.0 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Finca La Azul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Ogawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ogawa

Address: Calle Bascunan s/n | Tunuyan, Valle de Uco, Los Sauces M5663ABA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Departamento de Tunuyan > Los Sauces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Los Sauces
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finca Ogawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of the accommodations that we offer were originally constructed some 80 years ago for the owners of the finca. Our home is a Spanish style house with thick walls, high ceiling and traditional wooden windows. We have lovingly restored and recycled it into a charming little home or casita: CASA DE MARTHA is a 40 m2 one bedroom home / casita. This bedroom has a king size bed and a private bathroom. There is also a living room, dining room, full kitchen to cook and a 280 sq. feet veranda with outdoor parrilla. The house has Central Air Conditioning and heat, Internet WiFi and Direct TV, Sheets and towels. There are also other new Villas in the Finca, for 4 and 6 people! Please write to us with your inquire!! The advantage to choosing Finca Ogawa for your stay is that all lodgings include complete country gourmet kitchens, queen and king sommiers, private bathrooms, wonderful living and fireplaces, comfortable dining areas, private patios, access to the finca community, 40 m2 swimming pools, housekeeping services, mountain bikes, vegetable garden, and perfect Andes's views. Only minutes away from the best of the best wineries in Valle de Uco. Finca Ogawa is about 1,30 hs from the airport. 1 Hour from Mendoza City. Location Coordinates: 33° 35' 02.0"S 69° 09' 02.0"W. We are close to the most famous wineries like Clos de Los Siete (Monteviejo, Rolland, DiamAndes, Cuvellier Los Andes), Gimenez Riili, Salentein, Andeluna, Domaine Bousquet, Sophenia, The Vine of Mendoza, Piedra Negra, and more! This area offers a lot of options in adventure activities like Horseback ridings in the mountains, Bike tours around the wineries, Rafting, Trekkings and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Finca Ogawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing