We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We will go again”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed it. Very friendly and warm welcome from Ray and Lindsay. Our room was very nice, spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed that had really good quality linen/pillows and a great shower.
The breakfast was fantastic, plentiful and delicious. It would be a mistake to say "no" to the homemade bread! They even offered to serve brekkie super early on the sunday so my husband could eat before racing his Triathlon.
We would definitely stay here again, probably for the triathlon next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
102
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A wonderful place, we would thoroughly recommend it. Wonderful breakfast, very warm welcome. Our room was on the road side, but was really quiet. Lindsay was an excellent host, always there if needed, and made us feel like friends, not guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 480James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

other reviews have summed up the Abercelyn, we would definately return next time we visit the Bala area, well done, congratulations to Lindsay and Ray for an excellent relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was excellent, very tasty and freshly prepared. Room was comfortable and clean. Bed very comfy. Room facilities where all we needed. Hosts very welcoming but not intrusive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great location, accommodation, food and service - huge attention to detail in every respect. As we said in our other feedback, other B&B's should have a stay to see how it should be done! Lindsay & Ray take a bow, you deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had just the loveliest time at Abercelyn.
Lindsay was the most welcoming of hosts (tea and delicious home-made cake on arrival), talking us through the House and all of the stacks of information that she and Ray have built up on the surrounding area, hillwalking and other activities, good local restaurants, etc.
The room was beautiful - , large, very tastefully decorated, spotlessly cleaned by the friendly staff, and with a great window seat. Fab. bath robes too- in a B&B!!! The gardens are also a delight- Lindsay is rightly proud of them.
But the best bit of all was breakfast - just fantastic, home-cooked food, with very obviously quality ingredients from local suppliers.
Thank you, Lindsay and Ray, for a very special stay - I'm sure that we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Abercelyn Bala B&B

I booked in at Bala Watersports to do my RYA Seamanship dinghy skills course. My aim was to get accommodation close and quick to the centre. Not really for relaxation and pleasure but I am really glad I stayed here because I got superb relaxation and pleasure.

First thing is that you are asked to take your footwear off at the front door. This seems like a good idea to me when you have light coloured carpets.

I was met and shown to my room. In addition, was given a small flask of fresh milk each day for my tea and coffee. The room was clean are well decorated and comfortable. If I had any non positive comment it was the low energy light bulbs, but that is just my personal dislike. (LED are better). I had a really good nights' sleep but was up early to catch up with some work using the WiFi. There were no problems with bandwidth and I got my VPN up fine. Very good and very easy.

Breakfast was just a delight. We picked our breakfast via a selection list. The eggs were home free range and you could tell. The yolk was that lovely orange colour. I remember this from my own hen many y ears ago. The bread was home baked and the marmalade was thick cut home made. Very nice. Bacon was that nice thick cut stuff. I presume it was local produce. All very tasty.

Abercelyn is close to Bala for travel but far enough away to give you the feeling of isolation.
It was the attention to detail that I have only seen in 5 star hotels that did it for me. Very relaxing stay indeed.

Excellent drying facilities for Wetsuits and all your wet clothing.
I think this was one of the best B&B's that I have stayed in.

Gary

PS I have noticed that some reviewers have only given 4 stars in the review for Value for money. I have stayed in many places at twice the price and half the quality.

Room Tip: I had a side view but it was fine. I don't sit looking out of the window all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walker-paddler, Owner at Abercelyn Country House, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Gary
We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at Abercelyn Country House. On a matter of clarification we only suggest that guests should not wear walking boots in the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

we found Abercelyn fantastic for a cycling and walking weekend away. It is walking distance along pedestrian and cycle paths to Bala for easy access to the town, but also direct access to minor roads into the Welsh country side. Lindsay and Ray had good knowledge of the local area and were very willing to share it. The food was excellent with more choice for breakfast than we have seen anywhere else. A nice touch was tea and cake on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanycil
1.0 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
11.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,465 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 24 in Bala
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bodiwan
Bodiwan
#2 of 24 in Bala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Property: Abercelyn Country House
Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Abercelyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abercelyn Country House Bala/Llanycil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing