We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break in a beautiful country house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abercelyn Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brimingham
1 review
“short break in a beautiful country house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having recently stayed at Abercelyn country house for a short break wow what can i say the house is beautiful we stayed in the Aran room which is a large beautiful room very clean and equiped to the highest quality, the hosts ray and lindsay are very lovely and welcoming and nothing is to much trouble for them,we tried most of the breakfasts which were all frist class, would recommend this country house for any lenght of break and we will definitely will be going back.
Many Thanks for making our short stay great Graham, Donna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
101
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in the Aran room other the August bank holiday weekend, very comfortable room and plenty of room even with our son on a put up bed. Large bathroom with good shower and bath, you can also hear the garden stream with the window open.
Location is just of the A494 just outside Bala probably a 15/20 minute walk into town, however we were lazy we drove in. Plenty of choices of places to eat nearly, both in Bala and further afield there are menus available in the drawing room, we needed to book as it was a busy weekend.
Lindsay & Ray are happy to provide maps etc. for walks as well as other outdoor activities, myself and my son had a half day introduction to white-water kayaking which my son really enjoyed. Ray provided all the equipment as well as transport to the River Tryweryn.
Breakfasts were superb with a great selection including and smoked salmon with scrambled (free range) egg and fresh bread and pancakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Having recently stayed at Abercelyn Country House for a short break I can only recommend that this establishment is FIRST CLASS.
From the rooms to the food, the location to the hosts. Brilliant. I would definitely stay here again.
You are made to feel at home away from home. Nothing is too much for the hosts. Breakfast was superb. Clean, friendly and inviting. I would like to try it in mid winter with the snow on the ground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter71958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a charming and homely B&B in a beautiful Georgian house set in superb, mature gardens. We enjoyed our stay between Aug 6-7 2013 in the Aran Room which is a lovely and well appointed double room with spacious en suite facilities including a whirlpool bath and power shower. Guests can also relax in the drawing room where there is an extensive collection of materials to help guests make the most of their stay. Lindsay’s breakfast was wonderful, especially Abercelyn’s own free range eggs. Lindsay and Ray are both friendly and welcoming hosts, with an excellent knowledge of the local area. Abercelyn is a great B&B option whether you want a peaceful relaxing break or want to enjoy the diverse range of outdoor activities in this stunning setting.

Room Tip: We really liked the Aran room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAndDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I spent a weekend at Abercelyn in July with my girlfriend. We stayed in The Berwyn room - highly recommended. We went out on the lake canoeing with Ray and he's a very patient coach. The breakfasts are superb as are the packed lunches. 10/10 and we will be back! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We spent four nights here and it was absolutely lovely. Very comfortable and peaceful with friendly hosts who are knowledgeable about the area (excellent recommendation for lunch at a pub in Llangollen) and hit just the right note of friendliness without being overbearing. Super comfortable bed and excellent breakfasts top it all off! Our thanks to Lindsey and Ray.

Room Tip: Berwyn has a huge superking bed with a superb mattress...we are investigating getting one for oursel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a 3 night stay at Abercelyn and wished we could have stayed longer! Our room was superb and the breakfast choices were second to none. Lindsay and Ray are first class hosts and more than meet up to their amazing reviews. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked another visit in October.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanycil
4.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glan Y Gro
Glan Y Gro
#1 of 27 in Bala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Property: Abercelyn Country House
Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Abercelyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abercelyn Country House Bala/Llanycil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing