We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyable Stay at Abercelyn on Lake Bala”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanycil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Abercelyn is in a very good location about a mile outside of Bala, overlooking the lake.

My partner Linda and I stayed there for 3 nights with the intention of getting some good winter walking done.

Ray and Lindsay were great hosts and made us feel at home-Ray was very helpful every day in suggesting suitable walks and Linday's breakfasts always set us up for the day with plentiful and high quality food.

Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious- the daily dose of homemade shortbreads was a nice touch too!

It was also very handy to have a spacious drying room available as the weather during our stay meant lots of wet boots and outdoor gear!

If we return to Bala, we would not hesitate to stay at Abercelyn again-thanks Lindsay and Ray for making us feel so welcome

Colin

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berwyn room which was very spacious, both bedroom and bathroom (including lovely Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergwanderer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October, accommodation excellent and with very genial hosts Lindsay and Ray. Breakfast was lovely and off street parking a bonus. Lovely room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated with period furniture. It really was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Excellent property in an idea location, Lindsay and Ray are excellent hosts - Ray provided plenty of local knowledge for walks and eating out, Lindsay's breakfast set us up for each of the 2 days we stayed in the area - would definitely recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Lovely property with a homely feel, excellent location for walks and Bala centre, well equipped large room, very quiet and peaceful. Good choice for breakfast with a varied menu and off road parking, drying room also available so ideal for the outdoor person even if the weather isn't the best. Thanks for a great time Craig and Suzanne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumplin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We liked the way the owners introduced themselves after we came in, following a walk along the lake side. The house is lovely and the rooms are well equipped and the breakfast is to die for.

Thank you for a lovely stay, shame about the rain though.

Kind regards

Karen and Peter

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We really appreciated the kindness of the owner on arrival, and her understanding of our particular needs (I have ME/CFS). I appreciated being able to walk out of the cottage and go for a stroll by the beautiful lakeside, my husband, a long distance walker, appreciated proximity to hill trails. Wonderful area - very unspoiled, and much less crowded than other areas of similar natural beauty in Britain.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tithe Barn 1 - lots of character, but unlike other properties on the site, it had no vi...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great little find very close to Bala, seconds walk from beautiful views of the lake, car parking, delicious breakfasts with a massive menu, homemade bread and spreads. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Bed very comfortable and huge! Highly recommend a stay here! The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area, full of local information and always happy to help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abercelyn Country House Bala/Llanycil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing