We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abercelyn Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pale Hall Hotel(Llandderfel)
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
156
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in February. This lovely old house is in a great location with views of the lake and close to Bala. Our room was clean, warm, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. A great choice of breakfasts offered and the food was excellent. Our hosts Lindsay and Ray were very pleasant and helpful.
For like-minded lovers of baked goods, we understand that on this St David's Day, Lindsay is organising the world record bid for the biggest Welsh Cake - please see:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ap7fmR65QuU&feature=youtu.be
Best wishes!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Abercelyn is in a very good location about a mile outside of Bala, overlooking the lake.

My partner Linda and I stayed there for 3 nights with the intention of getting some good winter walking done.

Ray and Lindsay were great hosts and made us feel at home-Ray was very helpful every day in suggesting suitable walks and Linday's breakfasts always set us up for the day with plentiful and high quality food.

Our room was spotless, comfortable and spacious- the daily dose of homemade shortbreads was a nice touch too!

It was also very handy to have a spacious drying room available as the weather during our stay meant lots of wet boots and outdoor gear!

If we return to Bala, we would not hesitate to stay at Abercelyn again-thanks Lindsay and Ray for making us feel so welcome

Colin

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berwyn room which was very spacious, both bedroom and bathroom (including lovely Jacuzzi bath)-highly recommended!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergwanderer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October, accommodation excellent and with very genial hosts Lindsay and Ray. Breakfast was lovely and off street parking a bonus. Lovely room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated with period furniture. It really was delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Excellent property in an idea location, Lindsay and Ray are excellent hosts - Ray provided plenty of local knowledge for walks and eating out, Lindsay's breakfast set us up for each of the 2 days we stayed in the area - would definitely recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Lovely property with a homely feel, excellent location for walks and Bala centre, well equipped large room, very quiet and peaceful. Good choice for breakfast with a varied menu and off road parking, drying room also available so ideal for the outdoor person even if the weather isn't the best. Thanks for a great time Craig and Suzanne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumplin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews