We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I never tire of this excellent Counrty House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abercelyn Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanycil B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I never tire of this excellent Counrty House”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I never tire of this excellent Country House as a fantastic place to spend a few days. It is situated in the heart of some stunning walking hillsides. Plus ideally located to explore around Snowdonia National Park. I have had plenty of good weather when visiting; although even in the rain there is plenty to keep yourself amused.

Ray and Lindsay provide a consistent standard of friendly, clean, luxurious and charming accommodation. The breakfasts are just delicious - the only problem is choosing what to eat as there is a very good selection at the breakfast table!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmajmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
102
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights as part of a holiday in north wales. We were made to feel welcome from the start, with tea and homemade shortbread in the drawing room. Ray and Lindsay are fabulous hosts and made our stay perfect. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and very well decorated, we loved the added bonus of the spa bath. The choice and quality of breakfast was first class too. The location meant you get peace and quiet with only a short walk into Bala for local amenities, pubs and restaurants. Plenty of walks and outdoor activities in the local area too.
We have stayed in many B & Bs and this is by far the best yet.
If we find ourselves in the area again we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojstrana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a quick web search we booked for a short stay at Abercelyn and we are very glad that we did. The location is perfect for all outdoor activities, steam train rides, wildlife and is very peaceful.
The house and gardens are beautiful and Ray & Lindsay are fantastic hosts.They made us very welcome, happily shared useful local information and were very attentive to our needs.
Ray serves a delicious 5***** breakfast cooked up by Lindsay along with fresh home made breads and other local organic foods.
The room was excellent, clean and spacious as was the lounge & dining room.
We can't recommend Abercelyn enough and are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustiC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Comfortable, welcoming and friendly. Really enjoyed our 2 nights at Abercelyn. ray was so helpful in making our full day enjoyable with his great knowledge of the area and walks. Breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have always fancied staying around the Lake Bala area since passing through many years ago. Thanks to the wonderful TripAdvisor community, the Abercelyn Country House stood proud at the top of the rankings. I was interested to find out why just one reviewer had only given it a Very Good and all the rest Excellent !!

We were fortunate that all three rooms were available when we booked and we chose the Aran. Check out the 360 degree virtual tour of all the rooms on their website. We particularly enjoyed the heated window seat, the chaise longue in the room and the whirlpool bath. It was so relaxing in the bathroom to hear the peaceful sounds of the water from the little stream in the vicinity.

The trip was a surprise destination for my wife's birthday, so doing a drive round the town and around the lake to put her off the scent and check out the b&b entrance for the next lap was a lovely way to start our stay in Bala.

Lindsay and Ray were excellent hosts, welcoming us in the sitting room with tea and biscuits on our arrival. Our room was very clean, comfy and relaxing with views to the lake. A really special breakfast awaited us on each morning. Great choice and very tasty.

Lindsay and Ray were extremely helpful regarding places to see, restaurants etc in the area. They have a superb b&b. I'm sure they can be proud of their achievements. Well done. Sorry I took a little long to write my review.

Room Tip: All three look inviting - check the 360 display via their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Townies like us can easily forget how many feathered creatures sing the arrival of dawn along with the sheep and the roosters. We need places like this to remind us.

The Grade II listed Abercelyn Country House sits, screened off, across the road, beside Lake Bala. Perfectly situated, perfectly private and well deserving of its five star rating. If you have any problems getting in it's probably because there are, apart from the self catering cottages, only three rooms - which guarantees personal homely service values - and because there seems to be a loyalty customer base that returns ... and returns ... to Lindsay and Ray's style of welcome.

'Home made' comes as standard - from the free range eggs, laid a few yards from the kitchen, to the home-grown fruit for Lindsay's own breakfast jams.

And talking of breakfast - Abercelyn believes in setting you up for the day - not just with a superior choice of the ordinary but a taste of the extraordinary too. For once I was drawn off my usual obsession with 'full English' to savour the smoked haddock and poached eggs while my wife, a bit of a porridge girl, thought this was the best she's ever had.

Our Arenig room was probably the smallest of the three but perfectly equipped and with an atmosphere that persuaded us to pull the wooden shutters, relax with a bottle of wine, chill out with our books and ignore the TV for two nights running.

And whatever you do, take advantage of the gardens behind and to one side of the house - impressively bordered by a stream running in a series of falls down to thee lake.

Abercelyn is as good as it gets. The people who know it keep going back and the ones who don't have got it all to look forward to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed for two nights in April as a spur of the moment decision, and what a good decision it turned out to be.
We were warmly welcomed, shown to our room, had everything explained, suggestions on day trips offered completed with coffee & home made shortbread in the guest lounge.
Every little detail has been considered by Lindsey & Ray in the bedroom, bathroom and especially the breakfast down to lovely little individual butter dishes!
The Abercelyn House is spotlessly clean and just a fabulously relaxing place to stay.
I would throughly recommend this to anyone looking for that somewhere special to stay & it was worth every penny.
Thank you both.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Worcester_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanycil
1.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
39 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
141 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
738 reviews
14.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Frondderw Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercelyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercelyn Country House

Property: Abercelyn Country House
Address: Llanycil | Bala, Llanycil, Snowdonia National Park, Bala LL23 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Bala > Llanycil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanycil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Abercelyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercelyn Country House is an 18th-century, Grade II-listed, former rectory set in award-winning, landscaped, mature gardens overlooking Lake Bala in the Snowdonia National Park. Bed & Breakfast accommodation is provided with many awards including 5-Star GoldAward (VisitWales). The bright, spacious bedrooms are furnished with individual period pieces and all have en-suite luxury bathrooms (all have power-showers, two have whirlpool baths). There is a relaxing drawing room with library and log fire for guest's use. Excellent home-cooking (inc. special diets) with local produce and choice of breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abercelyn Country House Bala/Llanycil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing