We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margaret Thomas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingscliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kingscliff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
southwold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Margaret Thomas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, albeit for only one night and found that we had excellent value for money. The operations manager, Marian Coltofean, was a delight - thoughtful, humorous and made us feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and the food was excellent. The only minor criticism is a lack of fresh flowers and candles/tealights which would have enhanced our dining experience in the rather dated dining room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    164
    38
    31
    26
See reviews for
121
234
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Friendly staff,nice food and comfortable room.I wish I will have time to come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedieh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

It's 12 months since our last visit to this hotel - we stay at this hotel each year because it's so convenient to our friend's home. What a difference a year makes - so much better. The hotel looked cleaner, sharper and the staff were so much more focused on what they were doing. Loved our room (just the bathroom window could have done with a lick of paint). Apparently everyone who works at the hotel now are new - the manager Marian is so attentive too. I would have no hesitation of recommending the hotel now.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Kingscliff hotel for two nights. We've had two breakfasts and a dinner at the restaurant of the hotel as well. I wish we hadn't! It all began with the incredibly unfriendly staff at the reception after we arrived- they had an attitude of them doing us a favor by allowing us to stay there.

We also had the misfortune of having breakfast included in our stay and it was probably the worst breakfast experience I ever had in a hotel (and I've stayed in much cheaper ones!). They had a choice of 1 (yes that is 1) type of breakfast and took over an hour both days of serving it. An order of toast would take at least 15 minutes and even if you tried to outwit them and order double the quantity the first time, they would forget by the time they prepared it and you'd just get your single order, much much later. It got so bad that customers started talking to each other over the terrible service and compared horror stories of how long they had to wait for their order and what various other mistakes have they been victims of. A couple next to us dared to complain that they asked for tea and got coffee and after they finished breakfast you could hear the staff in the kitchen laughing at them and discussing among each other how unpleasant they were. (All this while most of us were still waiting for breakfast).

Dinner was even more of a disaster. We've ordered a 3 course meal and it took 2.5 (!!!) hours to get our order from start to finish. We were very tempted to just leave. Not to mention that the food was extremely bad quality, pasta in a sauce that was almost definitely ketchup and fishcakes that were nearly inedible.

The hotel itself was highly unfriendly and I would strongly advise you to avoid staying there and hence spare yourself from a terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saxen_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Hotel looks good from the outside. Rooms a nice size could do with modernisation. Remote control given on checking in pretty sure it would work better with batteries! Would not recommend eating in the restaurant where 25% of the menu was sold out only an hour into two hour service (and not many people eating).
Functions beneath the rooms mean sleep is impossible before midnight due to the noise and vibrations from the music.
Breakfast was shabbily organised with not enough tables set up forcing people to sit at tables with strangers. No orange juice until asked, cold bitter tea. Slow, poor service and no toast.
Do not expect to get a drink in the onsite pub/bar which has been shut extremely early on both nights of our stay and the hotel bar only has very limited drinks selling out of these. If you're a real ale drinker don't be fooled by the advertising on the website. Only one beer on and that is flat! The other being sold out (bit of a theme of the stay!)
On a plus note very friendly and efficient waitress/barmaid. Other than that not really recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had my daughters birthday party at this hotel in February. the manager and staff were very helpful in helping us set up and meeting our needs. The food they supplied for the evening was excellent. I also had relatives stay there that night. From previous reviews I read I was not sure that was a good thing but they feed back to me their rooms were excellent - looked like they had been refurbished. Plus their breakfast in the morning was excellent. A good weekend. Not the cheapest venue but probably the most convenient with good location and parking

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very nice little hotel right by the water. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was also very nice. Would stay again if going to Clacton-on-Sea.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holland-on-Sea
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-On-Sea (Seafront) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Beeches
The Beeches
#7 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Clacton-on-Sea (North / Colchester Road) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#14 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cabana Guest House
Cabana Guest House
#6 of 18 in Clacton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingscliff Hotel

Property: The Kingscliff Hotel
Address: 55 Kings Parade | Clacton-on-sea, Holland-on-Sea, Clacton-on-Sea CO15 5JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Clacton-on-Sea > Holland-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holland-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingscliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Kingscliff Hotel, we believe that a proper night's sleep is the most important part of anyone's stay. All 30 guest rooms are appointed for your enjoyment and comfort. All rooms are traditionally furnished to compliment the character of the hotel. Some of the rooms have front line views over the promenade and sea. The Kingscliff Suite is popular for honeymooners with a four poster bed. There is a large family room which can cater for a family of four.Business travellers can expect WiFi within the hotel. There is a fax machines and photocopier available on reception. Also secretarial services are available subject to prior arrangement. Each bedroom features a LCD flat screen television with freeview channels and trouser press. Room service is available up to 9.00 pm hours. Reception will attempt to cater for your individual requirements wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Kingscliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingscliff Hotel Holland-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing